We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, Friendly Staff, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Econo Lodge Times Square
Ranked #257 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable, Friendly Staff, Great Location”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

First of all, I would DEFINITELY stay here again. I booked this room because the price was the best around and the location was great to the Theater/Times Square area. After I made my reservation, my sister asked if I checked BedBugRegistry.com to see if there were bedbugs reported at the hotel. I almost hesitated to look because it was a "budget" hotel, I had already paid in full (no refund rate), but was thrilled to see that there were NO reported incidents at all, which made me love it more before I even got there.

The rooms are very small, but I expected that upon reserving the room. The room was clean and it was fine for the amount of time we actually spent there. The hotel staff was very friendly and I appreciated that when I would ask for directions, etc. I never felt like they were annoyed with my touristy questions they probably answered many times a day.

The breakfast was simple, but adequate. There really isn't anywhere in the lobby to eat breakfast, so everyone just made due. Some variation in the cereal would be nice.

Room Tip: We got a much better rate by being a member of their club rewards program (free to join) when we pai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brady N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your candid review. We are glad that your stay was enjoyable. Your suggestions on breakfast will be passed to management. We are always looking for ways we can improve to better accommodate our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    546
    205
    52
    50
See reviews for
232
556
128
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
on the road
Level Contributor
338 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The name should tell you that this is a budget property, however it does represent good value in the Times Square area. Technically in Hells Kitchen (Clinton), 8th Avenue has been undergoing a gentrification, and the area is safe and attractive. One block from restaurant row which is on 46th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues, close to Times Square.
Bagels, fruit, coffee, tea and hot and cold cereals provided 6AM to 9AM, and tea and coffee available all day.
Rooms are small but recently renovated.
I have stayed here several times.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
We would like to extend our gratitude for continuing to choose us, Econo Lodge Times Square as your preferred hotel, while visiting NYC. Located in the heart of Times Square, we are indeed close to several restaurants in Hells Kitchen and nearby Restaurant Row. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again when you return to the Big Apple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Not too much of interest to say about the property.....very basic in all ways. Room was clean and in order, and as probably most have commented, very small. However,as most have also probably said....who cares? We were there to sleep only after spending the days in NYC! It served the purpose very well. The best thing about the Econo Lodge is LOCATION! It's 2 blocks from Times Square, and so close to everything else! Very central to walk just about anywhere you want to go. We got the room for 3 of us (myself, girlfriend and her daughter) with 2 double beds for $245 a night. Yeah, pricey by regular standards for an Econo Lodge, but again....worth it for the location. At Times Square and forgot your camera in the room?.....2 minute walk to get it. You get the picture. You can pay more for a nicer place, but what do you want to do, sit in your room watching TV or be in your own reality series and walk Manhattan? We've been twice and will use it again. Makes things very easy. Oh, the staff let us check out bags hours early, and were very friendly and helpful giving tips and directions. Great people.

Room Tip: Several parking garages (if you drive in like we did) the block before the hotel. We used Central P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guitarkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Econo Lodge Times Square a second time around. Our staff strives to make a pleasant and enjoyable stay for our guests. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Econo Lodge Times Square. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My fiance stayed here for 6 nights in February of 2011. (The furthest back it would let me put is July 2011) It was small but we didn't really mind that. The staff was pleasant, the breakfast was nothing special, very clean but the design is nothing special. They are just a few blocks from time square, right across the street from and AWESOME pub. I was surprised how quiet the room actually was. We weren't kept up at all by the outside noise or by any other customers.

Awesome stay at an awesome price!! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor. That could have been why our noise levels were not bad at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank You! We appreciate you taking some time out to compose such a kind review of our hotel. We are pleased you and your fiance enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you the next time you plan on visiting NY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed at the econo lodge in times square with my family on june 1, 2012. the staffs there were great. I met a wonderful staff there by the name of Natasha who was sooo sweet, helpful and tried to accomidate my family by giving us extra pillows and blankets. When i asked her what kind of fun activities can i do with my kids. she quickly print out some kids activities that was going on and the directions on how to get there. she even made reservations for us to go see ground zero. Natasha always had a smile on her face and asked us if we needed anything else. Breakfast was FREE which helped us to save a little $$. I truely had a great time and i would def. stay at this hotel next time i visit NY. thank you to all of the staffs there, especially Natasha.
Marie and family

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet place to stay, the econo lodge is a great place to get a good nite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank You! We take pride in providing great customer service. I am glad your stay with us was pleasant and enjoyable. And, that Natasha could assist you and your family with your needs. Again, thank you for your kinds words and we are hoping to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#237 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Times Square

Property: Econo Lodge Times Square
Address: 302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Family Hotel in New York City
#205 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Times Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel in New York CityThe Econo Lodge® Times Square hotel is ideally located at 47th Street and 8th Avenue in the heart of New York City's Times Square. Imagine staying close to everything you want to do and see when visiting NYC! As our guest, you will have easy access to the city's most famous attractions, including the Broadway Theater District, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Central Park and esteemed Restaurant Row. You will be within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Madison Square Garden, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (Javits Center), Fifth Avenue shopping and more. Our location is unbeatable! Hotel features include free wireless high-speed Internet access and free continental breakfast. All of our guest rooms include flat-screen televisions with satellite programming including premium channels, safes, hair dryers and iPod docks. Take a look at our room types and choose the one that best suits your needs. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Times Square hotel in New York City provides superior accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel New York City
Econo Lodge New York City
Econolodge Times Square
New York City Econo Lodge
Econolodge New York City
Econo Lodge Time Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing