We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #258 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Portland, ME
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This place is a great value for Manhatten. The shared bathrooms were always clean, and always available. (I one time only had about a three minute wait, and that was because I needed the shower.) The rooms are small, but comfortable enough, especially if you're really only looking for a place to sleep.

It's only a few blocks away from the Union Square subway stop, which has a number of lines so you can link up to pretty much anywhere easily. There was also a good variety of not too expensive food options nearby. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    690
    235
    55
    59
See reviews for
140
380
346
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Hotel 17 is a good hotel for the money. Rooms are small and there is a shared bathroom, but you are in NYC. You only need to hotel for sleeping. Slow elevator, so if you are in a hurry, expect to clime the stairs. Also, it is not wheelchair friendly with about 6 steps to get to the front door. The shared bathroom (about one bathroom for 2 sleeping rooms) is kept clean and easily accessable. Never had to wait for a bathroom. There are sinks in each sleeping room for washing up, brushing teeth, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Saltcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Quirky funky hotel. Not big rooms but then again, hotel rooms of this age in NYC are small. It reminded me a little of staying on a ship. Lots of dark wood, bedrooms like cabins and ship galley like corridors. Delightful. I had a single room (408), clean comfortable and quiet- as were the nearby bathrooms. The shower was so powerful it would have knocked you into the next century! On arrival I found the room included hair dryer, free ( good quality) toiletries, towels, TV and good free wifi and plenty of storage space in 2 sets of drawers and a closet style hanging space. Staff were efficient and friendly- always a smile and a greeting
The location was fantastic- a hop, skip and a jump from Union Square subway- where most/ all trains converge so you can get anywhere in New York very quickly and with minimum of fuss. In the evenings there were lots of different kinds of eateries to suit every pocket very close at hand. Mention must be made of both Mumbles and Gramercy Cafe at the end of the street. Tasty and cheap food- great for breakfast before you set off on your day's travels. Eating and drinking in this area will save you a fortune compared with Midtown prices. I breakfasted every morning and then had my evening meal in the area and saved myself a fortune- to spend on helicopter rides and shopping! I can't recommend this Hotel highly enough for all types of traveller.

Room Tip: I was very happy in single room 408. Surrounding twin and double rooms would have also been quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siobhan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The location is great for people who want to have easy access to the the night life and restaurants of gramercy, the lower east side, greenwich village etc. in addition to the normal NY sights. The rooms are a bit outdated but are comfortable enough, and the staff was friendly.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank olsOYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in January. The location is great (close to union square) and the shared bathrooms were always clean. I really liked the old fashioned interior. We asked for a room with two separate beds and we had plenty of space.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjocerise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a single room with a shared Bathroom. Room was small but very clean and comfortable which is all you need. There was 2 shared bathrooms on my corridor and a few more on the other side. They were always very clean and I never had to wait.
Good quality free wifi in room with tv and safe. Plus there were plugs by the bed.
My only criticism is that they could invest in some curtains as the blinds let some light through but it wasn't a big deal.
All in all, a great value hotel and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank petenuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Found this reasonably priced NYC hotel for a last minute trip last summer. It was located in a convenient, safe, residential location. I was traveling with my mom and she ABSOLUTELY fell in love with the place, but especially the location as we were conveniently located to all the sites we wanted see and to the subway and bus stops that took us EVERYWHERE. WHEN, I go back to NY, I will definitely look to stay here. You do have a shared bathroom, but there were 2 on our end of the floor and the whole week we were there we only had to wait once to shower, other than that it's perfect if your idea of being in NY is to just use the hotel room to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amordesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#349 of 467 in New York City
279 reviews
Gramercy Park
The Inn at Irving Place
The Inn at Irving Place
#375 of 467 in New York City
90 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#116 of 467 in New York City
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 467 in New York City
1,550 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#138 of 467 in New York City
1,485 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#95 of 467 in New York City
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Property: Hotel 17
Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing