We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and warm”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #234 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel was well maintained for an older buiding. The rooms were small but extremely clean and comfortable. The reception staff were warm, friendly and very helpful. I never had to wait for anything. I would stay at the Belleclaire again in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Teri C,

Fantastic! Thank you for sharing the positive review! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the comfort, cleanliness, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,946 - 1,952 of 3,871 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

I'll be back. It's hard to find a decent hotel room in Manhattan at a price that doesn't break the bank and this is certainly a place to keep in mind. It's conveniently located (79th Street, 10 minutes from Mid town), the rooms are spacious, the wifi works (although a colleague had trouble I could get online easily whenever I wanted, on three separate devices), the hot water is hot, the staff are nice - and it's affordable.

They don't do breakfast but so what - this is New York and there are breakfast places on every corner.

I've given it four stars, but that's in the specific context of New York (if this place where in Kuala Lumpur I would be disappointed but that's because you get so much more for your money out there).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling-light88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear traveling-light88,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value and all amenities that Belleclaire has to offer. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Belleclaire Hotel, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park and the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days.
The location is excellent, clean and quiet rooms, well equipped and comfortable bed.
My only review is with regards to staff, obviously not generalized to all receptionists, but only two of them, which showed very little willingness to be helpful and kind.
But overall, the hotel deserves my review of "VERY GOOD".

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flavio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Flavio C,

Thank you for spending 10 days at Hotel Belleclaire!! We really appreciate the time you took telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire. We are delighted with your comments regarding our location, the deluxe accommodations and the amenities. However, please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay about our staff, we have alerted them and will take proactive measures to avoid this issue in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We are very fond of the Hotel Belleclaire. Convenient UWS location, friendly and helpful service, clean and well-appointed rooms, free WiFi. Charming building is far more interesting than typical, boxy hotel spaces. We look forward to more visits.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarandyMarandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear MarandyMarandy,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hotel Belleclaire! Complimentary high speed wireless, 24-hour fitness, and media lounge are just a few of the amenities we provide for our guests. Thank you for your great review and your comments about the cleanliness, our amenities, and the service from our staff. We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs, and look forward to your return. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Belleclaire, MarandyMarandy!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A great location close to an amazing bakery, the National History Museum and Central Park. A short subway ride to Times Square and a nice touch with free tea and hot chocolate available in reception all day long. The staff were very polite and courteous, especially when checking in. Our room was slightly too hot in the evenings but was a very good size for New York and had a brilliant TV, an easy-to-use safe and decent-sized fridge. Have already decided we would stay here again when we return to New York.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Ryan B,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel Belleclaire! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. As you kindly mentioned, we are situated in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Staff were lovely from check-in to check-out. Hotel itself is from turn of the 20th Century; this leads to its own problems. The old-style heating is very noisy. Although not such an issue for my group, a light sleeper could be easily put out. The plumbing is also an issue, with out toilet backing up twice during our stay.
Location wise, hotel is in a great place, just a few blocks from Lincoln Center & Central Park. Would love to revisit the hotel, knowing that its issues had been solved.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank munsteremerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Munsteremerald,

We are happy with your comments regarding our wonderful location and services. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located few blocks away from Central Park and Lincoln Center. Thank you for letting us know that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement and these will certainly be addressed and corrected.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Excellent accomodations. There was a problem with the shower handle that could lead to someone being scalded and that would create a problem for the hotel. (See previous note) Other than that, the staff was extremely pleasant, the bed was comfortable, the room well appointed, although a bit over heated.




  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Elizabeth I,

Thank you for your great review and your comments about the comfort and the service from our staff. However I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there was an element of your stay (shower handle) that you found needed improvement, and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. We really appreciate your business. Please feel free to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com in case your future plans bring you back to New York City.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 473 in New York City
5,753 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 473 in New York City
2,470 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 473 in New York City
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 473 in New York City
3,928 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#145 of 473 in New York City
945 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#321 of 473 in New York City
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £83 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing