We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scammers...beware”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #231 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Made a reservation as part of a room block for a conference, which was two days. I only was there for a day and made my reservation for a night. They assumed since I was I the block that I would be there both nights. They chastised me upon check in for "missing" a night and then refused to refund me, despite me having been across the country.

All staff have a chip in their shoulder.

Cafe area was filthy. Tables unbussed.

Ac didn't work.

Mold on shower.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TNTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear TNTo,

Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. However, our staff managers were in touch with you to resolve the situation, despite having to follow our hotel cancellation policy. According to our records, one night room and tax has been refunded to you, prior to this review. We have brought this matter to the attention of our General Manager, Mr. Scott Geres. In case you would personally want to discuss with Mr. Geres, please feel free to contact him directly by calling (212) 706-4469 or email: sgeres@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you again in the future for a more pleasant, restful visit.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 3,756 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is NYC so your expectations have to match the destination. Yes, the room was small, but had everything we needed, including a mini-fridge. We were on the go all day so really only needed a bed and a shower. On the few occasions we interacted with the staff, they were very eager to make our stay special. Check in was very quick and there is complimentary tea and water in the lobby. That is nice because there isn't a restaurant or snack bar on site. The location is great - very close to many dining/shopping options and only two blocks to the subway. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nixmomntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear nixmomntx,

We truly appreciate the very kind and positive review of your stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West and as you already kindly mention, Hotel Belleclaire is located two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

wonderful hotel on the upper west side in NY. pleasant staff, small but very nice room. i felt like i was staying in NY as opposed to staying in a hotel chain. had a great experience. at check in they gave my child a teddy bear which was really cute.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear bse,

Thank you for your excellent review! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at Hotel Belleclaire. Thank you for your great review and your comments about the service from our staff. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

we enjoyed a lovely suite overlooking Manhattan...pick the higher floors, delightful little lobby offers continental breakfast in mornings, juices, etc. in afternoons...handy to all the uptown attractions. Staff very accommodating. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: higher floors great view, lovely suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnjohnson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear bnjohnson99,

Fantastic! Thank you so much for your great review! I am delightful to read your appraisal of our team, services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your amazing remarks and recognition of their efforts. We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value and all amenities that Hotel Belleclaire has to offer. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hotel is centrally located and service is good. However, the window air conditioning units are old and extremely noisy when then the compressor kicks on. Very difficult to get a good night's sleep because of the noise and the vibrating.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MargaretD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear MargaretD41,

Thank you for your recent review. I notice your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side. However, I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there was an element of your stay (A/C noise) that you found needed improvement, and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Belleclaire and we were really impressed. The staff are super polite and the beds and shower were of a great standard. We were a bit nervous about staying here as there had been some mixed reviews and people complaining of noise/slow lifts/ other elements. Breakfast is a pastry and tea/coffee. Good selection of pastries on offer including a toasted bagel and cream cheese- completely fine for a 3* hotel. Good coffee.

We were positioned on the 6th floor at the back so no outside noise at all. No great view to admire but who really cares? We aren't the type to stay in the hotel all day, we were out and about exploring so the view wasn't on our list of priorities. Perhaps request a room with a view to avoid disappointment. The room had a fully working and effective air-con which was welcome as it was quite hot outside. Nice and hot power shower.

The Subway is super close and there's a lovely little street fair on Sundays to wander through. Close proximity to Central Park made for a nice afternoon having a picnic etc and a little morning jog!

My boyfriend proposed while we were there so the complementary red wine and chocolate was a lovely and unexpected touch. Umbrellas were also available to loan on the rainy days which was useful!

We would definitely stay at Hotel Belleclaire again. If you're planning a busy week in New York and need a clean and comfortable to come back to- not extreme luxury- but a clean and comfortable, well located hotel... this is the one for you! We stayed for 5 nights and truly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We stayed at the back with not a great view, but was almost silent meaning we got a great nights'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenna L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Jenna LL,

Congratulations on the engagement and thank you for sharing the positive review! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park and the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hotel Belleclaire. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The overall quality of all the services of the hotel is between good and very good. The room was always kept clean, but the conditioner was a bit too noisy. The room was cosy, but too small and I was surprised not to find any wardrobe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Pavel S,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hotel Belleclaire! We are happy with your comments regarding our cleanliness and comfort. Thank you for letting us know that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement (A/C noise, wardrobe space), and these will certainly be addressed and corrected. We appreciate your business and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#186 of 469 in New York City
5,479 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 469 in New York City
2,443 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 469 in New York City
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#63 of 469 in New York City
3,723 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
1,188 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 469 in New York City
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £102 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing