We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Times Square
Ranked #264 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 17 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank izak262
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Econo47th, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

It has taken us a while to finally write a review for the Econo lodge but we could not avoid mentioning the great stay we had while in NYC. We spent in total 12 nights in town and all at the Econo lodge Times Square. Room are small but comfortable and expected for a central location. The bed is super comfortable and queen size (which is rare) bathroom with bathtub shower and everything that is needed. Safety box, tv, A/C or heating. The breakfast in the morning was great too. Coffee, bagels, croissants, cheese etc. it is a small lobby but if you time it right you find a table. Reception staff and floor staff was great. A big thank you to Jessica which smile and welcoming attitude was fantastic. Very professional and helpful. A block away from Times Square, Broadway, subway stops, restaurants etc. you couldn't choose better for the price and service. Thank you again from the two Australian that were really hoping to see snowing but only got Flurries ;)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luca4121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo47th, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for getting around to writing this kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. We are happy to hear the staff including Jessica was everything you expected regarding excellent customer service to the guests. We apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. Please note the hotel offers other options like our Superior Queen and Deluxe Double Guestrooms which provide additional square footage for extra room. In the future please be sure to contact the hotel directly so we can assist you in selecting the room type which may be a best fit for you and/or your family. Is was great to hear that the breakfast was a plus for you and got you started for your daily adventures in New York City. Your satisfaction is important to us and the feedback you have provided we have used to make improvements to the hotel. We always want to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We appreciate your comments as it means a lot to us:
“Great stay, great staff ..will stay again”

“It has taken us a while to finally write a review for the Econo lodge but we could not avoid mentioning the great stay we had while in NYC.”

“Reception staff and floor staff was great. A big thank you to Jessica which smile and welcoming attitude was fantastic."

“Very professional and helpful.”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice. Staff was amazing! They were ALL so very friendly and helpful. Don't get that often. Rooms were small but when your in New York how often are you in your room? Noisy? Yes... but what else do you expect in New York for a decent price? Room service was great! Will definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work. We are happy to hear the staff was everything you expected regarding excellent customer service to the guests. We apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. Please note the hotel offers other options like our Superior Queen and Deluxe Double Guestrooms which provide additional square footage for extra room. In the future please be sure to contact the hotel directly so we can assist you in selecting the room type which may be a best fit for you and/or your family. We also like to apologize for the noise you experienced throughout the night with the fire fighter trucks and police cars. Please note that due the location we are located in, at times cannot control the noise but provide ear plugs for light sleepers; again our apologies regarding this matter. We will be sure to place you and yours in a higher floor on a future return for comfort and a good night sleep. Your satisfaction is important to us and the feedback you have provided we have used to make improvements to the hotel. We always want to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We appreciate your comments as it means a lot to us:

“Hotel was nice”

“Staff was amazing!”

“They were ALL so very friendly and helpful. Don't get that often.”

“Room service was great!”

“Will definitely recommend this hotel!”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This specific location and relatively decent reviews prompted my reservation for 2 nights, made more than three months before our stay.

When we arrived, two rooms (each with two beds, same as our reservation) were given to the walk-in customers just ahead of us in line.

It took 2 people 20 minutes to deal with those people, then we were greeted with a pre-written apology letter claiming an "unexpected maintenance issue" meant we had to stay at a different hotel for one night. They offered discount coupons for attractions we could not visit, plus cab fare to the GEM Hotel which was nowhere near Times Square (at 449 W 36th St ... we liked the GEM very much despite its more remote location).

The Econo Lodge offered 20 percent off the first night's stay. I didn't want a discount for one night; I wanted the room I reserved, and I didn't believe the story about a "maintenance issue." Overbooked, perhaps?

Since we were only staying two nights, we had to change hotels each night at a hotel a long distance away from the area we needed to be in, causing extra wear and tear on my young niece who suffers from juvenile rheumatoid arthritis.

The disruption was terribly inconvenient, a poor attempt at customer service, and the rattled front clerk (rattled perhaps because she knew the problem wasn't "maintenance issues?") was horribly inefficient in dealing with us and the earlier guests we saw checking in.

Econo Lodge needs to improve its customer service training!

Because our day started so early the second day (when we had to take a cab to drop off our bags at Econo Lodge) we had the decent breakfast buffet, served 6 to 9 a.m. We left our bags at the front desk, and they assured us the bags would be taken to our room when the room was ready. When we returned at about 5 p.m., the bags were still behind the desk. Econo Lodge: Don't make a promise if you're not going to deliver on it!

Despite the convenient location, I will never return and cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just expect the rooms to be uber-small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WeTravel2Learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your review. First and foremost we would like to apologize for any inconvenience transpired upon arrival to the hotel and your overall stay with us. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work. We were happy to hear the location was suitable and convenient for you. Regarding your reservation and the reason for your relocation to another hotel was due to a maintenance issue with one of the Deluxe Double Guestrooms and not because we were overbooked as you mentioned. We understand this was a very big inconvenience for you and your niece and rest assure if we did not have this maintenance issue arise there would no reason for the relocation. Please be advise the hotel only has five Deluxe Double Guestrooms in the entire property overall and because you reserved a room with two beds, we tried our best to accommodate you with the same request (two beds) and reservation you made. Please be advised that the unexpected maintenance problem was unavoidable and we were not able to rectify prior to your arrival. We sincerely apologize we were not able to accommodate you at the hotel for the first night as it was not safe to have any guests occupy the room until the problem was fixed. Please note there were no rooms provided to any guests with two beds, perhaps they might have been some sort of misunderstanding but there weren’t any Deluxe Double Guestrooms left available for that day but the guests whom were staying over already from the previous day. We sincerely apologize about this and would like for you to provide us another opportunity in the near future. Your satisfaction is important to us and the feedback you have provided we have used to make improvements to the hotel. We always want to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We would definitely like to speak with you directly about the matter to understand. If guests are not happy we assure that we do everything in our end to make their stay comfortable. We apologize that your stay was not comfortable and pleasing and we definitely like to hear from you again.

We were unable to locate a contact number on file but would definitely like to hear from you personally. If at your earliest convenience you can provide us with a contact number we can definitely reach out first or if you can reach out to me directly at 212-246-1991 it would be great. I am available from Monday through Friday between the hours of 10AM-8PM.
Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and will like for you to give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to New York.

Kind Regards,
Katherine Bejarano
Assistant General Manager
Econo Lodge Times Square
Kathy@econolodgetimessquare.com
(212)246-1991

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

TLDR: Good location, everything else: meh.

Pros: Location; very convenient for sight seeing, cheap compared to other hotels, surprisingly comfy bed. Staff helpful.

Cons: Really small rooms, noisy (ear plugs supplied in bathroom), furniture and hotel looks a bit tatty and dated.

Probably wouldn't stay again unless I was on a budget.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joblogs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. We apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. Please note the hotel offers other options like our Superior Queen and Deluxe Double Guestrooms which provide additional square footage for extra room. In the future please be sure to contact the hotel directly so we can assist you in selecting the room type which may be a best fit for you and/or your family. We apologize that the hotel décor was not what you expected. Please note we are in the process of a soft renovation in the hotel and note that no disturbance will transpire while doing so. We would like to have you visit us again in the near future after the soft renovation is completed. Your satisfaction is important to us and the feedback you have provided we have used to make improvements to the hotel. We always want to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We appreciate your comments as it means a lot to us:

“Good location”

“cheap compared to other hotels, surprisingly comfy bed.”

“Staff helpful.”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was my first time in NY city and this hotel was in a perfect location,all the staff on reception are very friendly and polite,the breakfast is simple but good the only small problem was the small rooms but if you can get beyond that your ok

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hoppy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. We are happy to hear the staff was everything you expected regarding excellent customer service to the guests. We apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. Please note the hotel offers other options like our Superior Queen and Deluxe Double Guestrooms which provide additional square footage for extra room. In the future please be sure to contact the hotel directly so we can assist you in selecting the room type which may be a best fit for you and/or your family. Is was great to hear that the breakfast was a plus for you and got you started for your daily adventures in New York City. Your satisfaction is important to us and the feedback you have provided we have used to make improvements to the hotel. We always want to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We appreciate your comments as it means a lot to us:

“this hotel was in a perfect location”

“staff on reception are very friendly and polite”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Want to experience the middle of NYC without a huge price tag? This is the ticket. Nothing flash but clean rooms, VERY friendly staff and is walking distance to things such as: Times Square where Good Morning America goes to air, many of the Broadway Theaters, Empire State Building, Flat Iron Building. If it is to far to walk, jump on the Hop On Hop Off bus: that is just across the road from the Hotel. Great place!!!

Room Tip: Take what ever room is available and just enjoy the atmosphere/noise of NYC. It is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokeygrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. We are happy to hear the staff was everything you expected regarding excellent customer service to the guests. We are glad you were able to enjoy Times Square without the huge price tag. Your satisfaction is important to us, we always want to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests.

We appreciate your comments as it means a lot to us:

“Close to where it is all happening!!”

“VERY friendly staff”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#402 of 470 in New York City
4,748 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#275 of 470 in New York City
1,866 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#371 of 470 in New York City
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#337 of 470 in New York City
2,816 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,862 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#235 of 470 in New York City
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Times Square

Address: 302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £94 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Times Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel in New York CityThe Econo Lodge® Times Square hotel is ideally located at 47th Street and 8th Avenue in the heart of New York City's Times Square. Imagine staying close to everything you want to do and see when visiting NYC! As our guest, you will have easy access to the city's most famous attractions, including the Broadway Theater District, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Central Park and esteemed Restaurant Row. You will be within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Madison Square Garden, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (Javits Center), Fifth Avenue shopping and more. Our location is unbeatable! Hotel features include free wireless high-speed Internet access and free continental breakfast. All of our guest rooms include flat-screen televisions with satellite programming including premium channels, safes, hair dryers and iPod docks. Take a look at our room types and choose the one that best suits your needs. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Times Square hotel in New York City provides superior accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel New York City
Econo Lodge New York City
Econolodge Times Square
New York City Econo Lodge
Econolodge New York City
Econo Lodge Time Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing