We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room but I'd stay again!”
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #281 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I was checked in about 10pm by a rather tired and grumpy man behind the desk who I'd obviously inconvenienced. I was so excited about being in New York to let it bother me too much though. This small hotel has loads of character starting with the walk to my room down a narrow, dimly lit hallway with patterned carpet and wallpapered walls. The sort of hotel you'd expect to find Philip Marlowe residing at in the 1940s. My single room was the smallest hotel room I'd ever been in. My room contained a single bed (too soft), a sink, an old tv that sat on a retro dressing table. I remembered I'd requested a smoking room when I spotted an ashtray on the dressing table. There was no fridge but there was an ice machine in the hall so at least I could grab some cubes for my drinks. My suitcase could fit in the room if I wedged it tightly up against the wall. . A shared bathroom across the hall and was always in immaculate condition and not once did I have to wait to take a shower. There's no dining facilities at the hotel but plenty of places close-by to grab a bite. Location of this hotel was great for me, near Union Square station and away from the congested Times Square. I'd stay at Hotel 17again because - 1) the location and 2) I can't afford anywhere else!

Room Tip: Quiet location. Clean hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen_of_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

I would have liked to rate this hotel 3 1/2 stars, but I rounded up to 4 because of its location, cleanliness, price, and the friendly, helpful staff at the front desk. I can see why it gets such good reviews on TA.

I visited NY for 3 days during a very busy period, and I was looking for a room with a private bath with decent reviews for under $200. I couldn't find one, not even with Hotwire or Priceline. So I reluctantly chose Hotel 17 with a shared bath. I booked a single room through Expedia, whose description said the room would have a sink. I've stayed in B&B's and European hotels with shared baths before, and I can tolerate it if I have my own sink.

I checked into the room, and found it larger than I expected, very clean, with a comfortable bed. It appeared to be recently renovated. It was only after I was undressed and unpacked that I noticed there was no sink in the room. There were 4 shared baths for the 16 rooms on my floor, but only 2 of the baths had sinks. At that point I was too tired to complain, so I went to bed.

The next morning I requested to be moved to a room with a sink. I packed my bags and left for the day, and when I returned, I had been moved. I was very happy for the remainder of my stay. I never saw more than 2 of the 4 baths in use at once, and I always found the baths clean. They must be serviced several times per day.

The hotel is on a quiet residential street, but very close to shopping, restaurants, and subway.

My one complaint is the air conditioning. In both rooms I stayed in, there was a window-mounted AC right next to the head of the bed. It was very effective, but the noise might be an issue for you being so close to your head. I got used to the noise.

If you are willing to put up with the shared bath, and want a budget priced room, I would highly recommend Hotel 17. Just make sure you confirm your room has a sink!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MyCatsNameIsBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Nice hotel in middle of manhattan .. 2 miles each way to lower and midtown manhattan.. Small rooms but clean.. Even though bathrooms are shared I found always cleaned and prepared in my 4 days except once when someone had just used it.. Found good deal at orbitz for little over 100 bucks when I booked 2 months in advance for the memorial day weekend... Very good value for money in NY

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avidworldtraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

3 blocks to Union Square subways, plenty of nightlife to choose from. Get's a 4 star because room is small but it is cheap and clean. Bed is comfortable enough, room safe a plus, shared bathroom was almost always clean and available. Stayed 5 nights and never had a bad experience the whole stay; staff was fairly friendly...if you are looking for help they are there, just don't expect them to fawn over you, real New Yorkers don't fawn.

Room Tip: room 303 was clean, had a sink, window, a/c unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling4Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Hotel is a really good location. Easy walk to flatiron, empire state, lots of bars and restaurants and subway for everything else.

The room was adequate. Bed was OK, clearly not new, but fine. Room was a god size and shared bathrooms were clean 99% of the time and only had to wait to shower once. We didn't have bed bugs which I was expecting as a give in so that was a good thing! T.he room was really hot and stuffy. We had to turn the fan on which was painfully loud, but i think this is just the nature of the age of the building.

We were delayed in our arrival with snow storms and trying to change our booking was a nightmare! we booked through Hotels.com and had called and emailed them, called the hotel direct and then stayed on the phone while hotels.com called to change the booking and they still hadn't updated it/didn't get it when we arrived three days later, so not a great start. Service never wowed us.

If you are looking for accommodation on Manhattan on a budget from what we could find it was the best you could get. If you are looking for a more comfortable US trip go to San Diego. When we were delayed in LA with the snow we rented a car and went there and it was really god value for money. For the same price we stayed at Hotel Del Coronado which was amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSW82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

It isn't fancy, but it is heaps better than a hostel. Clean place and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Rooms near the shared bath may be a bit nosier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NebraskaJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

When I go to NY I am never in my room. I am all about location, clean and comfy sleep time. I want to spend my money on shopping, shows, food and cabs when needed. This place is awesome in all the above. I was very scared about a shared bathroom, but I never ran in to a problem. Everything was clean, quiet and I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krbsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#65 of 471 in New York City
2,174 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#371 of 471 in New York City
270 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#219 of 471 in New York City
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#118 of 471 in New York City
3,316 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Harlem
Saint Nicholas Inn
Saint Nicholas Inn
#380 of 471 in New York City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £59 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing