We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for not a lot of money”
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #235 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We took a chance and booked this hotel for a last minute overnight stay in manhattan. It's always nerve-wracking to sift through reviews and pick a hotel. The pod was a little gem we were happy to have chosen! We booked a room with a shared bath to save money, but upon check-in we were upgraded to a private bath room. It was a very nice surprise! And when we checked out the they didn't hesitate to ask if we needed to keep our bags there for the day while we stayed in the city. The location is nice, right off of a subway stop and not far from Grand Central. The hotel was decorated nicely. Very modern, and a little bit cheesy in a euro sort of way, but it's bright and fun. The rooms were very modernly decorated too. Each bunk bed has a small personal tv and a light for reading. It's typical small New York rooms, but it's layed out in such a great, stream-lined way. It you're expecting a big room on par with a chain hotel, then don't go here. If you want a fun, cute, boutique hotel experience, then please go here. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OriginalAlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,028 - 2,034 of 5,038 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

on our second night I found a HUGE cockroach in my daughter's boot. we were fairly freaked out, screamed, called the front desk where they offered us another room (but who's to say the next room would be safer?), screamed as it crawled out again, then killed it ourselves. yuck! the splat was one-and-half inches wide. since we had a bunkbed room, we both hid in the top bunk and had a fitful sleep. thrilled to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank smdd_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we've been travelling from Vegas for about 24 hours (never getting indirect flights again!!!) We arrived about 8:30am in the hustle and bustle of the city! We were greeted outside the hotel by a friendly man who took out bags to the reception for us, the check-in staff were friendly and the reception area is brightly coloured and modern! We were given our room key and our bags were taken to the room for us. With the name 'the pod hotel' we knew what to expect, small rooms...and that they were! But we thought it was brilliant! We had a double room, so there a double bed, small desk with a chair, sink area and a walk in toilet/shower. The room was completely spotless and look brand new! We were in New york for 6 days in total and could've stayed longer as the room was just fine for us! It also had aircon which was great. The walls between the rooms are veryyy thin as the couple next door made clear one of the nights!!!
They have a little cafe area where you can get free wifi, and a small outside area with decking which is lovely....we were a bit let down because the large rooptop terrace they show on their website was actually closed for refurbishment while we were there, we asked how long for but they didn't seem to know, so that was quite dissapointing!
It's in a good location and there a Manchester Pub just up the road!
I'd definitely recommend this hotel, we paid about £400 for 6 nights! For NYC thats amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was my second stay at the Pod and among its many positive elements are its location - it's easy to get to pretty much any part of Manhattan, the customer service ethos among its excellent people and the value you get for your money. However, the place is beginning to look a little tired and would benefit hugely from even a minor spruce up. The one thing to remember is that it is designed to be a place to sleep - a base while you're seeing NY. It isn't a boutique spa hotel, the rooms aren't terribly relaxing and it is, quite rightly, a question of function over form, to one degree or another. The rooms are small, but the name rather gives that away, does it not? Overall, it's a great place to base yourself while exploring NY, but it's never going to be a W or a Sofitel. So do your research, if you're looking for a convenient, clean, easy-going place to stay while you're getting the most out of an extraordinary city, you won't go far wrong with the Pod.

Room Tip: Aim for a room on one of the upper floors - lower down it gets a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamierobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed twice at this hotel while going for work to NYC. Is the perfect place for a short stay, rooms are extremely tiny so if you are on a pleasure trip perhaps this is not for you. Is in a very good location, is quite clean and you find nice people. The music is great (in the halls and the elevator). Only bad thing was the teenage neighbors smoke; some of the staff is really great some others are kind of bitter...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCname294074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Me and my family have been staying at the Pod Hotel several times.
We just love this hotel, it's very good located, metro is close by and rates are excellent.
We had different rooms every time, last month we were lucky to get a room with a balcony and beautiful view.
Hotel is modern, bathrooms are tiny but has everything.
After staying at the POD hotel, there's still money left over to do other things.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobTesCesOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Three nights on the third floor with the room facing 51st. We were so tired the first night that the street noise and cigarette smoke wafting was not a bother. The second two nights they sure did. Our window A/C did not help in blocking the noise or the steady smell of cigarette smoke. We did not complain or request another room, but if booking request a room higher up or that's not facing the street. Room was clean and very compact for two. The bathroom sink is small and the commode sits too low. As previously mentioned the bathroom frosted sliding door is close to the bed and does not stay shut The rain shower head is nice but not adjustable. The bed was platform style with a firm mattress. We said the overall feel of the room was a hip jail cell designed by Ikea. We liked the balcony off the lobby and enjoyed a few meals there that we brought back to the hotel. Location is good and easy access to the subway.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trvl1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#196 of 471 in New York City
3,510 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#218 of 471 in New York City
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,236 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#175 of 471 in New York City
829 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £53 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. Free WiFi and week day walking tours. Kick back and relax in our lobby, grab a bite to eat at our cafe, or soak up the city in our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing