We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #268 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I've stayed at Hotel 17 a couple of times and both times been very happy with the rooms and service. The double room we had on our last trip, on the 6th floor, was a good size, clean with a good TV, coffee making facilities and an electronic safe. We went for the shared bathroom which was fine, never had to wait and always found them clean. The room also had a sink and they offered a cot for our one-year old (though we didn't use it as had our own travel cot).

The hotel is in a quiet and safe neighbourhood and is ideally placed just a few minutes walk from busy Union Square with all its transport links. Only around 15-20 mins walk from the Empire State Building so very central! You'll be hard pushed to get better value for money accomodation in NYC :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seabass101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    689
    234
    55
    59
See reviews for
139
379
344
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Having stayed here twice I'd recommend it. It central and great for sight seeing. Friendly staff, shared bathrooms not a problem, I didn't have to wait and they were always clean. I'd definitely stay here again. If you want a romantic get away I'd look elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreenJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The hotel was as advertised. The shared bathrooms were generally clean (depending on the previous user). There are four bathrooms on my floor, but only two of them had sinks. In response to another reviewer, I didn't have a lot of towels. In fact, I had a face cloth, hand towel, and a body towel that is large only by European standards. It wasn't large by American standards. On my first night, I inquired about how to control the heat in my room because it was too hot. In fact, the heat cannot be controlled on a per room basis. Instead, the heat is centrally controlled and is on a fixed schedule. The radiator in my room turned off at 11:30pm and turned on at about 6:30am. In between, I used the air conditioner to cool the room. On the brighter side, the heat allowed me to do laundry and everything dried easily. The staff was nice and polite. Noise from the bathrooms are noticeable. Wi-fi wasn't very reliable. I relied on my cell phone service instead.

Room Tip: The back of the building is best. Stay away from being directly in front of the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

So if you are looking for the Ritz, this is not for you. If you are looking for clean, unique, safe and cheap accommodation- this is it. The building is old but well maintained and charming, there is great woodwork everywhere. There rooms are basic- clean, small, and functional. You share baths, but i never had to wait for the bathroom.

Staff is very nice. Front desk is polite, unpretentious, friendly, and efficient. I asked a maintenance man if I could look at the view from the room he was working on, and he did me one better and took me to the roof and cheerfully pointed out all sorts of NY landmarks.

Also a note on bedbugs- I notice there are some older reviews on this site complaining of bedbugs- a problem that was epidemic in NYC hotels. Based on my expierence, Hotel 17 has conquered this problem- i saw not trace.

I really enjoyed my stay and will come back

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cadiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Me and my mom stayed at this property on October 5 for 3 nights. We expected very little considering the amazing price for a New York hotel. We walked in and i almost couldn't breathe i was so excited. It looked like something out an old school movie with the decor and tiny pull-shut elevator.
The front desk guy was very accomodating, giving us a 2 bed room when we had only booked for one.
The halls are twisty and very narrow, but you wont have trouble getting huge bags through. the whole hotel is done in this interesting dark brown varnish look that really makes you feel like you're in the middle of a different time.
The rooms were small but not clastrophobic at all.
it is the perfect jumping off place for New York as it is walking distance to everything but on a quiet street so there's no outside noise to bother you.
The only bad thing was having to share a bathroom. There was frequently someone in there and morning shower people will probably want to switch to night. There was a sink and plenty of towels in our room though so it worked out fine.
The Gramercy Cafe half a black up is awesome for any meal as the hotel doesn't have a restaurant. the Cafe serves the biggest salads I've ever seen.
I am a travel agent and I will be recommnding this hotel to all my clients travlling to New York and trying to stay within budget.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mantaray24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We were very happy with this hotel. It is a good value. It's located in a good neighborhood. The room was clean and spacious. The shared bathroom situation worked out just fine. The hotel is on a quiet street, which in NYC is a GOOD thing. The only complaint we had about the hotel is the Wi-Fi didn't work very well. The location halfway between Times Square and Greenwich was convienent. Two subway stations are close. 24th Street, close by, has plenty of places to eat.

Room Tip: Manhatten is an extremely easy city to get around in. You can easily walk, take the subway, ride a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jwillie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is a hotel that was originally designed for working class people who lived there permanently. You have to share a bathroom. Plus the decor is extremely dark and gloomy.
Otherwise it is a perfectly OK place to stay if you can stand a small room. Everything was very clean and the housekeeping was excellent. Seldom a wait for the elevator and no waits for the several, very tidy bathrooms. It's on a quiet, tree lined street near Union Square. I lived in NYC for twenty years and never head any mention of this hotel. It is probably the best bargain in Manhattan. I paid a low rate, lower than other hotels in Queens and New Jersey.
This is an especially good choice for young people who can ignore the depressing decor. Never found any place cheaper in NYC and certainly not with this level of cleanliness.

Room Tip: If you need to economize, this is THE place in New York. I was amazed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler561732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Property: Hotel 17
Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing