We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #224 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Visited here recently with my girlfriend, a simple, basic and modern hotel.
We really only used this hotel for sleeping between the long days visiting the many attractions.
Rooms were small but had enough room for our cases. Shower rooms were always free. The light system above the door to let you know what showers were free was a great idea.
WiFi worked fine in our room. Beds very comfortable. Concierge was very helpful with assisting to book certain trips.
The rooftop area offers up great views, we often brought a breakfast bagel up here to enjoy before heading out for the day.
Lastly, the location is superb. Close to Grand Central to get anywhere in the city and one of the stops on the hop on-hop off bus routes is only just around the corner. A short walk takes you out at 5th avenue as well.
Will defo consider this hotel for any return visit

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,923)
There are newer reviews for Pod 51 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,389 - 1,395 of 4,923 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

I spent one night solo in a single pod. It was clean, functional with a nice soap and shower gel.
Bathroom and toilets were in the hall. They were clean and I available.
Wifi was not working in the bedroom but was working smoothly in the lounge.
Lifts are quite slow and busy. I took the stairs most of the time.
Ess-a-Bagel is next door on Third Avenue, well worth a visit for breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Virginie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Very Small rooms but extremely well designed and very functional and in a good location. On a calm street with cosy restaurants around the corner.
Price is reasonable for New York. Perfect for a short stay, close to everything walking distance.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jean-paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is definitely a pod. It was so tiny!!! Other than that hotel was clean and the staff were friendly

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank tksamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed in one of their "townhouse" rooms, which are not tiny, but that was good as I was traveling with my kids. The remodel job on the building where these rooms are was kinda shoddy, but everything was clean and functional and that's more important to me. Lot's of noise from the street and the lobby, but it's NYC and we are not light sleepers. For others I might suggest a fan in the heater under the window to mute the noise. Also a fan in the bathroom would be nice (for other reasons. ;)

It's a really nice choice somewhere between an expensive fancy hotel and a cheap crappy hotel. The staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

So when i travel to NYC, really all i want in a hotel is a place to shower, sleep, and stash my stuff. The Pod accommodates that need nicely. It is centrally located on 51st near Lexington, close to a Cafe Metro, and the subway station. Each room has a small safe to,store valuables. Sharing bathrooms did not appeal to me much at first, but honestly how much time do you spend in the bath? There was never a time when anyone had to go that at least two loos were unoccupied, and the showers were hot, powerful, and always very clean. Rooms are quite compact so if you have a lot of stuff, it may not work so well for you. We stayed five nights in mid-May and had a great time exploring the city from a central locale.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valleysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is an affordable hotel in a prime Midtown location. I stayed for three nights in late November.

My eighth floor room is minimalist in design with basic furniture, flat screen television, stainless steel washbasin with mirror surround and a red blanket to add a splash of colour. The loo and shower are separated from the bedroom by a sliding glass panel. Previous reviews state that the rooms are 'small'; my rough calculation measures my room to be 110 square feet. Being at the rear of the building I did not hear much street noise during the night.

The halls and foyer are decorated with modern art style murals of New York. A wow factor is added by the rooftop terrace with great views of the city.

The cafe in the foyer provides an excellent continental breakfast from 6.30am although it is not included in the room price. The cafe, housekeeping and front desk staff were welcoming and friendly.

I recommend this hotel to future travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#197 of 468 in New York City
3,366 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#398 of 468 in New York City
541 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#219 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#349 of 468 in New York City
18,918 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#186 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £89 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accommodation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing