We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap for Manhattan, but expect one star”
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #265 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Hotel is a really good location. Easy walk to flatiron, empire state, lots of bars and restaurants and subway for everything else.

The room was adequate. Bed was OK, clearly not new, but fine. Room was a god size and shared bathrooms were clean 99% of the time and only had to wait to shower once. We didn't have bed bugs which I was expecting as a give in so that was a good thing! T.he room was really hot and stuffy. We had to turn the fan on which was painfully loud, but i think this is just the nature of the age of the building.

We were delayed in our arrival with snow storms and trying to change our booking was a nightmare! we booked through Hotels.com and had called and emailed them, called the hotel direct and then stayed on the phone while hotels.com called to change the booking and they still hadn't updated it/didn't get it when we arrived three days later, so not a great start. Service never wowed us.

If you are looking for accommodation on Manhattan on a budget from what we could find it was the best you could get. If you are looking for a more comfortable US trip go to San Diego. When we were delayed in LA with the snow we rented a car and went there and it was really god value for money. For the same price we stayed at Hotel Del Coronado which was amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSW82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,354)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 17
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2011

It isn't fancy, but it is heaps better than a hostel. Clean place and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Rooms near the shared bath may be a bit nosier
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NebraskaJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

When I go to NY I am never in my room. I am all about location, clean and comfy sleep time. I want to spend my money on shopping, shows, food and cabs when needed. This place is awesome in all the above. I was very scared about a shared bathroom, but I never ran in to a problem. Everything was clean, quiet and I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krbsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We got very small room and it felt quite uncomfortable (with two big luggage cases taking a lot of space) but to be honest we only came to the hotel late in the evening and left early in the morning.

Bed was comfortable, lcd tv in the room and relatively reliable wireless internet are worth mentioning.

Main thing is location though. 5 min walk to Union Sq which is one of better subway stations in Manhattan (in terms of connections).
There is also Whole Foods shop on union sq which we can thoroughly recommend for breakfasts as it has breakfast salad bars and seating on first floor with views over union sq.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maciek83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Trip advisor is a must when sourcing hotels in unfamiliar cities, and this is how we stumbled across HOTEL 17. Located on east 17th street, it provides the perfect base for getting about NYC. The hotel itself is quite basic, with shared bathrooms and modest decor in the rooms. The bathrooms are always impeccably clean and I never had to wait considering the hotel is usually at maximum occupancy. The bedrooms are clean and tidy and when visiting NYC the idea is not to spend all your time in the hotel. The only downside to the bedrooms was the blankets provided on each bed were less than comfortable and were more like hospital bandage material than a cosy regular blanket. The location is definitely the key to the booking of this hotel.....all the main shopping streets are within walking distance and all the main attractions in NYC are a short cab fare away.....would recommend and definitely stay again when I return to NYC......might have to bring my own blanket though!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Stayed here with friends. Hotel is what you would expect for the price you pay: nothing outstanding, but everything basic is done well. It's very clean, even in the shared bathrooms you often couldn't tell that someone had been there before you. Rooms are simple, no bedbugs. Mattresses are not the greatest, but do the job. Good location; staff is not super friendly but I'm willing to overlook that for the good deal we got!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We booked Hotel 17 as it was one of the cheaper hotels in lower manhattan, it is also close to the large subway junction at Union Square and third Avenue buses which give great access to teh rest of the city. The room was reasobably sized for a couple but he Bed was slightly to samll for two people. The shared bathrooms were cleaned on a regular basis and were always clean and available when we needed them. The Hotel does not posses either a dining room or any comunial raeas , but if a bed and some where secure to leave your belongings. We hardly saw any other guests in our four day stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintmoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#347 of 468 in New York City
281 reviews
Gramercy Park
The Inn at Irving Place
The Inn at Irving Place
#371 of 468 in New York City
90 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#115 of 468 in New York City
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#358 of 468 in New York City
253 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#219 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £55 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing