We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price, with some quirks”
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #261 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for the price, with some quirks”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend back in March, but I forgot to leave my review. If you want to stay in a very nice part of NYC with a price that doesn't break the bank, here is your place.

I leave 4 stars only (and not 5) because the bed was a bit too rigid for my taste, and the radiator was pumping out so much heat that we had to run the A/C in March. The bathroom/shower was shared, but I never came across another person occupying it. It was nice that there at least was a sink in the bedroom to wash up a bit.

The decor in this place was really beautiful, as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolhandjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    689
    234
    55
    59
See reviews for
139
380
345
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My sister and I stayed here over the weekend from Oct. 11-13th. I wasn't to weary when I booked because of all the good reviews and I wasn't at all surprised when I got there. This place is fantastic for simple travelers such as myself. All I need is decently nice people and Cleanliness, Hotel 17 had both. We got to New York around 11 and couldn't check in until 3 so they held our bags while we went to do what we had planned for the day. The room was a double and pretty small but I didn't mind at all.The sink in the room was a big help. We were in 510 and could see a sliver of the Empire State Building. Now to the shared bathroom I'm not familiar with this and was the tiniest bit nervous about it but I never had a problem. The bathroom was extremely clean and I never had to wait to take a shower or use it. The staff was great too, front desk helpful and housekeepers were super friendly. Don't expect anything fancy its just a really clean, comfortable no frills place. We had a wicked good weekend and I can see this place becoming my go to hotel for NYC trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N-griff89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Booked this for work travel. Room 521 was small but very clean, the bathrooms are about as clean as at your local gym. Service was good. I called down because I was cold and because the building's radiator heat doesn't cut on until it's a certain temperature outside, they quickly brought up extra blankets and a space heater. Very, very good location. The bed is extremely firm.

Room Tip: If the bathrooms on your wing or floor are full, just go to another floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flixbix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in September for just over £100 per night (taxes inc).

We had a very small room with a shared bathroom across the landing.

We weren't really bothered about the size of the room as we spent most of our time out and about in New York and it was really just a place to sleep.

The hotel is a good location if you want to walk midtown and downtown as it is about equidistant between them.

You can easily walk up to Central Park or down to Battery Park from here.

If you're young / single / couple that doesnt mind where you lay your head at the end of the day, and you just want somewhere central and cheap, this is great.

If you are a family or want some space and privacy, this is probably not for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve999L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We loved the atmosphere! Ok, the bathrooms are just opposite your room, but it's a short way, and they were always kept very clean. The location is great, not far from the Village, nor the Alphabets, subway station close enough, many restaurants and breakfast cafés very close. We would stay there any time again.
Super Lage, gute Zimmer, etwas altmodische Atmosphäre, aber sauber und freundlich. Badezimmer gleich gegenüber Zimmer, aber immer sehr sauber. Wir werden wieder dort übernachten

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernetta55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were looking for something less less expensive with a location in lower Manhattan and Hotel 17 definitely met our criteria. Obvious issue for a lot of American travelers is that the bathrooms are down the hall rather than "en suite" but if you can handle that, this is definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Worked well for a friend and I seeking a twin room for a reasonable price in a good location in New York but not somewhere to impress your better half with.

Had no issues with the shared bathrooms which were clean and empty every time I came to use them.

Rooms not cleaned if not requested but this was made clear on checking in and suited us fine.

If you're working to a budget then this place is fine if not then your own bathroom has to be better doesn't it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VICCHESTNUTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
1,544 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#364 of 467 in New York City
245 reviews
Gramercy Park
The Inn at Irving Place
The Inn at Irving Place
#377 of 467 in New York City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#120 of 467 in New York City
1,653 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#304 of 467 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#345 of 467 in New York City
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Property: Hotel 17
Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing