We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean, fun little Manhattan retreat”
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #229 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great, clean, fun little Manhattan retreat”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I really enjoyed this hotel. It's clean, comfortable, and well-designed. I got the queen-sized room, which has an amazing amount of very clever built-in storage. The room is tiny (and the bath tinier); but it's still organized well enough to accommodate two people and their stuff very comfortably. I didn't feel at all claustrophobic or cramped, as I often do in small hotel rooms.

The clientele leans heavily toward European tourists, who mingle in both the downstairs lounge and the rooftop deck. I was on an upper floor, and had no noise issues at all. It's light on amenities -- but the only one that really mattered was the free wi-fi anyway. After all, you're in New York. If there's anything else you need, it's out there.

I've stayed in hotels all over Manhattan, and like the Turtle Bay location of this one best. Just steps around the corner on Second Ave are lots of little neighborhood businesses that have everything you might find you need: laundry, groceries, and a nice selection of fairly-priced restaurants. I got a massage at Sunflower, about three doors down -- also clean, professional, and highly recommended for a tired traveler, at a price that can't be beat.

Head over to Third Ave for the big chain stores, or to catch a cab. It's also an easy walk to 57th St., Fifth Ave, and the park.

Bright, homey, friendly, quiet, and clean. Not much more I could have asked for. I'll definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedAhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,544
    2,302
    647
    174
    141
See reviews for
466
1,521
1,063
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I’ve travelled with my husband, and we are in our late 30´s. We had a prepaid reservation for a double pod. When I arrived there I realized that as we had 2 suitcases each it was IMPOSSIBLE to fit there. Therefore we change to the Queen Pod room. Very small but yet bigger than the other, but of course it cost us a little more.
Hotel is correct, clean and extremely nice located for a first trip to NYC, later trips will have us towards the Upper West Side. Staff is very nice as well.
Anyhow, I would only recommend this to very young people with small luggage and no intentions on doing any shopping. Nice area, specially at night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larita2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I could have stayed at the W for the price. The following things were wrong with the room:

- the "iPod Dock" is actually a CD player from 1997
- the faucet in the shower was loose and wobbled in the wall
- the shower curtain didn't completely seal the shower, so the floor got wet all the time
- they had no ice buckets. Really, ~170$/night hotel?! Really?!?!
- the wall safe mechanism was out of batteries when I checked in
- the hallways are unusually dark... like night club dark

For the price, for the target market (people like me, I guess,) and for a hotel in the US, this was all unacceptable.

Apart from that, the room was really clean, the 51st-street location is nice.

Room Tip: I used Expedia; the rate was 10$ cheaper per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeowThreeTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I stayed here with my mother for five night in march and we were pleasantly surprised on arrival. The room, although small, seemed spacious by NYC standards, particularly given the price. We stayed in a queen room with our own bathroom, it was clean, modern& all the space is well used.
The roof terrace is amazing, particularly at night, you are surrounded by skyscrapers, it's beautiful. The concierge service is also good, she checked us onto our flight online when we were leaving, printed our boarding pass&ordered us a taxi in about two mins.
The only thing negative we found, and it is quite a big negative, we cane back from a day's sightseeing to find our room door lying wide open and the light was on. We had not left it like this. We immediately checked if anything was missing but thankfully there wasn't. I phoned to reception to complain& was told someone would be up immediately to check that the door hadn't been forced open and to ensure it was locking properly, no-one arrived so I went to reception & spoke to a different member of staff who could not have been less helpful. When I explained to him what had happened he did not even react, he simply stood looking at me blankly. I then asked him to send someone to check the door & he said he would.( no-one ever checked the door to our knowledge.) he didn't apologise, offer any form of assistance or explanation, extremely disinterested and unhelpful. Which is a pity because it is a huge disappointment in an otherwise fantastic trip and a huge failing by the hotel, which otherwise would certainly have been receiving top marks from me&recommendations to friends.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sorchaflorcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Arrived here for 6 days, taxi to hotel was great however over eager concierge bet us to the bags! Tip 1 handed over b4 we started our holiday!
We stayed in bunk bed room, small but cool, air conditioning which was a massive bonus due to the hot weather. Ladder and handle rail were not the safest but could be moved around meaning that extra space got created. We had two very large bags and found no problem moving around the room with them.
Room was cleaned daily, towels changed daily. Very eager maid knocking at 09.00am in the morning was not a bonus, considering their was no "do not disturb sign".
Shared bathrooms were always spotless, showers were amazing. Their was always a toilet free when we needed one.
Lifts were annoying.. 3 lifts and they were not very efficient!
Reception staff were a little rude but nothing we couldn't handle.
Morning star cafe on 2nd avenue (around the corner) is amazing for both breakfast and dinner.
We will Definately 100% be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcgroder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The photos in the website are great. When you arrive, the location and cleanliness are very good. BUT... A few hours after my arrival in the hotel, MY CREDIT CARD WAS CLONED. While I was walking in NY... Someone was buying things in Netherlands!!! In the other day, Visa blocked my card and I found that very strange... So I discovered the fraud... In that moment, I was already suspecting of the hotel, because I almost never use my credit card... So, when the hotel left a letter in my room, asking me to go to the reception because the credit card I left for guarantee (and they have made a xerox of it, like they do - I think - with every guest's credit cards) wasn't working, I told them about my suspicion and... they haven't said anything! The receptionist and the manager had just smiled... So, I took the emergency card that Visa has send to me and left as the guarantee with fear... Guess what??? When I landed in my country, my bank called me with another fraud problem! Another purchase was made with my card! In Netherlands!!!
So,unfortunately, I can't incriminate the hotel, but I can say to you: DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL. NY HAS LOTS OF HOTELS, CHEAPER AND BETTER THAN THAT!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LaViajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I stayed last July when the single room rates were a bargain $89 per night. I got an end room on the 14th floor that was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Since I have a bad back, I really liked the hard mattress. This is the first hotel that I didn't need to place the mattress on the floor. For those who complain about the staff or restaurants, there is no need to worry about trivia such as that unless you plan on making lifelong friends with everyone you encounter. Why worry about restaurants being in-house. There is a McDonald's a block down the street that sells angus snack wraps for $2. There is also an Emporium Supermarket 1/2 block down the street. If you are staying for one week, the MTA train passes are only $27 per week. You don't need to waste money on taxis. The trains go pretty close to any Manhattan destination. And if you are one of those poor chumps spending $50 to get to LaGuardia, save your money. With the MTA pass, or a $2 fare+transfer, you can take the #7 train, get off at Junction Blvd and take a 10-15 minute bus ride straight to LaGuardia. It only takes 30-45 minutes from The Pod to LaGuardia by MTA. As long as your suitcase has wheels, you might as well exercise them. The one thing missing at The Pod is an ice machine. So save your plastic bags from The Emporium. Then just walk a couple blocks down the street to the Double Tree Hotel, go up to a room area, and fill your plastic bag with free ice from their ice machines. Nobody will ever know the difference.

Room Tip: If you worry about noisy neighbors, request an en.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmugg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#190 of 468 in New York City
3,264 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#221 of 468 in New York City
1,530 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 468 in New York City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#300 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#345 of 468 in New York City
17,505 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Property: Pod 51 Hotel
Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#155 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing