We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costume Jewelry style 'gem' of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Times Square
Ranked #260 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Like that stylish glass gem shining in the jewelry counter at Walmart, it's the 'nicest thing in the case"...but you're at Walmart.

The Econolodge is a nice budget hotel. That means it isn't awful because you expect a nyc budget hotel to be terrible. It is clean. Everything works. The bed is comfortable. The internet was good enough to stream some TV (better late at night). The bathroom was free of scary things. The door locked. The maids cleaned. It was cheap...even cheaper with points which is how I paid.

If a friend put you up here you would 'unfriend them' tomorrow. It is the kind of place that you book for yourself...rather sell to yourself by saying things like "how much time will I spend in the room?" or "I do want to be close to Times Square". But really, there is NOTHING about the hotel that you would brag about and you won't be sharing photos of your "gem of a room" with your coworkers back home.

As Joan Rivers once said "the room was so small that when I put my key in the door, I broke the window". The desk is for a child, the toilet is for a child and the closet is for a doll. You can sit at the desk and reach back and remove things from the closet. You can rest your foot on the bed while you type on your laptop at the desk. You have to close the door to use the sink in the bathroom. Get the picture? You can't 'walk around the bed' as it is all but wedged into the room.

So, the hotel is safe and clean but you may want to cover your face as you leave so nobody gets a picture of you there. Get it?

Lastly, if you're a couple than it's better to be newlyweds. That way one person can sleep on top while the other gets the bottom.

Room Tip: Leave the TV on all night so the street noise gets drowned out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pompui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with room’s square footage. Please note that we also offer our Superior Queen and Deluxe Double Guestrooms which provide additional square footage for extra room. In the future please be sure to contact the hotel directly so we can assist you in selecting the room type which may be a best fit for you and/or your family. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We are definitely pleased to hear that the property was to your budget hotel expectations with everything working, being clean, and most importantly having a comfortable bed to rest at night.

If you decide to provide Econo Lodge Times Square a second opportunity in the near future please be sure to call the hotel directly so we may better understand your needs and wants and determine if it would be a fit for you and/or family. We enjoy providing our guest with the best experience we can offer however at times a budget hotel may not be a fit for all.

We appreciate your comment as it means a lot to us:
“Everything works. The bed is comfortable. The internet was good enough to stream some TV (better late at night). The bathroom was free of scary things. The door locked. The maids cleaned. It was cheap...even cheaper with points which is how I paid.”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is one of those reviews that takes me a while to write. i don't want to bash the hotel as i liked it here, but i had the worst night's sleep ever. Make sense? let me start by saying the hotel location ROCKS. we walked to the theater, we walked to dinner. we walked around. so simple to get to times square, 5th avenue, theater district and eats. it is also one of, if not THE most affordable hotels in the city, given the location. you'll still pay around $200 a night, but go hotel shopping and you'll see this is one of the best you'll get, for the area its in.

as other reviewers have stated, the room is really tiny. however i have stayed in the more upscale hotel tiers in ny and they are around the same size. its a new york thing, and i am all for chillin' in my room, but in the city i really am only in the room to sleep.

which brings me to the thing. SLEEPING. because of the location, u pay for it at night. i have no idea how such a large number of people have so much energy all night, and you can hear it all night long. i was definitely not super surprised, as when i flicked on the bathroom light upon arrival there were 2 packages of earplugs on the counter lol. they just didn't help. there is a party outside your window 24-7.

anyhow, back to other good things. the room is super clean, comfy bed. the walls are paper thin, but you can't sleep here at night anyway.

really loved the breakfast in the morning. yes the lobby is tight, but think of it as the same size of your room. they provided fresh donuts (cream filled too!), pastries, bagels, yogurt, juices and coffee. for free this was pretty great.

beware there is no valet parking. u must park the next street over and its a garage at $48 a day. its tough....do u stay at a pricier hotel with parking or do you go cheaper but pay separate for parking?

lastly, hotel staff was pretty pleasant. we were always greeted coming in and going out. all in all, if i was in town for a night, i would stay here. longer than that though...i mean, i dunno. a girl's gotta sleep:)

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator (DING!). not that it matters, you won't sleep here anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kel400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with having the worst night's sleep ever. In the future please do not hesitate to call the Front Desk so we may accommodate you in a room on a higher floor which is quieter. Please note that we can also provide a white noise machine and ear plugs for the inconvenience. Times Square is very busy and the noise can be overbearing at times so again our apologies. I would also like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. Please note that we also offer our Superior Queen and Deluxe Double Guestrooms which provide additional square footage for extra room. In the future please be sure to contact the hotel directly so we can assist you in selecting the room type which may be a best fit for you and/or your family. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We are definitely pleased to hear stay that you loved the breakfast; everything is freshly brought every morning which is definitely a plus.

Please note that we do not offer valet parking however we do offer a discounted parking rate of $30 for a mid-size vehicle and $40 for an SUV/VAN for a 25 hour period as oppose to 24 hours which is what you most Times Square parking garages offer with no discount. Please be sure to reach out to the hotel for more information as you should have not paid more than $40 unless you parked longer than 25 hours. Also please be advise that pricier hotels in the area do not include parking but one or two which are already included in the in a rate that is higher. We like to make sure our guests are receiving the best deal when in town, so please do not hesitate to call us and ask us questions 1-212-246-1991.

We appreciate your comment as it means a lot to us:
“lastly, hotel staff was pretty pleasant. we were always greeted coming in and going out.”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Location is fabulous; the staff is friendly and helpful, the bed and pillows very comfortable, sufficient breakfast. Bring a fan to help mask traffic noise. My daughter and I loved our cozy place and would certainly be happy to return for our second visit to NYC!

Room Tip: We asked for a quieter room (as quiet as can be in NYC), and we had 514. It was a distance from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bugger4Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the traffic noise outside the hotel. In the future please do not hesitate to call the Front Desk so we may accommodate you and your daughter in a room on a higher floor which is quieter; we can also provide ear plugs for the inconvenience, again our apologies. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We are definitely pleased to hear you and daughter found the hotel to be cozy and would be happy to return for a second time. A million thanks for allowing us a second opportunity to provide a future flawless stay.

We appreciate your comment as it means a lot to us:

“A little gem in a big city”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The location is just great. Only 2-3 minutes by walking to Times Square. Price is OK when compared with other hotels in the are. There is a market very close to hotel. However rooms are small. Breakfast is ok however there was only 2 tables for breakfast for all hotel customers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. Please note that we also offer our Superior Queen and Deluxe Double Guestrooms which provide additional square footage for extra room. In the future please be sure to contact the hotel directly so we can assist you in selecting the room type which may be a best fit for you and/or your family. In regards to the breakfast area we have limited seating with five tables and extra seating for our guests. We invite our guests to enjoy breakfast in the comfort and privacy of their rooms when the hotel is fully committed; we apologize for any inconvenience this may have cause you. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. In regards to the close market it is definitely a plus for our guests and the staff here as well; nothing beats fresh organic foods in the neighborhood.

We appreciate your comment as it means a lot to us:

“Great”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice. What brings me back is the great location. If you are in NYC to see Broadway shows, it is incredibly convenient. Also, pricing has been very good both times. Be advised that the rooms are VERY small. I was travelling as a single so it was OK. If you are travelling with someone, you will feel cramped. However, how much time do you spend in your room in NYC.
Breakfast and the free WiFi are very nice touches and the staff is very friendly. Stephanie at the front desk was very helpful and the maid was very pleasant also.
Bottom line - if you can get a good rate at this hotel, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. Please note that we also offer our Superior Queen and Deluxe Double Guestrooms which provide additional square footage for extra room. Please be sure to reach out to the hotel directly so we can help you select the room type which may be a best fit for you on your next stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We appreciate your comment as it means a lot to us:
“Breakfast and the free WiFi are very nice touches and the staff is very friendly. Stephanie at the front desk was very helpful and the maid was very pleasant also.”

“Bottom line - if you can get a good rate at this hotel, I highly recommend it.”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

New York service can be a mixed bag....from maddening to endearing. This hotel has succeeded in elevating their service to a very high level. And it's genuine.

Congratulations to the leadership team at this hotel for finding a group of employees (and I include every staff member, didn't find a single exception) that is genuinely pleasant, eager to please, and downright genuinely friendly.

To the details....I arrived at a ridiculously early time of 7am. Not expecting to check in, but the front desk associate tried - genuinely and graciously - to help. No room available right then, but she explained the cleaning staff came in at 9 so a room should be available shortly thereafter. She offered me some (free, and good) breakfast in the meantime. I cam back at 10am and voila, the room was ready to go.

Every staff encounter went like that. Eager to please, smiling (all of them), and genuinely friendly.

The room? Tiny. The location? Very convenient. The price? Reasonable.

All of those details are secondary to the staff. I can't rave enough, and can't wait to come back.

Well done, Econo Lodge Times Square. You've got a great asset here in your people. The hotel is OK too, but the people are the key.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrz518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad we were able to meet all your needs and requests as well. We are also glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. You are definitely right, as you mentioned: “The room? Tiny. The location? Very convenient. The price? Reasonable.”--- “All of those details are secondary to the staff. I can't rave enough, and can't wait to come back.”

We appreciate your comment as it means a lot to us:
“This hotel has succeeded in elevating their service to a very high level. And it's genuine.”

“Congratulations to the leadership team at this hotel for finding a group of employees (and I include every staff member, didn't find a single exception) that is genuinely pleasant, eager to please, and downright genuinely friendly.”

“Well done, Econo Lodge Times Square. You've got a great asset here in your people. The hotel is OK too, but the people are the key.”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

really enjoyed our stay at the econolodge,Yes rooms are small but they are lovely and clean and nice and warm for this time of year, Staff are lovely and location is fantastic and i think both these make up for the size of room and when all said and done how long are you in your room after all you are in nyc we will definately be staying here again,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad we were able to meet all your needs and requests as well. We are also glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. You are definitely right, as you mentioned: “yes rooms are small but they are lovely and clean and nice and warm for this time of year.

We appreciate your comment as it means a lot to us:
“Staff are lovely and location is fantastic and i think both these make up for the size of room and when all said and done how long are you in your room.”

“really enjoyed our stay at the econolodge”

“we will definately be staying here again,”

We look forward to seeing you again,

Thank you,
Econo Lodge Times Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#288 of 469 in New York City
1,001 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#368 of 469 in New York City
928 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#394 of 469 in New York City
4,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
1,836 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#367 of 469 in New York City
1,383 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#188 of 469 in New York City
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Times Square

Address: 302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Family Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £106 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Times Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel in New York CityThe Econo Lodge® Times Square hotel is ideally located at 47th Street and 8th Avenue in the heart of New York City's Times Square. Imagine staying close to everything you want to do and see when visiting NYC! As our guest, you will have easy access to the city's most famous attractions, including the Broadway Theater District, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Central Park and esteemed Restaurant Row. You will be within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Madison Square Garden, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (Javits Center), Fifth Avenue shopping and more. Our location is unbeatable! Hotel features include free wireless high-speed Internet access and free continental breakfast. All of our guest rooms include flat-screen televisions with satellite programming including premium channels, safes, hair dryers and iPod docks. Take a look at our room types and choose the one that best suits your needs. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Times Square hotel in New York City provides superior accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel New York City
Econo Lodge New York City
Econolodge Times Square
New York City Econo Lodge
Econolodge New York City
Econo Lodge Time Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing