We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellecl”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #233 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Bellecl”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Beautiful building, well-maintained and clean. Great location for walking around and exploring. Service was meh....not terrible or extraordinary. Concierge provided a lousy restaurant recommendation. X

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chachajul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Chachajul,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Hotel Belleclaire. As you kindly mentioned about the great location, it is true, Hotel Belleclaire is situated in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We have alerted our staff and will take proactive measures to avoid this issue in the future, for a more pleasant and restful visit.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,268
    1,512
    509
    213
    114
See reviews for
920
1,299
265
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel had a European feel. I like the smaller hotels due to the level of attention that could be afforded should I need.
As a hopeless romantic, the history of the hotel and those who had previously stayed there helped me draw an affinity for the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Bob A,

Thank you for your great review! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. As you kindly mentioned, Hotel Belleclaire is a charming hotel, rich in history! If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Made a reservation as part of a room block for a conference, which was two days. I only was there for a day and made my reservation for a night. They assumed since I was I the block that I would be there both nights. They chastised me upon check in for "missing" a night and then refused to refund me, despite me having been across the country.

All staff have a chip in their shoulder.

Cafe area was filthy. Tables unbussed.

Ac didn't work.

Mold on shower.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TNTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear TNTo,

Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. However, our staff managers were in touch with you to resolve the situation, despite having to follow our hotel cancellation policy. According to our records, one night room and tax has been refunded to you, prior to this review. We have brought this matter to the attention of our General Manager, Mr. Scott Geres. In case you would personally want to discuss with Mr. Geres, please feel free to contact him directly by calling (212) 706-4469 or email: sgeres@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you again in the future for a more pleasant, restful visit.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is NYC so your expectations have to match the destination. Yes, the room was small, but had everything we needed, including a mini-fridge. We were on the go all day so really only needed a bed and a shower. On the few occasions we interacted with the staff, they were very eager to make our stay special. Check in was very quick and there is complimentary tea and water in the lobby. That is nice because there isn't a restaurant or snack bar on site. The location is great - very close to many dining/shopping options and only two blocks to the subway. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nixmomntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear nixmomntx,

We truly appreciate the very kind and positive review of your stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West and as you already kindly mention, Hotel Belleclaire is located two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

wonderful hotel on the upper west side in NY. pleasant staff, small but very nice room. i felt like i was staying in NY as opposed to staying in a hotel chain. had a great experience. at check in they gave my child a teddy bear which was really cute.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear bse,

Thank you for your excellent review! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at Hotel Belleclaire. Thank you for your great review and your comments about the service from our staff. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupper Lake, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

we enjoyed a lovely suite overlooking Manhattan...pick the higher floors, delightful little lobby offers continental breakfast in mornings, juices, etc. in afternoons...handy to all the uptown attractions. Staff very accommodating. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: higher floors great view, lovely suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnjohnson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear bnjohnson99,

Fantastic! Thank you so much for your great review! I am delightful to read your appraisal of our team, services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your amazing remarks and recognition of their efforts. We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value and all amenities that Hotel Belleclaire has to offer. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hotel is centrally located and service is good. However, the window air conditioning units are old and extremely noisy when then the compressor kicks on. Very difficult to get a good night's sleep because of the noise and the vibrating.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MargaretD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear MargaretD41,

Thank you for your recent review. I notice your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side. However, I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there was an element of your stay (A/C noise) that you found needed improvement, and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 466 in New York City
4,995 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#126 of 466 in New York City
2,365 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 466 in New York City
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 466 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#203 of 466 in New York City
1,151 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing