We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - I'll be back”
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #266 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is the first time I've stayed here having previously stayed at their sister hotel, Hotel 31. The hotels have very similar look and feel. There's free wifi that's reasonably fast, very clean rooms and equally clean shared bathrooms that are never further away than a couple doors down the corridor. It's a reasonably central location and a good bus service that takes you up to the UN on 1st Avenue in about 20 mins. It's got a very old fashioned feel but I think that just adds to the character. My personal highlight is an elevator/lift that seems to 'sing' to you as its approaching with the radio playing Lady Gaga or Michael Jackson, which always makes me chuckle.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

With the white stone façade, deep registration desk, vintage elevator, and dark wood paneling, the hotel has a cozy old-fashioned vibe. The rooms aren't large but they are nicely appointed. There’s no surcharge for Wi-Fi and the signal’s decent. The mattress passed our bedbug inspection, which we’re careful to perform everywhere but especially in NYC. There’s a sink in the room and bathroom down the hall. The bathroom on our floor seemed clean (nothing smelled) and its only sign of use was hair in the drain (guest discourtesy). The location—17th Street between 2nd and 3rd Avenues—is terrific: lots of restaurants, very close to the L line (at 3rd and 14th), and safe. We had just arrived from Paris, so it was a real plus that we could reach the hotel from JFK by a simple combination of E and L trains. 17th Street is quiet for NYC, so once you drift off you should be able to stay asleep. If there are two of you and you mostly want to sleep, ask for twin beds as the queen (if it’s like ours) may have a center dip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guillaume51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I was extremely pleased with this hotel. The location is fantastic. Close to Union Square, shopping, & restaurants. Three different lines run through the Union Square Subway station, connecting you to all parts of the city, and a lot of major sites are just a few stops away. I found the hotel itself rather charming. My single room was small (but not the smallest I've stayed in!) and well appointed with a sink, towels, shampoo/soap, TV. I had no issues with the free WiFi during my stay. If the noise of air conditioners bothers you, bring ear plugs. I never travel without them - i always anticipate a little bit of noise. Cleanliness is usually a key factor for me when booking a hostel or hotel and Hotel 17 more than met my expectations. Yes the bathrooms are shared, but they are regularly attended to. I only had to wait once for a shower, and it wasn't for more than 5 minutes. If you're used to 5 star amenities, this hotel probably isn't for you. But if you want a clean, quiet, safe hotel, then this one is worth considering. For backpackers used to hostels, who might want to take things up a notch, this will feel like luxury. For a solo traveler, the price is hard to beat in a place like NYC (not sure if it's the same for couples or small groups), where your choices are limited outside of single rooms in hostels, which quite frankly, aren't much cheaper. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jetsuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Exasperated, hostile, and angry welcome at the front desk by infamous John, poster guy for the "I-hate-my-job" type. Could not find my reservation, and seem to doubt one was ever made, in spite of my showing the confirmation page on my phone.

Then, with the vintage decor, it's like stepping into an old film-noir. But the whole thing gets old very, very fast. Corridors on 3rd floor reeked of cigarette smoke at one end, and cat urine at the other. Ventilation's only purpose was to produce the noise of a small plane at take-off. Room and shared bathroom were clean. No bugs. Window, which could not be opened for fresh air, offered glorious view on a brick wall four feet away.

Best avoided.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThoughtfulGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this Hotel. On arriving, it was a tall building and looked clean. I was checked in very quickly. I missed the elevator because it doesn't ring or open when it's on your floor, as it is a very old one. This happened a few more times during my stay. My room was cosy and plesant, with a TV that I never turned on. It had AC and provided loads of soaps and gels, as well as cups. There were hangers and drawers to put all your stuff for those who like to unpack. I have never booked into hotel which had a shared shower before, but it was ok as the floor had 2 bathrooms, although one of them did not have a sink and the water did not heat up. There were about 10 rooms on that floor. Breakfast is not provided and it's not a problem as there are so many cafés and fast food outlets around. It is located 5min away from Union Square Park (and station), which made travelling on the subway easier. At 130$ a night, it isn't really cheap but it's the cheapest I found in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FazzersN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Excellent location, you can have good restaurant around and Subway to go anywhere and nice place to, the service was the good and basic, hotel doesn't have regular facilities like other big hotel but is on perfect location for exploring!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Clean, quiet (!), friendly & helpful staff, absolutely perfect location and a very reasonable rate. Don't be put off by the shared bathroom, never had to wait and always really clean. Five minute stroll to bustling Union Square, East Village... Awesome neighborhood. Great diner for breakfast just across the street. The only place I want to stay at in NYC without going broke!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#57 of 469 in New York City
2,154 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 469 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#130 of 469 in New York City
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#162 of 469 in New York City
1,509 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#364 of 469 in New York City
266 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £44 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing