We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel not a hotel”
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #275 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I thought I was booking a hotel for our party of 3. My daughter described it as a youth hostel. Cramped, tiny beds, no bathroom (down the hall, you share it with the other rooms on the floor). Wait in line in the morning for a shower, which by the way doesn't drain. Your room has a sink, but the bathroom doesn't. No lobby, just a cramped reception. In retrospect, the low nightly rate should have been a tip-off . . . this City just gets more exorbitant all the time.

Room Tip: If you're over 18, find a real hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lalhasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Igor I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed there with my mother for one week. We came to the hotel late because the plane had lost our baggage so we were very tired and just wanted some sleep, but the man in the reception was rude, drunk and high, and he gave as a room that was already taken... Then he gave us a single room... Then he gave us a room on in the smoking area, but we had payed for a non-smoking room... The only good with this hotel is the location and the help (the housekeeping and the errand boy) NEVER staying there AGAIN!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nilindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed here to help move an NYU student; a brief visit where proximity to E. 14th St. was key. There are not many hotels in this area. This one is in a nice quiet location. I was very pleasantly surprised. The hall decor is a dark well aged style, but most importantly - well maintained. The place is clean, rooms well equipped. Most of the rooms (all?) are in the older European tradition of common shared hallway bathroom. This factor, the cost of fully renovating the building in plumbing - floor plan is what keeps the tariff in the budget category. Otherwise, it is very well run, well maintained, and well located for an area which is becoming increasingly chic (although it was never 'down').

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vaudeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It is quite a good hotel and very affordable. Stayed here for a week last month, and i was quite impressed. Good food, polite staffs, comfortable beds, and clean bathrooms. The price was really cheap and affordable. I might visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlvesLionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a central , fascinating hotel downtown NW , prices are reasonable , rooms sometimes small but if you are asking for upper floors accommodation is not bad. It is closed to the Subway and to many restaurants , cafes and shops. Woody Allen made a movie here, so you could immagine this is not a common place

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefano_pittaluga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Within a short taxi ride to the theaters and the 9/11 memorial, this hotel is perfect for singles, couples, and families with teenagers. This is an old European style hotel with shared bathrooms and sinks and hair dryers in each room. Twin beds are very comfortable. My mother and I spent one night here in September 2013. We saw very few people--it was as though we had the floor to ourselves. Getting a taxi was very easy even for first timers. A beautiful garden park nearby is worth the short walk. Make sure to have your camera ready. You'll want to take pictures of this hotel and it's surroundings from every angle.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank AdmiralBalzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#57 of 469 in New York City
2,154 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 469 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#132 of 469 in New York City
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#162 of 469 in New York City
1,509 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#364 of 469 in New York City
266 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £44 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing