We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, (relatively) cheap in NYC”
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #233 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was our first stay at a Pod hotel. It's a very interesting concept. As expected, the room and bathroom were tiny. But except for drawer space, this little room had everything you could want - TV, free wi-fi, an I-home, a safe, toiletries and a blow-dryer. The room was very clean. Also, for the bunk-bed rooms that use the shared single-person bathrooms, there is a lighted panel above the room door which tells you which bathroom is available (my daughter thought that was very cool). For NYC, it is a very good value for the money, especially the bunk-bed rooms. It is located a block or so away from the E subway. Two caveats: 1) the shower stall in the in-room bathroom is 2.5 feet x 2.5 feet with a low showerhead - very hard to use if you are tall or big. 2) There is only room for maybe two suitcases, total.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,386 of 4,950 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

When going too New York City for the second time we realised that you don't need to stay right in the middle of everything and spend a fortune on a hotel. Me and a mate decided to go with the pod 51 hotel witch was slightly further out from the centre of Manhatten. We went with the bunk bed pod so we both got a bed. It was small but you ain't really in the room a lot so we never found it a problem. You got a Sink and a safe and enough space to hang your clothes, tv by your bed. We had a shower room right opposite the room so it kinda felt like an en-suite anyway. There were also another 3 shower rooms all with toilets on the floor so there was never really a problem finding a free one, especially with the light system in the room that indicated when they were occupied. All in all they were great for what we needed, if you were going with a partner or family then they done other rooms that were more suitable, ie with double beds and bathrooms in the room. Would definatly use again. Top hotel

Room Tip: Just go on the website and have a look at the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is in a very good location, stones throw from the subway so was very easy for airport connections (cost roughly $7 each from JFK). There's a few restaurants and bars nearby, and the hotel bar has a happy hour with half price bottled beers. We had one of the rooms with bunk beds and the shared bathroom. The bathrooms were clean, and towels were provided in the rooms. I would recommend taking flip flops (sandals) to wear in the bathroom though. The rooms were modern and very compact, fine for a few days but I'd imagine they wouldn't be suitable for everyone. I really enjoyed my stay at the pod 51 the location was great for Times Square, 5th Ave and Central Park too (although I do tend to walk everywhere). I would definitely stay here again :0)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36CrazyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Yes this hotel is small, the rooms are the smallest I have ever stayed in. However, they are clean and in NYC you tend to only sleep there. Shared bathrooms aren't ideal but they have a very good lights system that shows you which bathrooms are available from your room. Saves you hanging around in the corridor.

Excellent thai restaurant about 5 doors down. Good New York location. Walking distance from Rockafellar centre, Times Square, Empire State, Central Park etc.

I have done a lot of travelling and this place, I feel, should be described as a hostel. A nice hostel but a hostel all the same.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bx720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The rooms are tiny but this great little hotel really does offer the best location. Not far from Times Square and other mid-town hot spots. Also great for transport with subway and bus links very near by. I would use this hotel again if only for a base to store my belongings and for somewhere safe and warm to sleep. The rooms are cleaned with fresh towels put out every day which is nice. We stayed in a double room which had a bathrooms, which is basically a toilet and a shower behind a totally see-through panel.... not really romantic!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgialovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked this hotel for Thanksgiving weekend 2013 as it was at the lower end of NYC Manhattan hotel prices (990$ for 4 nights total with taxes--yikes!). We also chose it because it sounded unusual. We would stay here again. Let's review the positives:
It is conveniently located;<20$taxi ride from Penn Sta; 2 blocks from the subway station; attractive wood slat blinds; we had an 8th floor room at the back so had (no view but) no street noise; there is a cute tiny private park across the street that is locked up at night; it was perfectly clean; no gym but New York Sports Club will give a daypass for 15$ 1-1/2 blocks away; there is a small room safe. We did not sample the tiny cafe in the lobby, or the bar attached. There is a Belgian restaurant/bar next door but we did not try it.
But you also need to be aware of its limitations, and decide what is right for you, including:
It is called Pod 51 because the rooms are small (perfect for one, small for two, too small for families). We had a regular queen-sized bed but the rooms are small cruise-ship size; passing another person around the bed is very tight; the in-room bathrooms are tiny one-person size. We came in cold weather with multiple layers; there were only 6 hangers in the open closet and only one coat hook; not nearly enough to hang multiple coats. Half the small closet held a box to hold a suitcase, so clothes on hangers had to drape over the dirty luggage. There was one small desk and one small desk chair; no other chairs. The maid brought a small dorm-room ironing board that rests on the top of the desk (if you take everything off the desk first). There is a (small) 20-inch flatscreen TV on the wall; no telephone; tinny I-pod clock-radio (which was not correctly set). For some reason there is a clear window into the bathroom (?to see the TV) so do not expect privacy sitting on the toilet. The rainshower shower head was nice but not if you want to keep your hair dry. The stainless steel bathroom sink/counter looks pretty until water splatters all over and the sink is so small it is hard to lean over it to brush your teeth; there is no soap dish and no washcloths (we bring our own; absence of washcloths is a European affectation.) The room doors are thin; fortunately we had polite neighbors.
We had a private bathroom; to save money you can get a room with a sink but no toilet. The shared toilets-showers are much larger than the in-room bathrooms. We saw one bunkbed room; be aware that it is smaller than many college dorm rooms, and also has only one desk and chair.
So do not be surprised. We would stay here again but we spend little time in our room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Clean room, but very small with shared bath. The location was great with lots of restaurants close by and the subway within a short walk. There are better deals to be had though. I managed to catch athelete's foot from the bathroom :(.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get your own bathroom. Nothing like trapsing down the hall in your pj to use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanuarySkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#202 of 469 in New York City
3,403 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#410 of 469 in New York City
551 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#187 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,277 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
11,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £82 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accommodation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing