We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Belleclaire
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,934)
Filter reviews
3,934 results
Traveller rating
1,389
1,629
555
234
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,389
1,629
555
234
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper west sidecentral parkgreat locationfamily suitenew yorkmuseum of natural historytwo blocksshared bathroomhardwood floorslincoln centeraround the cornerstreet noisehudson riversubway stoptimes squaremini fridgeflat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
3,186 - 3,191 of 3,934 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2006

My mom, aunt, and I stayed in a "2 Bedroom Family Suite" on October 5, 2006. It was a large room, basically divided by a wall with two queen beds and TV on one side and another queen bed and TV on the other side. We had our own bathroom... clean, great water pressure in the shower, and nice toiletries provided! The hotel is very quaint with a historic feel. Do not stay here if you are looking for something with modern amenities. The front desk staff was helpful and courteous. The elevator was small, but again, remember that this building is about 100 years old! We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eyedoc424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2006

We stayed at Hotel Belleclaire from Oct 9-12. Six of us (all adults) stayed in one of the family suites. There were 3 double beds and a private bathroom. We thought since it was our first time in New York City we would rather spend our money experiencing New York City than on a fancy hotel room we would probably not be in much anyway. Although we were a little hesitant when we booked, it was definitely the right decision.

As other reviews have stated, the hotel staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. The room was clean, the beds were really comfortable and although it was not fancy, we were never in it other than to sleep and shower anyway. The hotel was in a great location and was within walking distance of Times Square (20-30 min) , Central Park and several museums. There are plenty of eating places nearby and a 24 hour market around the corner.

Do not hesitate to stay at this hotel.

Tip: If you are looking for an inexpensive way to see the Statue of Liberty, take the Staten Island Ferry, it's FREE, and although you will not go right to the statue you will not only get some great pictures of the Statue of Liberty but will have experienced riding the Staten Island Ferry.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CPBSRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2006

I just returned from a long weekend in New York and stayed at the Bellclaire on the upper West Side. A great find. The price is reasonable, the hotel clean, well kept, and the room was roomy (by New York Standards) I stayed in a room with a shared bathroom, (was a bit nervous about that) but it turned out really well. the bathroom was clean, and not that far from our room.
I will definitely stay there again the next time I am in New York.
Again, a reasonable, clean hotel in a great location!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Adeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2006

I was trying to plan a surprise birthday weekend for my boyfriend and was so happy to see the high ratings on this one. I've stayed in other budget NYC hotels before (Malibu - terrible) and if you're looking for under $150 a night, the best you can get is a tiny dirty smelly room with rats/mice all over the place (pretty depressing when you read 30 reviews that all warn you to stay away from the place). So I booked the shared bathroom room at Belleclaire ($169) and it SO exceeded my expectations!
-- bathroom: the shared bathroom is not at all like the usual shared bathroom situation - they are only shared by 3 rooms and are new, spacious, *clean*, and the water pressure was awesome. Only the 3 rooms sharing the bathroom have key access to it, and it's only a few steps from your bedroom door - not bad at all! Definitely worth saving around $100 a night to have your own bathroom.
-- rooms: very big for NYC standards, the bed was comfortable, everything was clean, plus there was a fridge, alarm clock, ironing board, TV with cable, etc. Surprising!
The staff were also awesome, from the receptionist to the maid to the bellhop, everyone was friendly and helpful.
Location is GREAT, red A C or E trains 72nd or 79th street stop, you can get anywhere downtown quickly (or walk down Broadway to Times Square in 20 minutes), plus a ton of fun restaurants and shops around.

The only bad part we experienced was that the window was drafty so it was pretty cold in the room (the heat wasn't on yet), and that you could hear people slamming doors from the room, but again, even that was a lot better than many other hotels I've stayed at in NYC. Seriously, this place is a great find -- if you're looking for cheap but decent, skip the New Jersey 1.5 hour-commute hotels or Queens or Brooklyn, Belleclaire is your best bet!

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank boston12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2006

We needed a budget friendly hotel on the Upper West Side of New York and I searched the web until I found the Belleclaire. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room clean and adequate. The only gripe I would make is that it was very noisy outside the room and the room itself was not as well lit as it could be. For price and a fantastic location it would be hard to beat, the neighbourhood was great and very handy for all transport/attractions/restaurants. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank reidycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews