We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pod51”
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #235 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JeanW140
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 4,949 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

So my wife and I are in our 50's and wanted to stay in town for one night. I was focusing on staying on the other side of the river in NJ and taking a bus over, but then came across this hotel. Our rating is based on what we expected for the $$, not in comparison to our friends full room at the Hilton several blocks away.
We staying in a bunk bed room, and as you may have already read, the rooms are tiny but clean, with several shared bathroom showers down the hall. Everything went fine - no issues with the room, the bathrooms were clean, and the employees all were helpful and upbeat. For us, what really helped was a little cafe in the lobby, with an ultra fresh bowl of fruit for $6 and very fresh hot coffee for $2....with free refills!
When we were there, there were mostly younger Europeans, with a smattering of folks our age. The only thing that alarmed me at all, is I saw one full room on our floor (2nd), and it was right across from the elevator and bathrooms...if I stayed there, I would be concerned about the noise...but our room was at the end of the hall, so no issues. One other note, I got the top bunk, so if you are a tenderfoot, bring some slippers or be prepared for a little foot pain as the ladder steps are not very wide. Oh, and our mini room did come with a safe, a sink, a small area for hanging closes, and a mini desk...not bad for under $200 in the heart of Manhattan!

Room Tip: If getting a full sized room, avoid being in the central hallway across from the elevators/shared ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tipscorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Koenraad K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Pod 51 is the newer of the Pod's. It's location in the diplomatic section on the East side close to the United Nations makes for a varied and eclectic client base.
The rooms are rather small-about cruise cabin size but quite adequate for guest needs. We booked a room with a bathroom included and it was tight but livable sine we really do not spend any time in the rooms other than for sleeping. The front desk, bellmen and concierge are very friendly and accommodating. The attached Bar and pub is not worth a visit even though you get drink vouchers.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a bath so you don't have to walk down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmb2934d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Staff were very friendly and found the hotel to be very clean & comfortable. The rooms were small and basic but of an excellent quality. Pop at Pod is an excellent addition too. Location is perfect for locations around mid-town and close enough to major subway lines -and connections at Grand Central to be incredibly convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Pod Hotel is exactly what it sounds like: a place with a bunch of very small, pod-like rooms. It's fine if you need to stay in this area and don't have a lot of money. Frankly there's not a ton of cheap options around here.

The rooms are really like a traincar. Long and narrow with barely enough room for a suitcase. The sink is in the same room as the bed, and the bathroom is just right there, barely hidden by a sliding door. If you're bringing a date back here, well, it's going to be a tight fit!

I stayed here for business and the location was the main priority. Very happy with it for that, as I could walk to the office I was working at. Unfortunately, if you have a room at the front of the building, you are going to be subjected to all of the city noise. It's noisy, all night. There is a bar downstairs, too, so that doesn't help with the volume.

The entire place has a nice, updated, modern design. The lobby is also quite nice and there's a little cafe inside if you need to get a coffee or whatever. I didn't try the breakfast here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BanhRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed 5 nights on a business trip and, although the hotel was non-smoking, on 2 nights cigarette smoke leaked in through the gap in the bottom of the door. Also, the door stopped little, if any, sound from the hall so expect sleep disturbance. The room's small size, with matching small and immobile TV and quirky cable, is about what one would expect in London. The I dealt with were great, but only other thing this hotel has going for it is the mid-town location close to two subay lines.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnB45095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#204 of 469 in New York City
3,399 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#406 of 469 in New York City
550 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
810 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,227 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
11,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £82 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accommodation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing