We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Econo Lodge Times Square
Ranked #264 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at the EconoLodge from June 22-25. The room was a little smaller than expected but for my budget sufficed for my needs. My requirements: inexpensive in a safe neighborhood with a close walk to the train station. I had to sign up for the choice rewards to get a discount on the room but I was able to book the room for 150ish per night which was better than my AAA discount.... The staff was friendly, the room (however very small like really small) was clean, and we are only a few blocks from pretty much anything. The only thing kind of rough other than the room size with the Hotel here is the Wifi speed is pretty slow but it is way better than internet speeds while roaming with my smartphone( kept cutting in an out on my MBpro)... The room came with a TV (19-24 inch didn't even turn it on). There is a lot to do in NYC and the Trip advisor app for your smart phone is kind of a must. The staff suggested a few things to do for us while my girlfriend and I stayed here as well. We were going to do the on and off bus tour but ended up just getting the metro card for a week (about 30 each and just made out own the tour ourselves) I would stay here again but like I said the wifi is pretty bad; I had to refresh the page here about 3 times before I could submit it. The bathroom was clean with fresh towels but the bathtub ( could be my imagination) seemed shorter than a normal bathtub(could have been my imagination). The breakfast got the job done for me with Bagels, cereal and boiled eggs peeled pop tarts and coffee and some cheese and meat slices was perfect for a light breakfast. With everything said and done I saved myself at least 400$ staying here rather than somewhere else. I got a 20% off discount for my next stay: (Thanks to the awesome staff at the front desk) I can deal with that. Next time I roll through NYC I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingofrandom92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo47th, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. We are happy to hear the staff was everything to expect regarding excellent customer service to the guests. We apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. Please note the hotel offers other options like our Superior Queen and Deluxe Double Guestrooms which provide additional square footage for extra room. In the future please be sure to contact the hotel directly so we can assist you in selecting the room type which may be a best fit for you and/or your family. We also like to apologize for experiencing issues with the WI-FI running slow. You experienced slow Wi-Fi due to an outage in the area. At times our network provider has outages and unfortunately our Wi-Fi goes down; again we apologized about this as we have no control over it. Your satisfaction is important to us and the feedback you have provided we have used to make improvements to the hotel. We always want to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We appreciate your comments as it means a lot to us:

“The staff was friendly”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

My daughter inlaw and I stayed 5th June till 9th June hotel was great all the staff very friendly and helpful with street maps and booking sightseeing tours ,Times Square 5 min walk from hotel ,will be booking into econolodge again you made our holiday all the more enjoyable in the fascinating city of New York

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo47th, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. We are happy to hear the staff was everything you expected regarding excellent customer service to the guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

We appreciate your comments as it means a lot to us:

“Great”

“hotel was great all the staff very friendly and helpful with street maps and booking sightseeing tours,”

“will be booking into econolodge again you made our holiday all the more enjoyable in the fascinating city of New York”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent location (passing through town for a night to see a show) and friendly/helpful staff, but I don't think we would have enjoyed a longer stay - just too cramped for us.

To clarify what "cramped" means.... there was less than a foot bwt the bottom of the bed and the wall -- which required either walking sideways / or climbing over the bed - to get to the other side. Apparently, for more $$$ you can get a room where it is possible to walk around the bed, but we didn't want to spend more $ on that night's stay.

Only other issue was a broken safe, which meant that we had to be moved to a different room.

Otherwise we thought that the Econo Lodge was a clean & comfortable play to stay. We are used to NYC noise, so the street noise wasn't a big deal - although I guess that might bother some people (use the earplugs).

Breakfast was fine / seating a problem so you might have to bring your breakfast back up to your room. $$$ in that area are exhorbitant; if you are looking to save $ - this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rollngstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo47th, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work. We are happy to hear the staff was everything to expect regarding excellent customer service to the guests. We apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. Please note the hotel offers other options like our Superior Queen and Deluxe Double Guestrooms which provide additional square footage for extra room. In the future please be sure to contact the hotel directly so we can assist you in selecting the room type which may be a best fit for you and/or your family. We also like to apologize for the noise you experienced throughout the night with the fire fighter trucks and police cars. Please note that due the location we are located in at times cannot control the noise but provide ear plugs for light sleepers as you mentioned; again our apologies regarding this matter. Please note any time a noise issue may arise with a guest we immediately offer a higher floor for comfort and a good night sleep. We also like to apologize for the broken safe; after further investigation we found that the reason you were room moved was so you did not have to wait on the safe being fixed and would enjoy your day/night out for the one night stay here at Econo Lodge. Your satisfaction is important to us and the feedback you have provided we have used to make improvements to the hotel. We always want to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We appreciate your comments as it means a lot to us:

“Great location / nice staff / adequate for a short stay”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank izak262
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Econo47th, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It has taken us a while to finally write a review for the Econo lodge but we could not avoid mentioning the great stay we had while in NYC. We spent in total 12 nights in town and all at the Econo lodge Times Square. Room are small but comfortable and expected for a central location. The bed is super comfortable and queen size (which is rare) bathroom with bathtub shower and everything that is needed. Safety box, tv, A/C or heating. The breakfast in the morning was great too. Coffee, bagels, croissants, cheese etc. it is a small lobby but if you time it right you find a table. Reception staff and floor staff was great. A big thank you to Jessica which smile and welcoming attitude was fantastic. Very professional and helpful. A block away from Times Square, Broadway, subway stops, restaurants etc. you couldn't choose better for the price and service. Thank you again from the two Australian that were really hoping to see snowing but only got Flurries ;)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luca4121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo47th, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for getting around to writing this kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. We are happy to hear the staff including Jessica was everything you expected regarding excellent customer service to the guests. We apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. Please note the hotel offers other options like our Superior Queen and Deluxe Double Guestrooms which provide additional square footage for extra room. In the future please be sure to contact the hotel directly so we can assist you in selecting the room type which may be a best fit for you and/or your family. Is was great to hear that the breakfast was a plus for you and got you started for your daily adventures in New York City. Your satisfaction is important to us and the feedback you have provided we have used to make improvements to the hotel. We always want to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We appreciate your comments as it means a lot to us:
“Great stay, great staff ..will stay again”

“It has taken us a while to finally write a review for the Econo lodge but we could not avoid mentioning the great stay we had while in NYC.”

“Reception staff and floor staff was great. A big thank you to Jessica which smile and welcoming attitude was fantastic."

“Very professional and helpful.”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice. Staff was amazing! They were ALL so very friendly and helpful. Don't get that often. Rooms were small but when your in New York how often are you in your room? Noisy? Yes... but what else do you expect in New York for a decent price? Room service was great! Will definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work. We are happy to hear the staff was everything you expected regarding excellent customer service to the guests. We apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with the room’s square footage. Please note the hotel offers other options like our Superior Queen and Deluxe Double Guestrooms which provide additional square footage for extra room. In the future please be sure to contact the hotel directly so we can assist you in selecting the room type which may be a best fit for you and/or your family. We also like to apologize for the noise you experienced throughout the night with the fire fighter trucks and police cars. Please note that due the location we are located in, at times cannot control the noise but provide ear plugs for light sleepers; again our apologies regarding this matter. We will be sure to place you and yours in a higher floor on a future return for comfort and a good night sleep. Your satisfaction is important to us and the feedback you have provided we have used to make improvements to the hotel. We always want to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We appreciate your comments as it means a lot to us:

“Hotel was nice”

“Staff was amazing!”

“They were ALL so very friendly and helpful. Don't get that often.”

“Room service was great!”

“Will definitely recommend this hotel!”

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This specific location and relatively decent reviews prompted my reservation for 2 nights, made more than three months before our stay.

When we arrived, two rooms (each with two beds, same as our reservation) were given to the walk-in customers just ahead of us in line.

It took 2 people 20 minutes to deal with those people, then we were greeted with a pre-written apology letter claiming an "unexpected maintenance issue" meant we had to stay at a different hotel for one night. They offered discount coupons for attractions we could not visit, plus cab fare to the GEM Hotel which was nowhere near Times Square (at 449 W 36th St ... we liked the GEM very much despite its more remote location).

The Econo Lodge offered 20 percent off the first night's stay. I didn't want a discount for one night; I wanted the room I reserved, and I didn't believe the story about a "maintenance issue." Overbooked, perhaps?

Since we were only staying two nights, we had to change hotels each night at a hotel a long distance away from the area we needed to be in, causing extra wear and tear on my young niece who suffers from juvenile rheumatoid arthritis.

The disruption was terribly inconvenient, a poor attempt at customer service, and the rattled front clerk (rattled perhaps because she knew the problem wasn't "maintenance issues?") was horribly inefficient in dealing with us and the earlier guests we saw checking in.

Econo Lodge needs to improve its customer service training!

Because our day started so early the second day (when we had to take a cab to drop off our bags at Econo Lodge) we had the decent breakfast buffet, served 6 to 9 a.m. We left our bags at the front desk, and they assured us the bags would be taken to our room when the room was ready. When we returned at about 5 p.m., the bags were still behind the desk. Econo Lodge: Don't make a promise if you're not going to deliver on it!

Despite the convenient location, I will never return and cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just expect the rooms to be uber-small.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WeTravel2Learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge Times Square,

Thank you for your review. First and foremost we would like to apologize for any inconvenience transpired upon arrival to the hotel and your overall stay with us. The staff here at Econo Lodge Times Square takes pride in their everyday work. We were happy to hear the location was suitable and convenient for you. Regarding your reservation and the reason for your relocation to another hotel was due to a maintenance issue with one of the Deluxe Double Guestrooms and not because we were overbooked as you mentioned. We understand this was a very big inconvenience for you and your niece and rest assure if we did not have this maintenance issue arise there would no reason for the relocation. Please be advise the hotel only has five Deluxe Double Guestrooms in the entire property overall and because you reserved a room with two beds, we tried our best to accommodate you with the same request (two beds) and reservation you made. Please be advised that the unexpected maintenance problem was unavoidable and we were not able to rectify prior to your arrival. We sincerely apologize we were not able to accommodate you at the hotel for the first night as it was not safe to have any guests occupy the room until the problem was fixed. Please note there were no rooms provided to any guests with two beds, perhaps they might have been some sort of misunderstanding but there weren’t any Deluxe Double Guestrooms left available for that day but the guests whom were staying over already from the previous day. We sincerely apologize about this and would like for you to provide us another opportunity in the near future. Your satisfaction is important to us and the feedback you have provided we have used to make improvements to the hotel. We always want to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We would definitely like to speak with you directly about the matter to understand. If guests are not happy we assure that we do everything in our end to make their stay comfortable. We apologize that your stay was not comfortable and pleasing and we definitely like to hear from you again.

We were unable to locate a contact number on file but would definitely like to hear from you personally. If at your earliest convenience you can provide us with a contact number we can definitely reach out first or if you can reach out to me directly at 212-246-1991 it would be great. I am available from Monday through Friday between the hours of 10AM-8PM.
Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and will like for you to give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to New York.

Kind Regards,
Katherine Bejarano
Assistant General Manager
Econo Lodge Times Square
Kathy@econolodgetimessquare.com
(212)246-1991

Thank you,

Econo Lodge Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#276 of 468 in New York City
997 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#363 of 468 in New York City
919 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#187 of 468 in New York City
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#190 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#389 of 468 in New York City
4,443 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#270 of 468 in New York City
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Times Square

Address: 302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Family Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £121 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Times Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel in New York CityThe Econo Lodge® Times Square hotel is ideally located at 47th Street and 8th Avenue in the heart of New York City's Times Square. Imagine staying close to everything you want to do and see when visiting NYC! As our guest, you will have easy access to the city's most famous attractions, including the Broadway Theater District, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Central Park and esteemed Restaurant Row. You will be within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Madison Square Garden, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (Javits Center), Fifth Avenue shopping and more. Our location is unbeatable! Hotel features include free wireless high-speed Internet access and free continental breakfast. All of our guest rooms include flat-screen televisions with satellite programming including premium channels, safes, hair dryers and iPod docks. Take a look at our room types and choose the one that best suits your needs. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Times Square hotel in New York City provides superior accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel New York City
Econo Lodge New York City
Econolodge Times Square
New York City Econo Lodge
Econolodge New York City
Econo Lodge Time Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing