We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel
Ranked #138 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

For $220, with continental breakfast included, this hotel represents good value for the area. The decor is a bit dated, but has character, and rooms are larger than some new ones in NY. It is clean, a little too warm perhaps, and the beds are comfy. Windows can be opened, though on the park side let in quite a bit of noise. Apart from the location, near a useful subway, and walkable distance to both West and East villages, Soho, and Union Square, the other great feature of this hotel is the friendly helpful Staff. We will definitely stay here again. Before Christmas, we enjoyed the festive looking exterior, and the lovely lit tree and Christmas activities in the park.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wetwoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Yes, the rooms are small. Yes, you have to run the AC fan to drown out the constant roar of water in the old pipes. But you are not in New York to sleep or lounge around your room. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the staff is friendly and helpful, the free breakfast is edible. And you are in the middle of the greatest neighbrohood in NYC. Be sure to eat at Amelie's, down the street.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at The Washington Square Hotel for 9 nights from 7th December.
The staff at this place are wonderful. Reggie at the front desk was great. Told us about a nice wine bar to visit at 11pm when we arrived.
Then there is Ronnie the doorman. He is amazing. There is nothing this man doesn't know. Ask him anything about food, transport or directions . He is terrific.
Rooms are fine and clean. Breakfast is ok.
The location of the hotel is fantastic. Close to subway and walking distance to many shops and restaurants.
Great hotel.

Room Tip: Stay up a few levels. Noisy if near lobby or street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solly747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for a week in early December and could not fault this hotel. The location is ideal for those who want to stay out of the hustle and bustle of the Times Square area yet still be central enough to access all the major attractions. There is a subway right around the corner and lots of good restaurants and cafes within walking distance.

The hotel was clean throughout and all of the team were friendly and helpful, the continental breakfast was a great start to our day and the free wifi was quick and easy to access. The superior twin room (2 single beds) was ideal for our budget, good shower pressure, plenty towels and the robes were a nice touch.

I would definitely choose this hotel again when returning to NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed for 3 days in September before we cruised our of NYC to Canada. We wanted something a bit different, not Manhattan, for this our third trip to NYC and we loved the art deco decor and ambiance. Rooms are on the small side and a little more sympathy and help from the staff would have been appreciated when BA managed to lose my suitcase for the best part of our stay would have been appreciated, but hey this is New York - who expects sympathy?!! Great location for The Village and with the subway station only at the top of the street, easy to get around. We got a good deal booking and paying in advance - otherwise would have been pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne-and-Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Have stayed several times now as it is near the West Village. the rooms are adequate and larger than many other Manhattan hotels. The breakfast is a basic continental breakfast, but do here is a reasonably priced breakfast menu. A new touch is a Keurig in the room with an assortment of teas and coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The service was exceptional. The staff bent over backwards to insure that we had anything and everything we needed. The room was immaculate, comfortable and made for a great night's sleep. We had come up to NYC to get married and stayed 11 nights here. Not only did they make us feel at home, but there was a note waiting for us when we entered the room the first time congratulating us and wishing us the best from the hotel staff. Top notch room, service, etc. I would GLADLY recommend this place to any and all of my friends and family!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#118 of 473 in New York City
633 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#90 of 473 in New York City
1,073 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#106 of 473 in New York City
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 473 in New York City
732 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#239 of 473 in New York City
731 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#137 of 473 in New York City
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
#134 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £152 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing