We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good things in small packages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Ranked #303 of 466 Hotels in New York City
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good things in small packages”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I was under-awed by the size of our room 220 sq ft - an upgrade because it was my birthday. The view was - Well there was no view. BUT the bed, linens and towels were top notch. The pillows - perfect. Bathroom floor heated and robes supplied. maid service excellent and lobby staff helpful with directions. Our cable did not work the 1st 2 nights so we got free wifi and movies. NY Times supplied when requested. Great location. Whole Foods and subway across the street. We were happy with the hotel once we got over the size of the room and the view was not all that important....

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sixtydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
sixtydeb,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad that you were able to get settled in and enjoy you birthday weekend with us. We do offer a myriad of room types to accommodate each guest's needs. For your next trip to New York, please reach out to me directly and I will be glad to assist you with the reservation and finding the perfect room for the next stay.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    371
    149
    105
    53
See reviews for
165
354
142
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coram, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

When arriving in the room, everything looked ok. That's when disaster struck. Rude customer service and inept hotel staff. I had an issue with the toilet not refilling. The manager came and looked at it, did nothing, and said it was fine. This required an additional trip to the customer service desk where my room was changed, which should have happened the first time. The changed room was smaller, perhaps in retaliation? Terrible hotel, do not recommend.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank bwells46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
bwells46,

I am dreadfully sorry to read this review as I don't believe it reflects our typical guest experience, and definitely does not reflect the tremendous work my guest services team is known for. As such, for your next trip to New York please reach out to me directly and I will be more than glad to assist you with the reservation. I promise we won't disappoint a second time around.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Two nights I stayed in a small studio which was perfect for one person. I stayed an additional two nights upgrading to their large studio with a view of Central Park and Columbus Circle. the rooms were very quiet and the small studio had a heated bathroom floor that was appreciated. The beds in both rooms were very comfortable. This cozy hotel is directly across west 58th Street from the Columbus Circle Mall. Really well situated.

Room Tip: The large studio had a terrace and is comfortable to spend time in. The smaller room didn't not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaColonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
MyCinemaAccess,

We are delighted to read you enjoyed both your rooms with us and the location. The large studio you occupied was our Studio King and we like to believe is the perfect accommodation to settle with a partner - between the balcony, extra floor space and separate bathtub/shower combination its a great retreat to escape to after exploring New York.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Finally getting round to writing up some previous trips - stayed at 6 Columbus for a few nights during last visit to North America, a couple of years back (September 2011).

The plus points: friendly, helpful staff (good restaurant and nightlife recommendations, and help with directions/tickets); the streetside bar is buzzing and Above 6 is a worthy addition to the NYC roottop bar trend; great sushi in the inhouse restaurant (which is open late); brilliant location, effectively on SW corner of Central Park.

The bad stuff: got to the hotel to be told that the room reserved wouldn't be available until the following day, as someone had decided to extend their stay and subsequently got stuck in a room not much bigger than a broom cupboard. I'm not sure that giving away a reserved room to someone else on the fly is accepted practice, but it didn't seem right. Got upgraded for the remainder of the stay to compensate - very good corner suite - but disingenuous first impression already left. Also got charged for mini-bar purchases which didn't happen, no response at all to multiple emails to the hotel and only refunded when email sent to the chief exec of the company (not a massive issue, more the principle of it). I note the 6 Columbus has changed hands since 2011, so hope these minor points have fallen away since then.

On balance, would give 6 Columbus another go on returning to Manhattan.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel quieter; pay more for larger suite and corner view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solentblue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Ben W,

Thank you for sharing your experience, we are delighted you were able to enjoy your stay. I am sorry that we were not able to accommodate you in the original room you booked - but it seems like it worked out for the better in the long run! We hope to see you again soon, as it seems like its been too long already.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel room was small but then it was offered at a very competitive rate; so no complaints The hotel is clean, as are the rooms. The staff are very welcoming and pleasant, notably reception and the doormen. Well worth staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear John W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're delighted you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great location, one block south of central park. Bus and subway access right across the street. NIce rooms. The queen size bed room was a little small and only one chair to sit on. Used bed to sit most of the time. Bed was comfortable for sleeping. Tub/shower a little cramped for me. Staff was very nice and Peter the door man was great. I would avoid the restaurant adjoining the Hotel, overpriced. Nice restaurant/bar next to the hotel called the Coliseum. Good food and service reasonably priced drinks for the area.I would recommend 6 Columbus Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Monty765,

Thank you for your kind review, we'll be sure to pass on your comments to the staff. We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and found the hotel and staff very welcoming. Rooms well appointed, clean and bright. The hotel is in a great location and the subway is just across the road. Will return the next time I'm in NYC

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Graeme H

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear you had a great time at 6 Columbus. See you next time.

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 466 in New York City
6,221 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#75 of 466 in New York City
1,804 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#262 of 466 in New York City
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 466 in New York City
1,450 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#248 of 466 in New York City
1,743 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#354 of 466 in New York City
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Property: 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Address: 308 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#189 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown chic comes to bustling Midtown Manhattan at 6 Columbus. Providing a sophisticated retro escape, the hotel's soothing color palette provides a feeling of tranquility. Teak and chrome furnishings compose a look inspired by the 1960's modernist decor with a 21st century sensibility, as imagined by designer Steven Scarloff. Steps from Columbus Circle and Central Park, the eighty eight room hotel includes sixteen stunning suites. Artwork by Guy Bourdin adorns the walls of all guestrooms. With uniforms designed by Theory, 6 Columbus drops downtown edge into the center of uptown Manhattan. Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar and Grill, located off the lobby, serves Japanese cuisine and classic grill favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests and members can enjoy access to Above 6, an exclusive indoor/outdoor rooftop lounge, overlooking Central Park. 6 Columbus is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Columbus Hotel
6 Columbus New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing