We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in NYC”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #232 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After receiving an email advertising a special at this hotel, I checked it out. The special wasn't until July 1, but I got a good rate of $189/night for a Saturday & Sunday. The hotel is in a good neighborhood, conveniently located near the M79 crosstown bus (great for getting to the Metropolitan Museum) and subway. The building, reminiscent of European hotels, is beautiful with a comfortable, small lobby. The room, while small, was decorated in the modern style. There wasn't a chest for clothes--you had to use your suitcase or the closet. This didn't bother us since we were there only 2 days. There was a safe, refrigerator, iron & board, and flat screen TV. The floors were of wood laminate--much cleaner than carpet. The bathroom was very modern with a large walk-in shower and plush towels! There was even an umbrella to borrow in the closet. Service was friendly, fast and efficient. We really enjoyed our stay here--probably the nicest hotel we have utilized in NYC--and we will be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Teramo48,

Thank you for your excellent review! I am delightful to read your appraisal of our team, services, the comfort, cleanliness, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your amazing remarks and recognition of their efforts. As you already kindly mention, Hotel Belleclaire is located on the Upper West Side, close to the best museums in NY City. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC; and is far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. I notice as well your mention about the amenities in the room; we want our guests to feel at home with well-equipped rooms and to provide them with the most comfort. We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,693 - 1,699 of 3,714 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I recommend staying in the Upper West Side when visiting NYC. It is easy to get to the subway, convenient to Central Park, and has many decent places to eat/buy food that one would expect in a more residential area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Nancy B,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five nights over Easter for a quick city break in NY. I found everything to be really Pleasent during our stay. The decor was very original and the room and facilities were always kept clean and tidy. Staff were friendly, helpful and always approachable. There is a entertainment room where you can access wifi 24 hours a day and a small but functional gym.

There is no restaurant at the hotel, but they do offer a breakfast deal at a local eatery which served us fine with pancakes/eggs and coffee in the morning. There is also a small bar for drinks and pastries.

Location wise it was perfect. Very close to both 72nd and 79th street subway station which was perfect for getting around Manhattan to all the tourist hotspots but also great for getting to the other boroughs easily. I found the hotel location wonderful as it was near enough to access the hustle and bustle but not right in the centre meaning you could get away from it all. As a female traveller I felt safe enough to walk around without my husband and often made use of the local amenities such as shops and yoga studios. It was also close enough to restaurants to eat out near the hotel if you had had a long day And didn't want to venture too far in the evening.

I would recommend the hotel for couples, families and groups of friends as a great base for a Manhattan adventure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Lillaw88,

Thank you for your great review!! We really appreciate the time you took telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire. We are delighted with your comments regarding our deluxe accommodations, the cleanliness, the amenities, our qualified staff and their excellent services.
I notice as well your mention about the safe and convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hotel Belleclaire. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed there for a week. The main benefits are the location, near the 79th subway station that can take you all the way down to the south ferries. Close to central park, convenient if you want to go for a short run in the morning. Lot of resturants nearby, at the Amsterdam avenue. Close to Hudson river, as well.

The rooms has the standard you expect for the price you pay. Can recommend a stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Per O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Pero O,

We are happy with your comments regarding our wonderful location. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located two blocks away from the subway train station. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of bars, restaurants and shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hotel Belleclaire.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Staff - the staff is very kind and helpful

Rooms - clean, awesome bed, looks new and renovated, great view to the hudson river

Location - 2 minutes walk from the subway and just 4-5 stations from times square, great coffees around, marshall's store, cvs store and alot more!

we stayed on the 9th floor - was great!

one thing that bothered me - saw sellotape on the window - didnt expected that from a five star hotel

Room Tip: ask for the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Revitulidk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Revitulidk,

Thank you for sharing the positive review! As you kindly mentioned, the exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there was an element of your stay that you found needed improvement (sellotape on the window), and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. We appreciate your business and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Hotel Belleclaire!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hotel was excellent in all aspects: location (subway only one block away, Central Park only 3 blocks, Riverside Park 2 blocks), service (everyone super friendly), room (king deluxe, partial view of Hudson River, small (as expected in a boutique hotel in New York City) but very functional, comfortable, modern and clean with nice bathroom, coffee bar for breakfast with best bagels in the whole city!, and very nice pillows, and even though we had seen comments on line about the elevators and how slow they were, we never experienced this with any of the three elevators. Thank you, we look forward to staying with you again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Helli M,

Fantastic! Thank you for sharing the positive review! I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Loved this location in a quiet area of the Upper West Side. The hotel is an easy walk to many prime attractions. Rooms are well-appointed; waiting for the small, slow elevators was a distraction (or annoyance) but the environment is lovely. I found almost all of the staff to be quite service-oriented but several of them were rather distracted while taking care of us during our stay. At the same time, I was grateful for the flexibility and assistance in booking my stay during a busy weekend in NYC. I plan to stay at the Hotel Belleclaire again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AquaDoll303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear AquaDoll303,

We truly appreciate the very kind and positive review of your stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located close to the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs, and look forward to your return. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Belleclaire, AquaDoll303!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 469 in New York City
5,349 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#131 of 469 in New York City
2,418 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 469 in New York City
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#66 of 469 in New York City
3,644 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#193 of 469 in New York City
1,177 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#304 of 469 in New York City
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £124 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing