We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average”
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #230 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 days on the 6th floor and found it to be nice, we stayed in the bunk bed room and it was average. The bathroom (about 4 on each floor) is better it's larger than in a hostel and the shower head is nice! The worst part is probably the wifi it was so bad it just kept disconnecting!! A real hassle!! It's a nice area and there is a great restaurant one block away which serves vegetables pay by weight! I didn't have a bad stay here but it's just a glorified hostel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clairealicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,546
    2,302
    648
    174
    141
See reviews for
466
1,523
1,064
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Ah, The Pod.

I spent a week in this hotel in January and stayed in one of their bunk pod rooms. It was small, yes, but not as small as I had anticipated judging by other reviews. We opted for the shared bathroom facility which was no problem at all as there were 4 bathrooms to our floor, and there was always an unoccupied one. Something that I love is how they play music in the bathrooms during sociable hours, and throughout the rest of the hotel!

The rooms are clean and offer daily housekeeping, it's in an excellent and safe location and is only a block or two away from two subway stations and the residents were lovely!

Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbiNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at Pod 39 a few times but this has been my first time at this pod. Like the 39 location, this is a no frills NYC spot that's clean, hip, and simple. If you want to control the water temperature in the shower, don't stay here. If you want an in-room ironing board, don't stay here. If you want an incredibly comfortable bed, don't stay here. BUT if you'd like a simple and sweet NY spot, stay here. It's cute, with character and spunk. I like it. Just not for when you're feeling fancy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseG227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in a queen pod as I couldn't stand the idea of sharing a bathroom. The room was so tiny, the bathroom was like the ones you find in an aeroplane! That said, who spends time in their hotel room in NEW YORK!! The location was ideal, staff super friendly and the roof top area was nice, take a bottle of wine up there and soak in the view of this amazing city. The only thing that was disappointing was there wasn't a coffee machine (or kettle) in our rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is not a 5-star hotel by most people's hotel standards. But for New York City, I believed it deserved that for price, location and amenities.

Bottom line: I was happy with the experience, especially given that I booked only two weeks ahead. I was happy with the price ($169 a night plus taxes) and the Midtown location. And I liked it well enough that I would stay there again.

Yet I would hesitate to recommend it to others given its tiny space. It wasn’t a room to which you would want to go back, put up your feet, and comfortably read a good book or watch television (there is a 13-inch television on the wall, however).

I had a single, twin-bed room. I looked in one double room, where the double bed (note: not a queen) was against the wall, creating some inconvenience for an “inside” guest wanting to get up in the night. An online review mentioned this, said the hotel moved them to a different room where this wasn’t an issue.

The place has a European feel, and in fact many guests are Europeans and Asians. Here are principal things I liked about the hotel.
• Block and a half from the subway station for the north-south 6 train, and a short underground walk to an east-west train.
• Safe neighborhood, with the NYPD 17th Precinct station in the next block and a seemingly unnecessary 24/7 NYPD presence on the Pod 51 block. Among neighbors on the block: several restaurants, a synagogue with outdoor seating area, two foreign-government offices, a small school.
• In all respects the hotel seems modern and well-maintained.
• Good twin-size bed, good shower, thirsty towels (I chose the bathroom-down-the-hall option), free WiFi, in-room sink, daily housekeeping, good bedside reading light, standard heat/AC with a window that opens, complementary USA Today, concierge in lobby.
• Although I had the obligatory loud neighbors and slamming doors, I was never bothered by noise when I was in the room.
• Three humongous drawers under the bed, plus a small table, a desk and chair, and a folding luggage rack; clothes bar with six hangers.
• Building has 14 floors (no 13th), and a rooftop with Adirondack chairs.
• Half-block away Treehaus restaurant (buffet lines and order-at-counter options) and a block over on Lexington a bakery and grocery/deli.

Room Tip: Some reviews refer to noise from the street-level bar; I had an interior room and heard no bar noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oregonian45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is definitely not a hotel for older travelers. The compact space saving dresser under the bed should have been the first clue. This was like an old fashion college dorm room without a desk, and not as big as a shared dorm room. The front desk staff and bell men were really pleasant and helpful. This is truly a concept out of my wheel house and I will leave to the young more environmentally oriented to maneuver.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladynosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

In the first look, the room with a queen's bed is pretty small for that price but, with the storage spaces, and all amenities, there's nothing you would miss. Just that the wash space is really small and you will have to be careful. The location is the best part...in middle of manhattan...and close to every thing happening in the city! There's a great pub down on the ground floor, and a make do kitchen too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skh95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#191 of 468 in New York City
3,265 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,530 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 468 in New York City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,536 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Property: Pod 51 Hotel
Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#155 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing