We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good staff, but overheated”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #223 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great location, good staff, but overheated”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect. Very short walk to the No 1 subway line, Central Park, great restaurants. To my surprise the room was comparatively roomy given the location and price. The staff were pleasant and helpful. There were continual problems with which credit card would be used for payment but that might well have been an issue with my corporate travel agent as the hotel. My real grip was the temperature of the room. It was October, I had all the heating turned off but still the room was massively overheated. There were no effective opening windows and an incredibly noisy yet (in October!) essential air conditioner. Would not recommend this hotel in summer at all.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Val S,

Thank you for sharing the positive review! As you kindly mentioned, the exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the comfort, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. As you kindly mentioned, we are situated in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station and Central Park. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. However I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there were a few elements of your stay (A/C, heat) that you found needed improvement, and these will certainly be addressed and corrected. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,282
    1,526
    511
    214
    114
See reviews for
929
1,305
270
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Loved our stay here :) the staff are friendly and helpful - the map they gave us was better than anything we bought with us, and shows the subway lines that run nearby (made using the subway a doddle, although Central Park, 5th Avenue, the museums, Columbus Circle and lots of other places are within walking distance). Ideal location for a quieter evening, once rush hour is over, and handy for walking uptown to cafes and places to eat that are not touristy - therefore less expensive (for Manhattan) and tastier. Loads of the shops you will want to visit are also nearby - DSW shoes is two blocks uptown on Broadway, across the street, and if you walk down Broadway from the hotel, toward the shops etc, theres an Apple store, Urban Outfitters and Century 21, that are not only quieter but friendlier too (the staff in bigger stores can be a little rude). We were there leading up to Hallowe'en and so saw the pumpkin workshop they laid on for families and sampled the free hot chocolate and candy apples. They had Batman staying with them, his car was parked outside, and he was friendly and let people take pictures. Ok so there isnt a restaurant but theres lots of places nearby to eat and they sell fresh coffee and some pastries etc in the lobby each morning, as well as having a regular free supply of iced tea. Yes the rooms may be a little rough around the edges in some places, but it is an old building and it adds to the charm. The building is impeccably clean - possibly the cleanest hotel I've stayed in - and has everything you need, including fab conceirges who will help you get transport to where you need to go (we used it to get to JFK). I could go on and on, but suffice to say, we'd stay there again :)

Room Tip: You dont have to have a view - the rooms without are cheaper and are still as smart etc. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmmmmchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Hmmmm.chocolate,

Fantastic! Thank you so much for your great review! I am delightful to read your appraisal of our team, services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your amazing remarks and recognition of their efforts. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located on the Upper West Side, close to the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location. We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back soon. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Visiting NYC to celebrate grandson's first birthday, we wanted a hotel that was convenient for walking to their apartment, offered many food opportunities close-by so as not to burden our son/daughter-in-law, with decent access to Lincoln Center and all the Upper West Side has to offer. I was hoping the hotel would be clean and attractive -- it easily exceeded my expectations. Our room and bathroom were new and quite spacious for a NYC hotel room and very well maintained; the bed was very comfortable. The registration desk staff was courteous and helpful even though we arrived early and had to wait to get into our room. Our sleeping room was on the back side of the hotel so although we didn't have a view, my wife and I both got a good night's sleep. Hotel Belleclaire is a modern gem in the shell of a charming historic building located on the Upper west side and convenient for all that part of the town has to offer. This is our new go to hotel when visiting NYC.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilD5732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear PhilD5732,

We truly appreciate the very kind and positive review of your stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! We are thrilled with your comments regarding our service, our team, the cleanliness, and the comfort. I notice as well your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of restaurants, bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Belleclaire! It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. Please feel free to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girton, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The room we had was rather small but very clean and tidy. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. It was a very good area with many attractions within walking distance, 10 mins to Central Park, 30 mins to Times Square.
We chose to include breakfast which was at a cafe less than 5 mins walk away, they were very friendly and the food was very good, a good start to the day.
I would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Peter A,

Thank you for the very positive review of your recent visit to the Hotel Belleclaire, conveniently located near Central Park! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our team, the cleanliness, the services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, WI
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our second trip to NYC, and I am SO happy that we stayed at Hotel Belleclaire instead of Times Square. The neighborhood was so welcoming and peaceful. It was only 4-5 blocks from Central Park and the Museum of Natural History, and it was only 2 blocks from the red line subway entrance which was very convenient. While we explored a lot of NYC, including Times Square, it was so nice to come back to such a nice neighborhood and also to explore the neighborhood in the morning. Very nice.

The hotel is historically charming, yet the rooms have been remodeled in a contemporary style. Very comfortable room and extremely comfortable beds and bedding! The only downside was that the air conditioner is a window unit, and it was very loud. The temps were in the 40-50s while we were there, but for some reason our room was very warm when we came back at the end of the day. So, we didn't really need the air conditioner, but we had turned it on to cool down the room, and it was very loud. Very minor complaint though.

The staff were exceptional and helpful. Very comfortable hotel with an excellent location! We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Sarah V,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value and all amenities that Belleclaire has to offer. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Belleclaire Hotel, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park and the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. I notice as well your mention about the nice renovations of our rooms.
However I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there was an element of your stay (A/C) that you found needed improvement, and this will certainly be addressed and corrected.

We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

First visit to NYC, (didn't want to stay in a busy tourist trap.) This hotel is 2 streets away from a subway on the 1 line. Great location. There is a supermarket on the corner, which also sells food to takeaway. There are many cafes, bars and restaurants scattered around this area, just walk up or down Broadway. Zabars is 3 streets up, a must for bagels and gourmet food.
The staff in this hotel are friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned everyday. There is a cafe serving good quality teas and coffees in the lobby. Our transport didn't arrive to return us to the airport and the staff were very helpful in ringing (a few times) the company Super Shuttle to arrange collection. When they still didn't arrive the staff immediately called a taxi for us so we wouldn't miss our flight. I would return to this hotel. We asked for a quiet room, but don't think any rooms in Manhattan can block out the noise of sirens.The room was on the small side but think this is normal in New York and we were out most of the time. However, the bed was extremely comfortable. There was a small closet for clothes which housed the safe and a iron and ironing board. The hotel offered laundry and room service. There is also a small gym onsite and a computer room which we used to check in our return flights and print our boarding passes. There is also free wifi throughout the hotel. We used the 79 subway everyday and the ticket lady in 79 street was helpful in getting to places not on the 1 line. The restaurants and cafes in this area are used by locals not tourists so not only is the service good but the food is very good too. We visited Taste, Gigi's cafe, Viand, French Roast and Shake Shack all within a few minutes walk. We also walked from the hotel to Columbus circle a few times. Almost forgot, the hotel is located 5 mins walk from Central Park.

Room Tip: Rooms on Broadway are much bigger and more expensive. Will also be noisier. We asked for a quiet roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear JPN,

Fantastic! We really appreciate the time you took telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire. We are delighted with your comments regarding our amenities, the comfort, our qualified staff and their excellent services. I notice as well your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service.
Please contact our reservations department directly by calling (877) 706-4479 or email reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com if your future plans bring you back to New York City.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was attending a function at the Beacon Theatre so I required a hotel in the Upper West Side. I was very happy with the location of this hotel. There were many eating options in the area as well as the room service for this hotel was fantastic. The restaurant that does the room service is fast and the food was great and there was no cost for delivery. Also, it was open 7/24 which is convenient if you are active and on the go. The room was small but I have found that the case for hotels in this area however it was larger than some. It was super clean, the bathroom was larger than most and the bed was super comfortable. I had a great sleep. I was not aware of neighbours or noise from the hallways which is fantastic as I believe the hotel was fully booked while I was there. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. Check in and checking out was very quick so not to hold anyone up. There is a little coffee bar in the hotel lobby but it is only available in the morning and maybe early afternoon. However, there is a Starbucks, etc around the corner if that is more to ones liking. I would recommend this hotel if requiring to be in the area. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Cindy S,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value, the comfort, our amenities, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. As you kindly mentioned, we are situated in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
5,080 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
2,381 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#67 of 467 in New York City
3,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
2,076 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
1,158 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#319 of 467 in New York City
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing