We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Good With Some Help”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #234 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Could Be Good With Some Help”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. The staff was very nice but there were a few glitches. First our reservation couldn't be found and then we were locked out of our room. Neither one a big deal just rather annoying.
The room was rather small with no place to really relax other than the bed but it was clean so we were happy with it. My biggest problem with the hotel was the air conditioner. It was a window unit that was loud and didn't work too well. Luckily, it wasn't very hot the nights we were there or else it would have been a major problem. Also, when the people upstairs turned on their air conditioner it dripped onto ours causing an annoying sound. Luckily for us again, they seemed to check in the morning we checked out so it wasn't a problem.
Overall, it was a good place. Clean rooms and a pleasant staff. If they could solve the these minor issues it would be real nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lut5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    1,511
    509
    213
    114
See reviews for
919
1,298
265
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Staff are not all that friendly. Had issues checking into the hotel because the front of house did not have the updated booking confirmation. They asked me to send them the confirmation even after they seen it on my iPhone and iPad.
The staff member checking us in was not helpful and did not apologise at all.
When we checked out the same staff member demanded that we pay for the room even though the room had been paid for and the deputy manager had to step in. Emailed the hotel for an apologise at their request as no managers were available and still not had anything back (3 days after we checked out!)
Hotel is nice and presented but not as clean as I'd expect

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The room was small for two people and it didn't have any place to relax. But then you are only supposed to sleep in the room. My expereicen was great however. The beds were comfortable and I slept great. Which is most important thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Rebecca S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Hotel Belleclaire. We are happy with your comments regarding our comfort. However I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there was an element of your stay that you found needed improvement, and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Belleclaire for 3 nights and were highly satisfied. The location is excellent and the staff is very helpful and professional. The renovation is new for us and is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Dorothy SM,

Thank you for your excellent review! I am delightful to read your appraisal of our team, services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your amazing remarks and recognition of their efforts. As you already kindly mention, The Hotel Belleclaire has recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation and continues to improve guest rooms and amenities. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for my son's wedding! Very comfortable, great location, and the staff was very accommodating.
Pleasant decor and very clean. We wished there was a coffee maker in the room and more space for a comfortable chair, but we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Regina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Regina R,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value, and all amenities that Hotel Belleclaire has to offer. We are happy with your comments regarding our cleanliness, comfort, and our accommodating staff. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Right on the corner of Broadway and 77th sits the Hotel Belleclaire. I have stayed on quite a few places in the city, but never this far up on the west side. The location is fantastic! 2 blocks to the 1 subway. 6 blocks to the Children's museum. 1 block to the Tecumseh playground, (I was traveling with my four year old girl). 3 or so blocks to Central Park. Close to the museum of Natural History and. $10.00 cab ride one way to the Met. You are right smack in the middle of the west side neighborhood. Plenty of eateries, shops and really nice New Yorkers. Honestly, I have never met a nasty New Yorker.
The hotel reminded me of a boutique hotel. Lobby was clean, with seating, cold drinks offered in the afternoon, free NY times and USA Today. Ther was also a coffee bar with treats available in the morning.
Our room was clean and adequate and average size for NYC. My only complaint was the window a/c unit. It was very loud! When you are not used to it, the a/c unit can be disruptive. Also, we were on the fourth floor with an angled view of Broadway and 77th. I would ask for a higher floor and more on 77th? Street noise was a bit loud too. Other then those few quirks, would definitely stay again. The location is superb and you really feel like you are immersed in a NY neighborhood, as opposed to being in a Times Square tourist trap.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bailey2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Bailey2004,

Thank you for spending the time telling us in details about your amazing experience at Hotel Belleclaire. We are very thrilled with your comments regarding our Upper West Side location, the cleanliness, the comfort, and amenities. Thank you for letting us know that there was an element of your stay that you found needed improvement (AC noise), and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. I notice as well your mention about the safe and convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We really enjoyed being so close to Central Park, subway stations, restaurants, and the neighborhood market. Hotel Belleclaire with a lovely place to stay. The room was smaller than we are used to but I think for New York it was pretty standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Carrie N,

We are very happy with your comments regarding our wonderful location. As you already kindly mention, Hotel Belleclaire is located close to the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. Our hotel is two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hotel Belleclaire.

Best regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 466 in New York City
4,990 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 466 in New York City
2,364 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 466 in New York City
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 466 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#204 of 466 in New York City
1,151 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing