We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel away from the crowds.”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #233 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel away from the crowds.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

First visit to NYC, (didn't want to stay in a busy tourist trap.) This hotel is 2 streets away from a subway on the 1 line. Great location. There is a supermarket on the corner, which also sells food to takeaway. There are many cafes, bars and restaurants scattered around this area, just walk up or down Broadway. Zabars is 3 streets up, a must for bagels and gourmet food.
The staff in this hotel are friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned everyday. There is a cafe serving good quality teas and coffees in the lobby. Our transport didn't arrive to return us to the airport and the staff were very helpful in ringing (a few times) the company Super Shuttle to arrange collection. When they still didn't arrive the staff immediately called a taxi for us so we wouldn't miss our flight. I would return to this hotel. We asked for a quiet room, but don't think any rooms in Manhattan can block out the noise of sirens.The room was on the small side but think this is normal in New York and we were out most of the time. However, the bed was extremely comfortable. There was a small closet for clothes which housed the safe and a iron and ironing board. The hotel offered laundry and room service. There is also a small gym onsite and a computer room which we used to check in our return flights and print our boarding passes. There is also free wifi throughout the hotel. We used the 79 subway everyday and the ticket lady in 79 street was helpful in getting to places not on the 1 line. The restaurants and cafes in this area are used by locals not tourists so not only is the service good but the food is very good too. We visited Taste, Gigi's cafe, Viand, French Roast and Shake Shack all within a few minutes walk. We also walked from the hotel to Columbus circle a few times. Almost forgot, the hotel is located 5 mins walk from Central Park.

Room Tip: Rooms on Broadway are much bigger and more expensive. Will also be noisier. We asked for a quiet roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear JPN,

Fantastic! We really appreciate the time you took telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire. We are delighted with your comments regarding our amenities, the comfort, our qualified staff and their excellent services. I notice as well your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service.
Please contact our reservations department directly by calling (877) 706-4479 or email reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com if your future plans bring you back to New York City.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,268
    1,512
    509
    213
    114
See reviews for
920
1,299
265
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was attending a function at the Beacon Theatre so I required a hotel in the Upper West Side. I was very happy with the location of this hotel. There were many eating options in the area as well as the room service for this hotel was fantastic. The restaurant that does the room service is fast and the food was great and there was no cost for delivery. Also, it was open 7/24 which is convenient if you are active and on the go. The room was small but I have found that the case for hotels in this area however it was larger than some. It was super clean, the bathroom was larger than most and the bed was super comfortable. I had a great sleep. I was not aware of neighbours or noise from the hallways which is fantastic as I believe the hotel was fully booked while I was there. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. Check in and checking out was very quick so not to hold anyone up. There is a little coffee bar in the hotel lobby but it is only available in the morning and maybe early afternoon. However, there is a Starbucks, etc around the corner if that is more to ones liking. I would recommend this hotel if requiring to be in the area. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Cindy S,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value, the comfort, our amenities, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. As you kindly mentioned, we are situated in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Our experience at the hotel belleclaire was a good one for what we required. Our room was small but what do you need whilst visiting New York for a few days a comfy bed a shower and a tv for chilling. There is no restaurant onsite but there are plenty of cafés and restaurants near by. They do sell coffee tea and bagels at the lobby in the mornings courtesy of the coffee an Tea leaf cafe from around the corner. Complimentary ice tea is available through the day in the lobby also which my wife loved. The location is great only 2 streets away from the 1 subway which will take you to pretty much any stop you want and a few avenues walk and your in Central Park. Few negatives but not a huge problem but we had to turn the fridge off as the the noise kept waking us up and we had a hissing radiator which we also had to turn off but all in the hotel was a great place to come back to after a long day traveling around New York. If your looking for somewhere for breakfast you cant go wrong with the Viande Cafe a couple of streets down ( don't let the miserable check out girl put you off :) ). We would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Wilchie,

Thank you for spending the time telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire.
We are pleased with your comments regarding our wonderful location and our amenities. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops. Thank you for letting us know that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement (radiator/fridge noise), and these will certainly be addressed and corrected.

Please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com if your future plans bring you back to New York City.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crescent, MN
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The photos online make the Belle Claire look a little more large and spectacular than it really is BUT it was a nice place. Charming neighborhood and very close to stores and restaurants. Our room was very small and the sink in the bathroom had a large crack in it. It seemed safe and the staff was friendly enough. I stayed there with my 13 year old son. His first trip to NYC. We wanted a quiet place where we could relax at night and it worked fine for that. Not much in the way of food or drinks. They said they are hoping to get a liquor license soon. We could walk to Natural History Museum in just a few minutes as well as Central Park.

Room Tip: We ordered in breakfast from a local cafe on Broadway every morning. It was fast and inexpensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNJMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear MNJMoo,

Thank you for sharing the positive review of your recent visit to the Hotel Belleclaire, conveniently located near Central Park! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our prime location, our team, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. However I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there was an element of your stay (sink) that you found needed improvement, and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. We really appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We found all of the staff at the Belleclaire Hotel to be very professional and helpful. We had a great deal via Expedia. Our room was much larger than we expected and it was relatively quiet, being on the ninth floor and not overlooking Broadway. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Mr B is recovering from a back operation and commented that the bed was quite high and therefore easy for him to get in and out of. Not so the bath, which was low to the floor. We used the air conditioning just to cool the room down upon our arrival most evenings. It was quite loud.

There is a media room with three terminals a printer and two video games. In the room next door is a gym, which we did not use. There are three lifts, although two of them are intimate!

The hotel is two blocks down from the subway. The hotel does not serve food. There is a coffee bar in the lobby which opens at 0600. It was closed when we returned from our days out, but iced water and tea were available.

Good breakfast options and a couple of bars are just a few blocks away.

We liked the hotel but would probably not return to the Upper West Side.

Room Tip: High floor and back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissusB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adisa F, Director of Sales at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear MissusB1965,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Belleclaire! We truly appreciate your feedback, and are delighted to hear that our staff was helpful and professional. We would love to welcome you back in the future. We also have great news to share--Hotel Belleclaire will introduce central air/heating in all guest rooms and suites in 2014!

Please follow us on social media and subscribe to our email list for exclusive offers and best available rates-- book direct and save!

Sincerely,

Adisa Feratovic
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hotel Belleclaire
Adisa@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great location in upper west side - close to all conveniences. Trouble with the hot water for 24 hours meant cold showers, and a luke warm response from the Manager. He assumed that an apology was all that was necessary to make things right. Eventually moved us to another room, (much noisier) where the water was a dirty brown colour and unable to be used. (see attached photo) Had to have bottled water in the room for drinking and teeth cleaning.

Room Tip: Ask for one with clean, hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeres, General Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Allan M,

Thank you for writing a review about the Hotel Belleclaire. Your feedback is essential to our success!

I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your most recent visit with us. Unfortunately, we had a water shut down in our building during the time you were here. This was unexpected and it was the reason for the brown colored water. I would hope that you could give us another opportunity in the near future if you a traveling again to NYC. Please contact me directly and I will personally make your reservation at the best available rate.

Sincerely,

Scott Geres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Staying at the belleclaire 446 dollars a night no breakfast.

First impressions it's like a budget hotel , small lobby , no restraint facilities so everyone sitting around drinking their bought in wines or coffees . Hallways are absolutely filthy dirt and bits of paper and rubbish on the floors . Get to my room and it's seen better days , paintwork chipped and worn . The small window I have is single glazed and I can hear the noise from the street , it's as if I'm on the street. Neighbours come in from a night out and I can hear every word of their conversation through the adjoining door and thin wall. They aren't being loud it's just the acoustic insulation is that bad. Room service links to a deli around the corner. Breakfast option is a local coffee shop that sets up in the foyer

All in all terrible terrible hotel - the worst I've stayed in

Room Tip: Don't - go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keir d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeres, General Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Keir d,

Thank you for writing a review about the Hotel Bellelclaire. Your feedback is essential to our success!

I apologize that your overall experience of the Belleclaire was not to your satisfaction. We did just complete a multi million dollar lobby renovation and the majority of our guest rooms were newly decorated. I would love to discuss your stay in more detail if you did have a free moment. My direct contact information is 212-706-4469 or sgeres@hotelbelleclaire.com. I apologize again...

Sincerely,

Scott Geres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 466 in New York City
4,995 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#126 of 466 in New York City
2,365 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 466 in New York City
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 466 in New York City
2,062 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#203 of 466 in New York City
1,151 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing