We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POD 51 Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #221 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

4,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    2,270
    633
    173
    138
See reviews for
462
1,500
1,043
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a clean and groovy spot. Feels quite European with modular seating in lobby, graffiti art on screens and walls and slightly surly front desk staff. Nice to have two bar/restaurants neatly attached, similarly hip and easy to access. Rooms are more than fine if you prepare yourself for large sleeper car on a train; but they did miss the boat by not having a bed that folds into the wall to create better seating space when not sleeping (otherwise, the bed is literally your living room).

I agree with others that this is a solid value for NYC. Esp. if you want to be mid-town. There are other similarly priced and more spacious rooms on the Upper West Side (such as Beacon or Milburn) but you're not as close to tourist action. I will definitely be back if I need a decently priced spot on East Side.

Room Tip: Remember to pick carefully if you'd like your own bathroom - they will cost more - but for me at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingvermonters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Visited here recently with my girlfriend, a simple, basic and modern hotel.
We really only used this hotel for sleeping between the long days visiting the many attractions.
Rooms were small but had enough room for our cases. Shower rooms were always free. The light system above the door to let you know what showers were free was a great idea.
WiFi worked fine in our room. Beds very comfortable. Concierge was very helpful with assisting to book certain trips.
The rooftop area offers up great views, we often brought a breakfast bagel up here to enjoy before heading out for the day.
Lastly, the location is superb. Close to Grand Central to get anywhere in the city and one of the stops on the hop on-hop off bus routes is only just around the corner. A short walk takes you out at 5th avenue as well.
Will defo consider this hotel for any return visit

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I spent one night solo in a single pod. It was clean, functional with a nice soap and shower gel.
Bathroom and toilets were in the hall. They were clean and I available.
Wifi was not working in the bedroom but was working smoothly in the lounge.
Lifts are quite slow and busy. I took the stairs most of the time.
Ess-a-Bagel is next door on Third Avenue, well worth a visit for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Virginie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Very Small rooms but extremely well designed and very functional and in a good location. On a calm street with cosy restaurants around the corner.
Price is reasonable for New York. Perfect for a short stay, close to everything walking distance.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jean-paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is definitely a pod. It was so tiny!!! Other than that hotel was clean and the staff were friendly

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tksamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed in one of their "townhouse" rooms, which are not tiny, but that was good as I was traveling with my kids. The remodel job on the building where these rooms are was kinda shoddy, but everything was clean and functional and that's more important to me. Lot's of noise from the street and the lobby, but it's NYC and we are not light sleepers. For others I might suggest a fan in the heater under the window to mute the noise. Also a fan in the bathroom would be nice (for other reasons. ;)

It's a really nice choice somewhere between an expensive fancy hotel and a cheap crappy hotel. The staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#343 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Property: Pod 51 Hotel
Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#155 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing