We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but....”
Review of Hotel Deauville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Deauville
Ranked #340 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I spent a complete week in that hotel. Price for a double bed was around 150$. Really good location. No breakfeast but dozens of places close to the hotel where you can have one. Good pizzeria close as well (Vezzo on Lexington). People from the hotel are nice. Rooms have good space even if the whole hotel looks a little bit old but it's clean. The only downside: when I did the reservation I asked for a king in the back of the hotel to avoid the noise of the street. When we arrived, we have just been informed that the room we had selected is not available anymore and that we will have a double bed room in the front of the hotel and that this is the only room left....This can become a nightmare for some people as you have noise the whole night. So yes, I would recommend this hotel but only if you can get a room far away from the street

Room Tip: Not close to the street
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Deauville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is my first time staying in a hotel in Manhattan. The place is near is all attractions. The hotel room is neat and comfortable thought bathroom is a little congested. The service is quick and all the staff are very courteous

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahesh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I give it 4 stars because great value, location and customer service. It's not a fancy hotel by any means but for a cheap one night stay in NYC it's perfect. It's walking distance to the Empire State Building and it's very easily accessible to the subway. There are plenty of places nearby to get a drink, a bite to eat or a coffee.

The staff was very attentive and polite, helped us find the hotel and parking. Our room was a small yet cozy with a queen sized bed and I was pleasantly surprised to find that the bed was extremely comfortable. I got a really good night of sleep and that's something that had no price tag.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank XavierPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was a bit trepidatious about staying here, but could not afford the normal prices. I was very pleased with the hotel! Very clean, amazingly helpful staff, very comfortable, charming old hotel. We gave up a couple of luxuries, but it made for a great vacation! We were able to afford the trip without counting our pennies because of an overpriced hotel! Do not hesitate to stay here!

Room Tip: We had a "shared bath" and stayed three nights. We only had to wait one time to use the b...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Climbingmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My first night here was spent in a room on the third floor next to a noisy generator outside. I went down in the middle of the night to see if they could switch it off but I was told the generator was actually on the adjacent building and there was nothing they could do about it.

So the next day I asked to switch rooms and was put on the ground floor...next to the hotel's old gated elevator! It makes a hell of a noise, particularly as you have to slam shut the gates of the elevator before going up and down.

Luckily I wasn't staying here too long but I was really disappointed by the noise level considering other reviewers said they found it quiet. I recommend asking for a room on a higher floor away from the elevator shaft if staying here.

Also, the Wi-Fi was really poor so if you need speedy internet access whilst in NYC this probably isn't the best hotel for you.

Despite this, the hotel is in a great location and extremely close to the subway too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 429jb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Dimiter T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
#370 of 468 in New York City
441 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,560 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 468 in New York City
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#316 of 468 in New York City
1,637 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#190 of 468 in New York City
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deauville

Address: 103 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £100 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Deauville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Midtown Manhattan steps to everything. #6 subway 1block, 3 min walk to Empire State building. 54 guest rooms, most with private bath (7 budget rooms bed share bath). Family owned and operated. We are the Best Value in the city and a real New Yorker hotel...not a cookie cutter! We love our guests and our city. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Hotel New York City
Deauville New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing