We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Ranked #296 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel room was small but then it was offered at a very competitive rate; so no complaints The hotel is clean, as are the rooms. The staff are very welcoming and pleasant, notably reception and the doormen. Well worth staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear John W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're delighted you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    353
    139
    97
    51
See reviews for
154
337
133
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great location, one block south of central park. Bus and subway access right across the street. NIce rooms. The queen size bed room was a little small and only one chair to sit on. Used bed to sit most of the time. Bed was comfortable for sleeping. Tub/shower a little cramped for me. Staff was very nice and Peter the door man was great. I would avoid the restaurant adjoining the Hotel, overpriced. Nice restaurant/bar next to the hotel called the Coliseum. Good food and service reasonably priced drinks for the area.I would recommend 6 Columbus Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Monty765,

Thank you for your kind review, we'll be sure to pass on your comments to the staff. We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and found the hotel and staff very welcoming. Rooms well appointed, clean and bright. The hotel is in a great location and the subway is just across the road. Will return the next time I'm in NYC

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Graeme H

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear you had a great time at 6 Columbus. See you next time.

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel has a very dark, cold feel to it. We were "upgraded" to a King room but even then we got a room with a view of an air duct. The room was small, the carpet was worn, and the furnishings looked really outdated and very basic. That being said, the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. I ended up sleeping very well. If you're visiting NY and just want a place to drop your stuff and will really only be sleeping there, this place would be ok. It's conveniently located. But if you like a pretty hotel with some reasonable amenities, this hotel is probably not for you.

Room Tip: Tell them you would like a room on a floor higher than the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLE5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear CLE5605

We appreciate your feedback. I took the liberty to make notes in your guest profile that you prefer larger rooms that have better views. We definitely have these room categories available and i would be delighted to show you a few different rooms on your next visit.
I am glad to hear that you had a good night sleep!

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I go to NYC frequently for both work and fun. I love staying in proximity of Columbus Circle, because it is so convenient to Central Park, shopping on 5th, and dining/entertainment on the western half of the city (HK, Chelsea, SOHO). It is a very convenient location.

This was my first time staying at 6 Columbus. I was impressed. I only stayed one night, so I was not able to use all of the amenities of the hotel. Coffee shops, drug stores, liquor stores, are all within a one block walk.

Vibe: This hotel has a great look. I would not considerate it luxurious, but it is hip and efficient. It is small, and in the perfect location. The location of the hotel makes it. This is NOT a family-oriented hotel.

Service: I walked into the hotel in the morning from a terrible flight into LGA. The front desk upgraded my room, and found me an available room for immediate check in. When I called for ice, I received a knock on my door within 5-minutes. The front desk/concierge team knows the area well, and is very helpful with recommendations. Security is excellent, and polite - there are not 200 partiers making a scene trying to get to the bar. The entire staff was wonderful.

Room: Small, modern, and efficient - think a large cruise ship room. The room was larger than other hotels in the neighborhood. I was in a Queen. Fantastic selection of in-room snacks/drinks. Wonderful bedding, bath products, and bath hardware. The shower was amazing. Heat and water were perfect (January stay). No view, but I was not concerned with that. The hotel has a roof-top deck/bar. Immaculately clean room. High style.

Common areas: The hotel is showing a bit of age, but it is not disconcerting. Elevators were fast, which is rare in this neighborhood. Some wall paper is tattered, grout dirty, paint scraped, etc. Most travelers would not notice it.

Summary: I enjoyed staying at 6 Columbus, and look forward to staying here again. I would book this hotel for a one or two night stay, but not if I had a full week of meetings. The staff is superb and the rooms are in great condition. Many modern hotels in NY have been "Rock Starred Out." My room was not, and in perfect condition. I enjoyed my stay. Thank you 6 Columbus!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Visiting20001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Visiting20001,

Thank you for the kind and thoughtful review! We hope to see you again soon, and if you can make it work for a little longer stay than just one night.

For that next stay please feel free to reach out to me directly and I will be more than glad to assist you with the booking.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

No kettle, tea or coffee to fight the 10'F cold spell. Room temperature stayed at under 60F and could not respond to higher setting. Shower drain got blocked the third night. Had to pack and move to another (even smaller) room the night before next day check out.
First room faced a brick wall. Second room faced another wall with big pipes.
Rooms tiny. No space to open luggage. Narrow gap between wall and bed becomes hazardous because of a protruding drawer handle under the bed hidden under the duvet (see photo). My leg was cut each time I walk pass it.
No wi-fi in room. Even our own 3G connection went slow in room.
Could have rated lower if not for the good location, friendly porter and cleanliness of the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bencon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear bencon,

Thank you for the kind review, especially, in spite of all the issues you had during your stay. Obviously, this is not our expectation for our guests to suffer through these issues and nor do we think it is the norm.

Please reach out to me directly during a future stay and I will ensure that you get to truly enjoy the hotel for all it is!

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked last minute and got a great deal. Night away from kids in the city - room was small, but very sufficient. Like the added touch of radiant heat in bathroom floors. Bathroom otherwise was roomy and well appointed.

The bed was firm with great quality sheets and comforter -- all cotton. Good widescreen TV.

Didn't take advantage of it, but was happy to see a Blue Ribbon Sushi restaurant in the lobby. Awesome sushi!

Perfect hotel for short NYC stay with excellent access to all midtown.

Car valet overnight was convenient and $45. They were happy to hold both our bags and car after checkout.

Room Tip: Back of hotel will likely be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Adamsafe,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you during your next mini-vacation!

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#383 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,698 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,567 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Midtown
Da Vinci Hotel
Da Vinci Hotel
#354 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Property: 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Address: 308 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#249 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown chic comes to bustling Midtown Manhattan at 6 Columbus. Providing a sophisticated retro escape, the hotel's soothing color palette provides a feeling of tranquility. Teak and chrome furnishings compose a look inspired by the 1960's modernist decor with a 21st century sensibility, as imagined by designer Steven Scarloff. Steps from Columbus Circle and Central Park, the eighty eight room hotel includes sixteen stunning suites. Artwork by Guy Bourdin adorns the walls of all guestrooms. With uniforms designed by Theory, 6 Columbus drops downtown edge into the center of uptown Manhattan. Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar and Grill, located off the lobby, serves Japanese cuisine and classic grill favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests and members can enjoy access to Above 6, an exclusive indoor/outdoor rooftop lounge, overlooking Central Park. 6 Columbus is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Columbus Hotel
6 Columbus New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing