We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and underwhelmed”
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #227 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Pod Hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary. I had not been expecting much from this hotel despite the high price but was still very disappointed by the welcome we received. I imagine that most New York hotels are short on space and the room here was no different but the receptionist made no attempt to welcome us or tell us anything about the hotel, its services or the general area. We got nothing more than "you are in room 1014, you have paid and check out time on Friday is 12 noon". Fortunately the room was clean and generally okay but certainly didn't warrant the price of £170 a night with a shower, room only. It was the size of a shoe box and restricted further by a shelf over the bed meaning you couldn't sit in there if you had wanted to. The air con was noisy but the room got very hot without it on despite it being about 16 degrees outside, so you had the choice between the noise from the outside or the noise from the air con - so make sure you bring ear plugs. The cafe here is pathetic for the number of rooms but there are plenty of other places nearby. It was well located being close to various subway stations. Also disappointed to see that the roof garden was closed and didn't appear to be re-opening in the near future. I have stayed in better hostels than this.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,923)
There are newer reviews for Pod 51 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,996 - 2,002 of 4,923 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Firstly it's a modern hotel with great design values, clever use of limited space and in a great location, close to the subway, Grand Central and the UN. Staff are excellent (except for the breakfast crews) but the room I stayed in was a squeeze. Even staying by myself it was hard to just turn around in. Yes I had a bathroom but the toilet was so close to the shower that you had to use both at the same time. It's a bit noisy so get some earplugs. Wifi is ok. But let's face it when you are in NY you are not there for the hotel. Would I recommend it? Depends on what you have to pay. I think it is too expensive for what you get but it is a lot of fun and the location is the real winner.

Room Tip: Double check the room size.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VFrequentTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

169 dollars for two bunk beds. Check on Expedia you could be on time square at a real hotel for less. Roof balcony closed. You can hear everything other people are up to. Bar closed by 10pm and the people at this hotel will drive you mad. If you like to be ripped off and spend your time with the gap year crowd stay at the pod. If not most of the big chain hotels with ensuite charge practically the same. This place is for fools.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaun9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Incredibly clean! The rooms are small but the space is very organized. The location is great and I'd definitly stay there again. I stayed in a double bed room with bathroom so I can't give my opinion on the shared-bathrooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alebasi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel is simply amazing, rooms are tidy and clean, their small sizes don't matter at all when you're there only to sleep. Shared toilets are cleaned regularly, if you wake up early take a shower there, soothing music is even played. The lobby is really cool, it has wi-fi access and public iPads fixed to walls, but take your laptop with you and you'll be able to rest on the couch. The staff has been really helpful, nothing to complain about the hotel in itself.

Its situation is also great, 6 train is a block away, E train to JFK isn't much father. You're pretty well connected from there. I'll definitely go back to the Pod Hotel next time I come to Ney York.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thatpsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I booked this hotel after reading other reviews. The location was great, close to the subway, and in a quieter part of the city. Plenty of choices of great restaurants nearby. We had a pod with 2 bunks and a shared bathroom. We're both pretty laid-back travelers, and the shared bathroom did not bother us. The in-room lights showing bathroom availability was perfect. The bathrooms were modern, clean and, as stated in other reviews, the rainfall showerhead was awesome. (We were in the city for a 1/2 Marathon, so this was perfect after the long race!) The room was small, but what I expected. It was nice to have a sink in the room. My only minor complaints would be that the air conditioning was not particularly strong, and it was a warm weekend. Also, there was a door to a connecting room, which did allow some noise to come through, but nothing that kept us up at night.
All in all, a great stay, would recommend, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Pod Hotel in New York last weekend. We had a bunk bed room with a shared bath. The room was even smaller than I expected but we pretty much knew what we were getting into so no complaints there. There was only one chair so one of us had to sit on the bed if we were both sitting down. The room was very clean and we never had any hold up on getting into one of the shared bathrooms. there is a monitor in your room telling you which of the four bathrooms someone was in. They were never full. Two of them were right across from our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a beautiful waterfall/garden oasis across the street where we had lunch one day and that was really nice. The hotel is a few blocks from the 6 and the E subway lines so that was also convenient. Even though we have decided we wouldn't stay there again we would recommend it to anyone on a budget who has a sense of adventure!

Room Tip: Only go for the bunk bed rooms if you don't have a problem with a shared bathroom. There was ne...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MERmade50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#196 of 468 in New York City
3,367 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#398 of 468 in New York City
541 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,920 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £89 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accommodation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing