We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“James Dean stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #40 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Stayed in this hotel recently, awesome place. Very clean, friendly staff and location is perfect. No ifs no buts or maybe's...book this hotel you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOS321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Thank you for this kind review. We are certainly proud of our history here and find it nice when our guests are interested as well. Next time you visit us, please inquire about our suite dedicated to James Dean. If you are a fan of his, its a special place to stay. Thank you again. -Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,077 - 3,083 of 3,929 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2011

We liked it all at the Iroquois hotel. Location, service, staff, beds. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natnordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

We appreciate this review of our hotel. Thank you for sharing, and we hope to welcome you back shortly. Take care, Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

This was my first time in New York City so I wasn't sure where the proximity of the hotel was to the sights and neighbourhoods but it turned out to be perfect! While my room was the size of a Kleenex box it was spotlessly clean, very cozy and quiet. The bed was uber-comfy...slept like a rock all cocooned in my toasty duvet. What made it great was Alan, the Concierge. He went out of his way to give me tips and ideas on places to eat, visit and the best way to get there. He really made my trip a success!!
I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrivolousCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

I appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to write this review. New York hotel rooms are usually not the most spacious, but we do our best to utilize the space we have with our amenities. I am glad to know you enjoyed your room and all it offered. I will also be sure to also share your praises with Alan, who is a wonderful asset to our team. Take care and thank you again for staying with us! -Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Loved the Hotel,staff were great,perfect location. Only problem was that the AC actually heated the room instead of cooling. Had to sleep with the windows open to try to cool it down. On the coldest setings it blew heated air. So I would not reccomend this hotel during the summer months.Besides that every thing was great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Iroquois Hotel while attending a Bar Mitzvah at the Harvard Club which is close by. It was recommended to me by a friend who is a savvy traveler and I must say he was correct. The charming boutique hotel is in a fabulous location, short walk from Times Square and the theater district and yet while you are there, the hotel is so charming you feel like you are comfortably at home with all the conveniences. The staff is extremely welcoming, the restaurant on site is fabulous, the bar and cocktail lounge really both charming and hopping. I couldn’t have been more pleased. This is an extremely clean and welcoming hotel and I will definitely be returning when I return to NYC.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

Thank you very much for your thorough review of your stay. I think our location is one of the best assets we offer- close to many attractions and lots of action, but we're still able to keep a warm intimate feel when you come through our doors. I also am glad to know you took advantage of our highly acclaimed restaurant Triomphe and our brand new cocktail salon Lantern's Keep. Thank you again and we hope you come back to New York soon! -Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Second stay in less then 1 year. Ideal location for business and leasure. Nice rooms, well cleaned, very helpful conscierge.

Room Tip: Try out the quiet corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

Wow! "Perfect" is such a compliment, and we know it is not used lightly. Thank you very much for your kind words and for your repeat business at the Iroquois. We truly value our returning guests, and we'll look forward to welcoming you back shortly! Take care, Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The concierge at the IROQUOIS was extremely helpful. We were 4 girls spending a weekend shopping, eating and theatre. He gave us instructions on using the subway system to go to Ground Zero and Little Italy...very simple! The location was perfect, we were minutes from Times Square and Fifth Ave. The hotel rooms are small, but very clean. Bathrooms were spotless. The hotel bar was also a nice stop for a drink and nibbles between shopping and seeing sights. Definitely would go back

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

Thank you for this contribution on TripAdvisor and for letting us be a part of your "girls weekend." Our concierge Alan is certainly a great asset to our team, and I will be sure to relay your gratitude to him. I also will share your encouragement with our housekeeping department who works diligently daily. I am very glad to know you'll be coming back, and we'll look forward to welcoming you again. -Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#15 of 473 in New York City
3,267 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 473 in New York City
6,768 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 473 in New York City
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#85 of 473 in New York City
3,335 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#41 of 473 in New York City
312 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#52 of 473 in New York City
3,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £157 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing