We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pod 51 Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$127
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$188
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$175
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (5,120)
Filter reviews
5,120 results
Traveller rating
1,650
2,432
696
189
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,650
2,432
696
189
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroombunk bed roompickwick armsprivate bathrooms are smallnew yorkess a bagelroof terracebudget hotelaround the cornertimes squareplace to sleepsmall desksubway stationcentral parkflat screen tvlocation is great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,325 - 1,330 of 5,120 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Amazing and convenient location. Rooms are clean and provide what you need for exploring the city. Subway station is very close and nearby restaurant/pubs. Stayed for 2 nights prior to going on a cruise in July 2014, and will comeback in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlvaroMpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

For our firsttrip to NYC we whose this hotel for its price and also for the good comments that we read. The hotel is clean, the staff is nice and friendly. The rooms are small but honestly big enough since you'll only be there to sleep. The room was cleaned every day and we had fresh towels every day. We had our own shower and toilets in the room. The air conditionning is greatly apreciable. We were quite surprised to see that we could have hot coffee and croissants every morning for free (very useful when you can't start your day without a coffee!!!) but otherwise there are plenty of restaurants around the block where you can have more choice, especially the ess-a-bagel just around the corner. For the last day, very good luggage service (the man helped us get cash back since we had a problem with our French credit cards). In a word, I would go there again and recommend it !! ps : the only -slightly- negative point is the fact that the nearest subway is 51st street, which is not far, but which is not an express stop, so at nights, you have to stop at 53rd lex av or 59th st. You have to walk a little bit more to reach the hotel. The hotel has a great location, 10-15 minutes walk from the Rockefeller center, 5 minutes walk from East river to have a great view on Queensboro bridge, empire State 20 min and Chrysler building 10 min

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Delphine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Pod was recommended by a dear friend & am happy to say it exceeded expectations. Safe, art vibe, great staff, and close to public transit. Room w/ sink & clean shared bathrooms. A great bargain! Highly recommend (especially for the young at heart travelers) and look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: Enjoyed having a room with 2 bunk beds, sink & a safe for personal belongings. Has all you need & won't break the bank! Great for travelling w/ friends. Hope to come back again soon!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank D2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the Pod 51 during my stay - it was clean, modern, safe, and in close proximity to lots of NYC attractions. I was a little apprehensive before booking, as a previously-booked airbnb apartment was cancelled last minute, leaving me scrambling for a place to stay. The Pod exceeded my expectations!

Pros: Location - yes, there are more central areas to stay in NYC and hipper, more happening neighborhoods. However, this spot (near the UN) is only a few blocks from 5th Avenue shopping, Grand Central, lots of sushi restaurants, and several subway stations. We walked to Times Square and Central Park- both longer hikes, but certainly nothing strenuous and lots to see on the quick 15 minute walks.

Value for money - we stayed in a room with a queen bed and a private bathroom. While this hotel is very upfront about the economic room sizes, the queen room is PLENTY of space for two people, as long as you don't mind being very close the whole time in the room! We were on out way back to Uganda for work, so we had a total of four giant suitcases, two carryons, a backpack, etc. There was plenty of room to store our bags and the hanging rod, drawers under the bed, and side tables had plenty of room for the things we needed. I can't speak to the size of other rooms, but this was perfect for the two of us. We could have upgraded to a bigger hotel for $100 or $200 more, but we would rather spend that money on nice dinners than a room we didn't spend much time in anyway!

Ambiance - the hotel is warm, inviting, and modernly furnished. The lobby was under renovation while we were there, but the temporary space located in the Pop@Pod restaurant underneath works fine for the time being. The room was clean and pretty. There is also rooftop access on the 14th floor with nice lounge chairs and tables if you're coming in the summertime.

Cons: Internet - the intermittent wifi service (kicked us off after five minutes, if it could connect at all) could have been due to the renovations I mentioned earlier, but it was the biggest frustration of our trip. Not a huge deal in the grand scheme of things, but this is 2014 and reliable wifi access is not a difficult service to provide, renovation or no renovation. If this is a dealbreaker for you, this may not be your first choice of lodging.

Proximity to nightlife - take this with a grain of salt. If you are looking to be right outside the door of booming nightclubs and an all-night party scene, you might want to look elsewhere. This is a great location for sightseeing and getting to main attractions, but it tends to be in more of a financial/business/shopping/tourist area and is pretty peaceful after midnight. However, this is ONLY a con for you if proximity to clubs and bars is your very top priority. I almost hesitate to mention it, as I don't want to sound like it is a tired, empty place - because it isn't! It was actually pretty nice to have a quiet, relaxing place to come after a long day of walking (and eating too much of NY's endless food, to be perfectly honest).

We really enjoyed our trip and I will definitely stay here again when I visit the city!

Room Tip: Try to choose a higher floor (and a room with private bathroom, if it fits in your budget!)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank hubbards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

So the best advice is get a room on the upper floor, the first night we were on the second floor and we could hear and feel the Bass from the nightclub. I know it's NYC, but you gotta sleep sometime! The staff moved us and we were on the top floor looking south...Awesome! The roof top bar is cool, the rooms are clean, but the maids start early. All in all I would stay here again. Plus right around the corner on 1st is the best bagels in NYC.....Ess-A-Bagel!!! You have to get some! Most of all, it's the cheapest hotel in midtown, and it's clean and safe!

Room Tip: Higher Floor!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JohnL1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews