We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #233 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
1 review
“My review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The overall quality of all the services of the hotel is between good and very good. The room was always kept clean, but the conditioner was a bit too noisy. The room was cosy, but too small and I was surprised not to find any wardrobe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Pavel S,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hotel Belleclaire! We are happy with your comments regarding our cleanliness and comfort. Thank you for letting us know that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement (A/C noise, wardrobe space), and these will certainly be addressed and corrected. We appreciate your business and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    1,462
    476
    204
    110
See reviews for
863
1,243
257
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
399 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

After receiving an email advertising a special at this hotel, I checked it out. The special wasn't until July 1, but I got a good rate of $189/night for a Saturday & Sunday. The hotel is in a good neighborhood, conveniently located near the M79 crosstown bus (great for getting to the Metropolitan Museum) and subway. The building, reminiscent of European hotels, is beautiful with a comfortable, small lobby. The room, while small, was decorated in the modern style. There wasn't a chest for clothes--you had to use your suitcase or the closet. This didn't bother us since we were there only 2 days. There was a safe, refrigerator, iron & board, and flat screen TV. The floors were of wood laminate--much cleaner than carpet. The bathroom was very modern with a large walk-in shower and plush towels! There was even an umbrella to borrow in the closet. Service was friendly, fast and efficient. We really enjoyed our stay here--probably the nicest hotel we have utilized in NYC--and we will be back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Teramo48,

Thank you for your excellent review! I am delightful to read your appraisal of our team, services, the comfort, cleanliness, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your amazing remarks and recognition of their efforts. As you already kindly mention, Hotel Belleclaire is located on the Upper West Side, close to the best museums in NY City. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC; and is far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. I notice as well your mention about the amenities in the room; we want our guests to feel at home with well-equipped rooms and to provide them with the most comfort. We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I recommend staying in the Upper West Side when visiting NYC. It is easy to get to the subway, convenient to Central Park, and has many decent places to eat/buy food that one would expect in a more residential area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Nancy B,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five nights over Easter for a quick city break in NY. I found everything to be really Pleasent during our stay. The decor was very original and the room and facilities were always kept clean and tidy. Staff were friendly, helpful and always approachable. There is a entertainment room where you can access wifi 24 hours a day and a small but functional gym.

There is no restaurant at the hotel, but they do offer a breakfast deal at a local eatery which served us fine with pancakes/eggs and coffee in the morning. There is also a small bar for drinks and pastries.

Location wise it was perfect. Very close to both 72nd and 79th street subway station which was perfect for getting around Manhattan to all the tourist hotspots but also great for getting to the other boroughs easily. I found the hotel location wonderful as it was near enough to access the hustle and bustle but not right in the centre meaning you could get away from it all. As a female traveller I felt safe enough to walk around without my husband and often made use of the local amenities such as shops and yoga studios. It was also close enough to restaurants to eat out near the hotel if you had had a long day And didn't want to venture too far in the evening.

I would recommend the hotel for couples, families and groups of friends as a great base for a Manhattan adventure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Lillaw88,

Thank you for your great review!! We really appreciate the time you took telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire. We are delighted with your comments regarding our deluxe accommodations, the cleanliness, the amenities, our qualified staff and their excellent services.
I notice as well your mention about the safe and convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hotel Belleclaire. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a week. The main benefits are the location, near the 79th subway station that can take you all the way down to the south ferries. Close to central park, convenient if you want to go for a short run in the morning. Lot of resturants nearby, at the Amsterdam avenue. Close to Hudson river, as well.

The rooms has the standard you expect for the price you pay. Can recommend a stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Per O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Pero O,

We are happy with your comments regarding our wonderful location. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located two blocks away from the subway train station. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of bars, restaurants and shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hotel Belleclaire.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Staff - the staff is very kind and helpful

Rooms - clean, awesome bed, looks new and renovated, great view to the hudson river

Location - 2 minutes walk from the subway and just 4-5 stations from times square, great coffees around, marshall's store, cvs store and alot more!

we stayed on the 9th floor - was great!

one thing that bothered me - saw sellotape on the window - didnt expected that from a five star hotel

Room Tip: ask for the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Revitulidk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Revitulidk,

Thank you for sharing the positive review! As you kindly mentioned, the exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there was an element of your stay that you found needed improvement (sellotape on the window), and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. We appreciate your business and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Hotel Belleclaire!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hotel was excellent in all aspects: location (subway only one block away, Central Park only 3 blocks, Riverside Park 2 blocks), service (everyone super friendly), room (king deluxe, partial view of Hudson River, small (as expected in a boutique hotel in New York City) but very functional, comfortable, modern and clean with nice bathroom, coffee bar for breakfast with best bagels in the whole city!, and very nice pillows, and even though we had seen comments on line about the elevators and how slow they were, we never experienced this with any of the three elevators. Thank you, we look forward to staying with you again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Helli M,

Fantastic! Thank you for sharing the positive review! I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,376 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing