We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #271 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Bargain hotel for the able. Six steps up to tiny lobby. Bathrooms really bleached clean. Neighborhood felt safe to walk. Two blocks from bus and subway connections. Quiet. Victorian details could inspire a mystery writer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldlady5010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was a simple, clean and comfortable hotel, with a pleasant deco style. The area was enjoyable to stay in - a location where people live, and a lot is going on. Though the hotel had no eating facilities, we had excellent breakfasts at the Grammercy Cafe at the end of the road, and there was a good selection of local eateries.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cstotesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We reviewed several hotels before deciding to book Hotel 17. The price, compared to other hotels in NYC, is what makes this hotel worth staying at. When you first check in and ride the small but efficient elevator up to your floor and open your door to your room, you think the hotel is a crap shoot. However, after spending 6 nights, are attitudes changed by the time we left. The hotel offers a lot of character and charm. There is a funny smell to the hotel, the rooms are small, nothing is updated, sheets are paper thin and bed comforter is from the '80's but you really don't spend too much time in your room. The beds are actually really comfortable and the bathrooms, although are shared, were always clean and available for the most part. The internet was slow but like I said earlier, you don't spend much time in your room as New York has so much to see. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuraVida6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Hotel is very, very clean (minus a slight musty smell). We stayed at the Waldorf for the 2 nights before we stayed at Hotel 17, and I liked Hotel 17 way better!. Rooms are a decent size, location is perfect and staff very nice and efficient. Totally worth saving $200 a night. And Internet access was free--paid $20 a day at the Waldorf. :)

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I stayed in this hotel for five nights. Normally, I would not stay anywhere with a shared bathroom but NYC is too expensive not to. The hotel was full and still a bathroom was free whenever I needed it. The guests are mostly European travelers and friendly, once I was going to use the bathroom and a guest showed up with toiletries and a towel, I asked to go first and she was nice about it.

Yes, the rooms are small but not as small as they could be... I have stayed in London in rooms I am sure were closets at one point. I liked the decor, it is a bit mis-matched which I think adds to the character.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The neighborhood allows you to walk just about anywhere and I enjoyed that a great deal. I would stay here again and have recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabai_sabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The Hotel 17 is a classic Lower Manhattan dump, and it always has been. However, it used to be terrific place, for the price. I do mean FOR THE PRICE.
First off - the neighborhood is really choice. There's almost no place that could be better- Gramercy is a great location, bar none. It is residential, and there are no hotels to speak of- except two that are extremely expensive. This is why the 17 has upped the price so severely. So there is that. Of course, if the 17 is going to command these prices, keep in mind that all of Manhattan is very accessible- you don't need to pay these prices for a crap hotel in this area.

The 17 used to be such a great dump. Though not fancy, and with the bathrooms down the hall, all of this was clean, clean, clean. Now they don't bother, and the rooms are triple the price. The beds were always so uncomfortable that sleeping on the floor might be better for some- but who could argue, for the price and location?

Well, now you can. Although I have always liked the 17, I would not pay the current rate. For what they are charging, I would be fine in Brooklyn,or at other places in the NYC area.

It's still a good little place, I'm sure- if you want to pay those rates. This is an old hotel, and one that is known by artsy performance types as working for us. It doesn't any more. If you seriously want to pay $160 for the Hotel 17, you go right ahead. It isn't worth it, as a hotel- the neighborhood might be, but let me reiterate- it's Manhattan, you can get where you need to go, anyway.

If you get a great rate, worth it. It's a sort of charming place with a great vibe- the bathroom down the hall thing really works, the way they have it set up. If you're desperate for a room in the area and willing to pay the current asking price, then do it. If you know how to do better, don't.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldismyerster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed in a triple room (double and single bed) on the 7th floor for $160 night. The hotel was a very cool, funky old Victorian. It was completely clean. The beds were comfortable. We never had to wait for a bathroom. The floor space in the room was TIGHT. The street was very quiet - we never heard traffic noise. The Gramercy Cafe is the corner of 17th and 3rd - great place for a cheap breakfast! About five blocks from Union Square with lots of budget eating options.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMAndreaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#57 of 469 in New York City
2,156 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 469 in New York City
1,582 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#133 of 469 in New York City
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#163 of 469 in New York City
1,511 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#364 of 469 in New York City
266 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £44 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing