We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Times Square
Ranked #265 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This place is miserable! It took us two hrs just to get checked in after spending a 6 hr ride to get here. There was some internet issues... We went out for dinner hoping the issues would be resolved by then...they were not! We were not offered anything for our inconvenience, not even a water and just said " there is nothing we can do" even though their motto is " where great customer service doesn't cost extra", but this place has no customer service at all. When we got back the elevator was broken and there was nobody in the lobby for any help at all. So what are you paying for...please spend the extra 200 bucks for a much better place, this place is an insult. The next night we tried to get back into our hotel room and had to go back down to the lobby with the most unfriendly employee ever because nieiher of our keys would let us into our room, it was then that she informed us that you had to get new keys every freaking day! Imagine that. No reason what so ever for another inconvience, not to mention they dont even have vending machines!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradboston44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2009

We booked 2 rooms to stay at the Econo Lodge over the September long weekend. We were greated by a please lady that was working the front desk and we thought we were off to having a great stay. We could not have been so wrong...
The next morning we go to have a shower and we find out there is no hot water... I phoned the front desk and they said the hot water was not working in the entire area. We did not get frustrated as maybe that was the case and that was out of the control of the hotel. We check later on that night and they say the hot water is now working but when we get back to our room we discover that it is not working yet again. We phone down to the front desk to discover they know it is still a problem and don't know when it will be fixed.
The next morning we try to have a showever to our disappointment to find out the hot water is not working again which means that we are forced to have cold showers. This was clearly not fun since I have very long hair!
When we talked to the front desk there was no manager to express our concerns to and our compensation for a bad stay was 10% off our room. We are in New York.... having hot water is a basic necessity not a luxury item... telling us you could not get someone to come an fix it until Tuesday after the long weekend is just unacceptable!
There is one thing to have someone go wrong for a customer during their stay but the moment of truth for your organization is how you resolve the problem... this differentiates whether or not the client will ever come back! Econo Lodge you missed the boat and there were 4 ladies from 4 families in those 2 rooms and we live in difference Cities. Do the math to figuer out how many people we have told about our experience and how many people will NEVER visit your hotel since you did not compensate for this problem in an appropriate mannor! The lost business along from the four of us is much greater than it would have cost you to discount our rooms appropriately!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cattamaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I heard about this property through friends and it is a great find! I will def recommend to others who are looking for accomodations esp in times square - there should be more hotels like this one! we didnt pay for anything except our room charge. EVERYTHING was free! Breakfast, Coffee, Tea, Internet, Faxing - the savings added up - we would have easily spent an additional $30 anywhere else for all of this. The rates are the cheapest in the area. The folks at the front desk were great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavvyTraveler411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I stayed with a couple of friends at the Econo lodge for the labour day weekend and the hotel had no hot water for the weekend. The staff didn't apologize and the toilet in one of the rooms overflowed twice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victorious55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

The only good thing at the hotel is it's location. The rooms are tinny - you almost have to choose between you or your luggage - and the staff (exception made for Andrew) is very unfriendly. Even though they say there's free wi-fi connection in the room, I've been staying there for an entire week and couldn't get online!!!!!! And when I look to the front desk so they can get it fixed, they give a shi***** about it!!! NOT RECOMMENDED!!!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
Thank erictsalgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Stayed at the Econo Lodge for 3 nights whilst visiting New York.
Never been to New York before, then this is a good place to stay!
The rooms are very small i mean very small BUT it's clean and some where to sleep and freshen up, grab a coffee on your way out in the morning what more do you want for the price?
Location is EXCELLENT you walk out the door turn right and just 1 block your on Times Square right in the centre of everything. I would highly recommend the Your buses for seeing New York, it's cheap and a great way to see New York and all it's Famous Land marks. You just hop and off as many times as you like throughout the day.
I would stay at Econolodge again and recommend it to anyone if anything for it's Location, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariners09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We satyed in Econo lodge in April 2008. Having been to New york before I was looking forward to taking my children (teenagers) and mother. We has booked 3 rooms and requested a twin for the children. When we arrived there was no twin room and ended up paying an extra $400. The receptionis was rude and unhelpful. The hotel is small the rooms even smaller. There was little room for 2 people and if 1 person was getting ready the other had to stay in hte bathroom or sit on the bed. It was very noisy as you would expect near times square, however there is a Firestation nearby and sirens going all night. The only plus was the free breakfast of mainly bagels and coffee/tea the latter being available all day and night.
Would I stay again ? no.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l1verpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 470 in New York City
4,740 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
1,866 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#370 of 470 in New York City
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#336 of 470 in New York City
2,816 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 470 in New York City
19,852 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#243 of 470 in New York City
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Times Square

Address: 302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Family Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £90 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Times Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel in New York CityThe Econo Lodge® Times Square hotel is ideally located at 47th Street and 8th Avenue in the heart of New York City's Times Square. Imagine staying close to everything you want to do and see when visiting NYC! As our guest, you will have easy access to the city's most famous attractions, including the Broadway Theater District, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Central Park and esteemed Restaurant Row. You will be within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Madison Square Garden, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (Javits Center), Fifth Avenue shopping and more. Our location is unbeatable! Hotel features include free wireless high-speed Internet access and free continental breakfast. All of our guest rooms include flat-screen televisions with satellite programming including premium channels, safes, hair dryers and iPod docks. Take a look at our room types and choose the one that best suits your needs. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Times Square hotel in New York City provides superior accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel New York City
Econo Lodge New York City
Econolodge Times Square
New York City Econo Lodge
Econolodge New York City
Econo Lodge Time Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing