We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice service, safe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Deauville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Deauville
Ranked #317 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, nice service, safe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel, and had a great time for a reasonable price.
Close to all attractions, actually so close you can walk. The staff was very helpful and sweet at all times. They had air-condition, TV, hairdryer and even a small room to put our stuff.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToraCamillaEngAune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    305
    137
    38
    23
See reviews for
143
244
32
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I spent a complete week in that hotel. Price for a double bed was around 150$. Really good location. No breakfeast but dozens of places close to the hotel where you can have one. Good pizzeria close as well (Vezzo on Lexington). People from the hotel are nice. Rooms have good space even if the whole hotel looks a little bit old but it's clean. The only downside: when I did the reservation I asked for a king in the back of the hotel to avoid the noise of the street. When we arrived, we have just been informed that the room we had selected is not available anymore and that we will have a double bed room in the front of the hotel and that this is the only room left....This can become a nightmare for some people as you have noise the whole night. So yes, I would recommend this hotel but only if you can get a room far away from the street

Room Tip: Not close to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is my first time staying in a hotel in Manhattan. The place is near is all attractions. The hotel room is neat and comfortable thought bathroom is a little congested. The service is quick and all the staff are very courteous

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahesh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I give it 4 stars because great value, location and customer service. It's not a fancy hotel by any means but for a cheap one night stay in NYC it's perfect. It's walking distance to the Empire State Building and it's very easily accessible to the subway. There are plenty of places nearby to get a drink, a bite to eat or a coffee.

The staff was very attentive and polite, helped us find the hotel and parking. Our room was a small yet cozy with a queen sized bed and I was pleasantly surprised to find that the bed was extremely comfortable. I got a really good night of sleep and that's something that had no price tag.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank XavierPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was a bit trepidatious about staying here, but could not afford the normal prices. I was very pleased with the hotel! Very clean, amazingly helpful staff, very comfortable, charming old hotel. We gave up a couple of luxuries, but it made for a great vacation! We were able to afford the trip without counting our pennies because of an overpriced hotel! Do not hesitate to stay here!

Room Tip: We had a "shared bath" and stayed three nights. We only had to wait one time to use the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Climbingmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My first night here was spent in a room on the third floor next to a noisy generator outside. I went down in the middle of the night to see if they could switch it off but I was told the generator was actually on the adjacent building and there was nothing they could do about it.

So the next day I asked to switch rooms and was put on the ground floor...next to the hotel's old gated elevator! It makes a hell of a noise, particularly as you have to slam shut the gates of the elevator before going up and down.

Luckily I wasn't staying here too long but I was really disappointed by the noise level considering other reviewers said they found it quiet. I recommend asking for a room on a higher floor away from the elevator shaft if staying here.

Also, the Wi-Fi was really poor so if you need speedy internet access whilst in NYC this probably isn't the best hotel for you.

Despite this, the hotel is in a great location and extremely close to the subway too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 429jb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Midtown
Park Savoy
Park Savoy
#427 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deauville

Property: Hotel Deauville
Address: 103 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Deauville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Midtown Manhattan steps to everything. #6 subway 1block, 3 min walk to Empire State building. 54 guest rooms, most with private bath (7 budget rooms bed share bath). Family owned and operated. We are the Best Value in the city and a real New Yorker hotel...not a cookie cutter! We love our guests and our city. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Hotel New York City
Deauville New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing