We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Great comforts!”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #237 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location! Great comforts!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very welcoming and friendly from start to finish. Whatever we needed, they provided. We just asked if it was not already there. Lots of history and charm in this hotel. Our room was clean, the bed *very* comfortable, nice upgrades in the bathroom, with ample closet storage and dresser to keep our things neat and tidy. We appreciated the extra space to move around in, though we did miss having comfortable chairs to just sit if we wanted. However, we were hardly in our room except to sleep. Nice having a room safe for passports. The hotel had breakfast catered by a great coffee shop from just around the corner, so we had really nice coffee, tea, and edibles before we started our day. We loved the location on Manhattan's Upper West side, only 3 blocks from Central Park and 2 blocks from a Metro, so getting around was exceptionally easy. Lots of good restaurants one street over. We are already talking about booking our next trip to New York at the same hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors have reduced traffic noise. West side likely have views of the Hudson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Pat D,

Thank you for your very positive review! We really appreciate the time you took telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire. We are delighted with your comments regarding our accommodations, the amenities, the comfort, cleanliness, our qualified staff and their excellent services. I notice as well your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    1,503
    501
    212
    112
See reviews for
904
1,291
264
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just a quick overnight get away midweek for a working couple who didn't want to commute home after a concert. The front desk did an excellent job in finding us a quiet room. The room was spacious, clean, modern and very comfortable, a good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 48Golfer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear 48Golfer48,

Thank you for the very positive review of your recent visit to the Hotel Belleclaire. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our team, the Hotel value, comfort, cleanliness, services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel was exactly what we wanted. Its in a beautiful neighborhood and close to the park and subways. The staff is always ready to help you. The rooms are modern, chic and clean. Thank you Belleclaire!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lifesabeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Lifesabeach1,

Fantastic! Thank you for sharing the positive review! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, the cleanliness, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while we toured the city. Everything went smoothly from check in to check out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay there again next time we're in the city!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donna895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Donna 896,

Thank you for your excellent review! I am delightful to read your appraisal of our team, services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your amazing remarks and recognition of their efforts. We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just an average hotel. The location is probably the highlight for me. The hotel is situated a couple of blocks from the Museum of Natural History and close to some of the city's best bakeries. The train station is also only less than 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I chose Hotel Belleclaire as it is in the upper West side and I needed to be in that area for a teaching workshop that I was attending for the week. I could not have selected a better hotel. I got an excellent deal on a
website and considering the location near Central Park in the upper Westside, fantastic hotel for the price. Very easy to check in. The room was near to perfect with a comfy queen bed and great linens. The bathroom is fairly spacious with CO Bigelow bath products and plenty of towels. A perfect bathro for me would have a tub and shower...only a shower I'm my room. The only teeny tiny complaint: no drawers for clothing items! There is a adequate closet but no shelves inside. I had to pile clothes on top of the safe. Of course, this being NYC, there is a bit of outside noise but with the a/ c and earplugs the problem was resolved ! The location is the best: only a few blocks from Central Park. There's also plenty of eclectic eating establishments and the nearby Westside Market was handy. I couldn't have selected a better hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azdemocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Azdemocrat,

Thank you for spending the time telling us about your excellent experience at Hotel Belleclaire!
We are delightful with your comments regarding our wonderful location and amenities. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Hotel Belleclaire, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park, the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. Thank you for letting us know that there was an element of your stay that you found needed improvement (wardrobe space), and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hotel Belleclaire.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The room was smaller than it appeared on the website. The fake wood floor seemed tacky. The bathroom was nice. Our room smelled of cigarettes. The TV was nice. The breakfast in the lobby was very expensive with poor service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ABraat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear ABraat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Hotel Belleclaire. Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We have alerted our staff and will take proactive measures to avoid this issue in the future. The Hotel Belleclaire has recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation and continues to improve guest rooms and amenities. We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel and can assure a pleasant, restful visit.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 468 in New York City
4,854 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 468 in New York City
2,353 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 468 in New York City
3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#198 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 468 in New York City
2,052 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#313 of 468 in New York City
5,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing