We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and PERFECT location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Times Square

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Econo Lodge Times Square
Ranked #261 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value and PERFECT location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent 2 nights here in May as part of a road trip holiday. When we arrived, the girl on the desk couldn't have helped us any more then, and throughout our stay. The room was very small, but all we needed it for was to sleep in, and for that, it was great. In the room, there was complimentary crisps and bottles of water. There was also 2 packets of earplugs - we didn't need them, but would be very useful if you were a light sleeper, as we were facing the street. Breakfast was simple and did the job. Simple, but it was all we needed for a quick grab and go so we could get out and see the city! The location was perfect. A less than 2 minute walk to Times Square one way, and only a couple of blocks from 5th Ave the other! Subway at Times Square
was right there and so easy and quick to get to.

At the end of the day, the location was PERFECT for what we wanted, it was very clean, and the staff were very friendly! well worth our money!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauramish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,


Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad we were able to meet all your needs and requests as well. We are glad to know location was suitable and convenient for you. We are also pleased that you have enjoyed our morning breakfast, always goes a long way when you are ready to shop in Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. Thank you we really appreciate the comment “At the end of the day, the location was PERFECT for what we wanted, it was very clean, and the staff were very friendly! well worth our money!”

We look forward to seeing you again,

Thank you,
Econo Lodge Times Square Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    532
    203
    51
    49
See reviews for
226
547
124
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

There are 3 reasons why I've stayed at EconoLodge Times Square twice in the past 3 years when I've visited NYC:
1). Location is great. It's 2-3 blocks from Times Square and in the theater district, but it's off the main streets (between 8th and 9th) so you don't get the same street noise as from Times Square. There is great food on 9th Avenue as well.
2). The value for mid-town Manhattan is hard to beat (especially if you are a choice hotel privileges member). In my personal opinion, anyone visiting NYC for pleasure spends very little time in the hotel anyway and EconoLodge aren't trying to charge an arm and a leg knowing their patrons aren't spending much time in the rooms.
3). Even though the rooms are very small, they are clean and the staff are friendly, professional and helpful. The continental breakfast is good and they leave coffee out most of the day and fresh ice water.

I've seen a few negative reviews on here about having to wait on the rooms, or the staff being not so friendly, but I've never encountered that in my stays. However, even if I did, I think I'd be willing to forgive because I know not everyone is perfect and everyone has an off day.

I feel safe, secure and like I'm treated with respect here and that goes a long way for me.

Room Tip: The elevator is a little slow, so if you can't walk up stairs, you might want to request a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WBS723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review and business for the past three years. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad we were able to meet all your needs and requests as well. We are glad to know location was suitable and convenient for you. I do agree with the great restaurants on 9th Avenue, is definitely a plus for the neighborhood; good lunch specials by the way. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the elevator running slow. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We are also pleased that you have enjoyed our morning breakfast and complimentary coffee, tea, and ice cold water; always good after a long day of sightseeing and touring.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Thank you,
Econo Lodge Times Square Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent 2 nights here as part of our honeymoon and chose this hotel due to its location - just off Times Square. We had to wait over an hour for our room to be prepared when we checked in - even though we arrived in the afternoon and the receptionist told the cleaners straight away to get our room ready. It shoudn't have taken them more than 20 minutes - especially considering the small size of the room. Other than this, everything was ok with our stay. Rooms are tiny and hard to sleep in due to the noise that comes through the windows - although they do give you earplugs. Some people might like to hear the noise of the city. Breakfast is included and it is quite nice. It is good value for the location as prices are inflated in the area. If you are planning on spending all your time in the city and just go back to your hotel to sleep, this place is a very good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank 7Leila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your review. I would first like to start by congratulating you and your husband on the new marriage. Honeymoons are always exciting and memorable. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room readiness. We also like to apologize for the noise disturbance you experienced at the hotel; at times New York City will do construction work without advance notice to the hotel or the neighborhood. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We are glad to hear the hotel was suitable and convenient for your needs.

We look forward to seeing you again,


Thank you,
Econo Lodge Times Square Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here last friday through sunday. We LOVED it. FREE BREAKFAST!!! Javits Center wasn't too far away (We were here for Comic Con) and neither was Rockefeller Center. The front desk lady was so nice. It felt homey to us. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TurtleSillyBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad we were able to meet all your needs and requests. We are pleased to hear that location was suitable and convenient for the Comic Con Event. We had several Comic Con guests join us that weekend and they all enjoyed their stay as well. We are very excited to hear the hotel provided that homey field for you and your boyfriend; that is the goal. “You’re Home Away From Home”


We look forward to seeing you again for Comic Con,


Thank you,
Econo Lodge Times Square Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Room was quite small but everything else was great. Very clean, good location for walking,catching bus or subway. Front desk people were very knowledgable and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad we were able to meet all your needs and requests. We are also pleased to hear that location was suitable and convenient for you as well.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Thank you,
Econo Lodge Times Square Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at Econo Lodge for 6 nights in September. We selected it based on reviews - all turned out to be true. Yes, the rooms are very small but as we were out sightseeing most of the time this was not an issue. The breakfast is excellent. Don't get hung up about not finding a table in the lobby to eat at as they are limited .. take your food up to your room. The 24 hour tea / coffee in the lobby was an added bonus. The staff were outstanding - very helpful and friendly. We had an issue with our bath plug and the chap who attended to it was great. And the location is the best. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad we were able to meet all your needs and requests. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the limited spacing in the lobby; we understand it might get crowded during breakfast hours and at times seating becomes limited. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Thank you,
Econo Lodge Times Square Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonderry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed for four nights at the above hotel. As with most travelers price , location. and reviews played a part on our selection. The hotel was everything said about it. Rooms are certainly small,but move a chair or something and all of a sudden much better. Really enjoyed the place,friendly clean and so handy and by N Y standards not to pricey. It is a little gem and will stay there again hopefully

Room Tip: get a room near ground floor as the elevator is out of the ark
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review, the hotel is definitely a little gem in the Big Apple. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad we were able to meet all your needs and requests. Excited to hear the hotel was suitable and convenient for your needs. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the elevator working slow during the duration of your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#246 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#358 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,131 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,985 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#320 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Times Square

Property: Econo Lodge Times Square
Address: 302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Times Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel in New York CityThe Econo Lodge® Times Square hotel is ideally located at 47th Street and 8th Avenue in the heart of New York City's Times Square. Imagine staying close to everything you want to do and see when visiting NYC! As our guest, you will have easy access to the city's most famous attractions, including the Broadway Theater District, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Central Park and esteemed Restaurant Row. You will be within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Madison Square Garden, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (Javits Center), Fifth Avenue shopping and more. Our location is unbeatable! Hotel features include free wireless high-speed Internet access and free continental breakfast. All of our guest rooms include flat-screen televisions with satellite programming including premium channels, safes, hair dryers and iPod docks. Take a look at our room types and choose the one that best suits your needs. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Times Square hotel in New York City provides superior accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel New York City
Econo Lodge New York City
Econolodge Times Square
New York City Econo Lodge
Econolodge New York City
Econo Lodge Time Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing