We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort at reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #231 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Belleclaire bucks the trend of over-priced NYC hotels. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and upgraded. The front desk staff is well trained. Computer room is modern and well situated. The subway is two blocks from the front door. Times Square is 15 minutes away. All in all, a find in Upper Manhattan.

Room Tip: Make reservations early and ask for the Columbia University rate.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Daniel T,

Thank you for sharing the positive review! As you kindly mentioned, the exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West Side. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,685)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belleclaire
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,967 - 1,973 of 3,685 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Good clean hotel, rooms on the smaller size so not much room to move around. Next to the subway station (2 stations closeby - 79th St and the 72nd St, lines 1-3) so going downtown takes about 25-30 mins. If you want to to be close to the main centre (i.e. Times Square, Soho, East Village etc) you are better off staying closer to downtown as the trains (with the transfer do take a bit of time to get to these main attractions). It takes longer to get to Brooklyn so if you plan on spending a bit of time in Brooklyn, you are better off staying at the lower Manhattan part.

The hotel is walking distance to the Central Park and Natural History Museum. LGA airport about 30 mins away (can ride is about $40 with tips). ShakShack, CoffeeBean and other restaurants nearby (very good place to grab a nice breakfast), as well as fresh fruit and veg market shop and also some good clothes stores very closeby. No breakfast restaurant in the hotel - they do have CoffeBean cafe downstairs at the lobby so you can grab tea/coffee and breakfast.

My only complaints are:
- The AC was very noisy and didn't really work so the room was very hot during the nights
-The room is quite small and the toiletries they provided is very limiting (i.e. no cotton buds, etc)
- Bit pricey for the location (would have been happy to pay the same price if it had been a bit closer to downtown)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thusha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Thusha4,

Thank you for spending the time telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire. We are pleased with your comments regarding our wonderful location and our cleanliness. I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement and these will certainly be addressed and corrected. We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back soon. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Belleclaire from 7/28-7/30. We were seeking an affordable yet comfortable hotel to use as a home base for 3 days of city exploration. The Belleclaire may very well have been the perfect choice. Located on the west side with easy subway access we were surprised at just how roomy the room was for just under $200/night. I don't know the measurements but we had plenty of space to move around and store our luggage as well as other bags. The bed was comfortable, the safe was convenient (and laptop friendly), the imitation hardwood floor was an unusual and nice touch and the bathroom had room to move as well. The only complaint is that what at first appeared to be aging grout throughout the bathroom proved to be mildew which could have easily been removed had housekeeping been paying attention. I didn't really pickup on this till day 3 and the wife never noticed so for us, it was a non-issue.
A word about parking if you drive into the city...Parking with the hotel is expensive (over $50/day). However, the hotel has an agreement with the Hertz garage 1 block away that can save you more than half of this cost. But, you cannot reserve this parking so you may want to contact Hertz ahead of time to insure availability....they were full the first of our 3 nights.
The staff was very pleasant and the concierge was extremely helpful (I want to say his name was Francisco but if I'm wrong I apologize). We even got a great dinner suggestion from the doorman on an evening that the concierge was off duty (Ocean Grill). This is an older building but some of it's charm is derivative of this fact. Air conditioning is not central so it may vary from room to room but our room was very comfortable plus the a/c helped drown out some of the city noise. We don't frequent the city but the Belleclaire will definitely be in our radar when we return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear BSherm,

We are thrilled with your comments regarding our prime location, our service, the comfort, and our Hotel value.

As you kindly mentioned, we are situated in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

What I love about this hotel is the location. I lived in this area for years so it feels like home. The rooms are tiny so not ideal for traveling with my baby. I stayed here by myself for a few nights and it was fine. I would stay here again only at the right price as I booked last minute and spent a lot of $ for the room this time. It is no frills but clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiNYC422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear MiamiNYC422,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hotel Belleclaire! Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hotel Belleclaire! Complimentary high speed wireless, 24-hour fitness, and media lounge are just a few of the amenities we provide for our guests. In addition to our newly renovated guest rooms, all bathrooms will be renovated this year, featuring floor-to-ceiling glass showers, white stonewash tiles, and espresso vanities.

With steps away to the subway station, our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. Take a walk through the picturesque Central Park, dine at a world class gourmet restaurant, let music fill your ears at Lincoln Center and top off the night with delicious cupcakes from Crumbs Bake Shop.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Sincerely,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Belleclaire while in NYC for our son's wedding. The Upper Westside location was perfect for us since the wedding was taking place in Central Park. Upon checkin we were welcomed by at the desk by Juan, who I must commend for his friendly and welcoming spirit. We encountered him again several times during our stay and he always greeted us and inquired about our comfort. This is type of personal service and employee that makes a hotel a standout to us.

Our room was very nice, although it lacked a view. It was quiet, the bed was comfortable and housekeeping was spot on. It was especially nice having free wi-fi, something that is a rare find these days. Although, there was not a restaurant on site, we made use of a wonderful gourmet grocery store a short stroll away and a very good casual Italian restaurant, Fratelli La Bufala, just around the corner.

For the location this hotel is a very good value and I would definitely stay here again when I am visiting NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear citall,

Fantastic! Thank you for sharing the positive review! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, the comfort, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located close to Central Park and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. Our hotel is two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops.

It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. We are looking forward to your return! If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

choose this hotel mainly because it's location which was great! The hotel located in upper west side in a great area, 2 blocks walk from the subway, lots of GREAT restaurants around, close to the park just the perfect location! we stayed in suite room which had a nice bedroom and a sofa bed. room was big and clean, bed was very comfortable and sofa bed wasn't bad at all. the staff was very nice with everything Ive asked (extra towels, extra bed sheet) and price was affordable. the only bad thing i have to stay is that the hotel is having some construction work and the room right next to us was being renovated. this cause a lot of noise from 7am. the hotel didn't notify us about that. I think they should have let us know about that or maybe take off the price. It's a great place to stay but just make sure your not in any room next to the construction work!

Room Tip: The junior suite is great! make sure your not getting a room in a construction area!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maayan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Maayan K,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the Hotel Belleclaire!

I’m delighted to read your comments regarding our Parlor Suite accommodations, the amenities, appraisal of our team, the value, services, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. I notice as well your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of restaurants, bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We have alerted our staff and will take proactive measures to avoid this issue in the future. We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back soon. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Best regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Although the staff were very attentive the actual hotel rooms left a lot to be desired. The hotel foyer certainly looked grand enough allbeit rather over airconditioned on the cold side.The extra touch in the afternoon of complimentary iced tea was very welcome on a hot New York day. Unfortunately this is where it all stopped. Our first room was in the centre of the hotel with no outside ventilation except for the air conditioner and no extracting fan in the bathroom. Also we had a bad experience in this room with black insects crawling not just up the walls but up our arms. On complaining we were moved to another room without any fuss on managements part as they wanted to thoroughly clean the room of the offending insects. Unfortunately this new room faced Broadway and the noise was horrendous despite the air conditioner. The furniture is very tired looking with scratches and marks. The room service was below average. The only plus is the location but there are plenty of hotels in this location and that is where we moved on our return from a side trip.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear rmp26,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the Hotel Belleclaire. Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.This certainly will be addressed and we will take proactive measures to avoid this issue in the future. We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel and can assure a pleasant, restful visit. Feel free to contact our General Manager; Scott Geres (212-706-4469 / sgeres@hotelbelleclaire.com), to discuss this matter further.

We hope to see you soon, rmp26!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 468 in New York City
5,249 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#133 of 468 in New York City
2,413 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#76 of 468 in New York City
3,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 468 in New York City
2,102 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#205 of 468 in New York City
1,170 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#318 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £130 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing