We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #221 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tjæreborg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Small but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Giving this hotel 3 stars, or should i say hostel instead!? is quite high. The rooms look new but are very very small and with shared bath.
The location of the location is located very close to the subway and close to everything on Manhattan.
But only use this hostel if you need a place to sleep and plan on being away all day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    2,270
    632
    173
    138
See reviews for
462
1,500
1,043
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The rooms are very small and not the most comfortable. You also have to use shared bathrooms which to be fair were clean during our stay. The concierge were very helpful, however, the middle aged male behind the check in desk was unhelpful and disinterested when we asked for help regarding the wifi and use of computers. Staff attitude could be improved!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I mean it is in a good location.. As its right next to subway 'Lexington avenue 53' which allows you to get to all the main locations. Also quite nice food places near by. But it's far from comfy and it's not gleaming clean.. You do have to share shower rooms with other guest staying there if you are in a single pod or a bunk pod. So you just have to hope it's been cleaned since the last person to have used it. Also a couple of guys on the desk were useless at information! On our first day we asked simple questions that could not be answered. Also our luggage was lost and we were waiting on its arrival and the people working the desk didn't feel it necessary to notify us it had arrived.. Infancy they didn't even know it had and when we checked a storage room there it was. I suppose the price range is reasonable for New York but next time I think id rather pay that little bit for money for somewhere cleaner with a larger room

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBP-1989-CMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here one night (unfortunately) on our way to a wedding. When we booked it, I thought to myself, oh gosh Ive stayed in hostels before and had to share a bathroom, they were NO FUN. However, this is far from a hostel! We had the room with a bunk bed, it was so cute, a little small for my tall husband, but he managed. The little TVs were adorable as was the little sink. The room was clean, a little stuffy and it seems the AC unit didnt work properly. The shared restrooms were super clean as were the showers. However, the temperature of the water was SCALDING!!!!! I swear, I had the most difficult time taking a shower becuase it was soooooo freaking hot, even at the lowest temperature. I had to keep turning it on and off to lather and rinse because it was so hot. Other than that the place was great, we took a cab here and there and just had a sweet short stay at the Pod51. If we ever go to new york again we'll def stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtoCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed in a double room. The bed was barely wider than two pillows and because of the bed's positioning and other furniture, the second person couldn't get in or out of bed without crawling over the first. There was a column in the bathroom which meant you couldnt sit exactly straight on the toilet. There was a lot of clanking noises in the pipes all night long and in general a lot of noise coming from other rooms and the coridor.

I stayed at two other hotels in midtown Manhattan the same week , both at the same price point or less and I got way more space and amenities. The pod is clean and modern and if the price had been in line with "pod" space, it might have been worth it to give up space and comfort. But definitely not at this price!

So bottom line for me - dont stay here - there is much better value for money out there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in late October 2013. We had a queen size bed room on the 14th floor. That is the floor with stairs up to the roof deck. Great views! We liked how the storage closet and cubbies by the bed organized our belongings. Very clean - only complaint is that not enough lighting in the bathroom for makeup and no other mirror in main room which it is brighter. We bought the $30.00 each for a week ticket for the subway/buses which was perfect for us except at night when we did use taxis. Subway stop is only block and half away. Also there is a UPS store on the same block as POD 51 so we could mail packages home. Hotel's own new restaurant was not quite finished when we visited it but we found many restaurants just one or two blocks away -both inexpensive and more pricey. Their coffee shop was great in the morning before we went out for breakfast. The bellman helped arrange a town car to drive back out to the airport. We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TampaPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here for three nights in November 2013 and I thought it was a great place to stay in New York City. I had a single room to myself and a shared bathroom. There were never any problems accessing the bathrooms and they were always very clean. The rooms were small, but neat, tidy and comfortable. There was a sink, towels supplied, hangars and plenty of storage room, as well as a desk and a television. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. The location, for me, was perfect. It wasn't too far from Times Square, Central Park or Grand Central Station. The only problem I had was that the wi-fi connection was terrible. But I would certainly recommend this hotel and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Property: Pod 51 Hotel
Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#155 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing