We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #41 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
manila
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Happy in NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Tried the Iroquois Hotel after deciding that prices at the Waldorf had become too prohibitive and did not regret it. A small, charming, European style boutique hotel with smaller rooms but what it lacks in size, it more than makes up for in decor. Elegant furnishings, a super comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. Great location near Times Square but far enough to be away from noise and crowds and very near Bryant Park and Fifth Avenue. Staff was charming and helpful and they always had cold water available in the lobby which was great for warm days. Lots of fine restaurants nearby like the Daniel Boulod bistro almost next door.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,345
    882
    173
    59
    32
See reviews for
832
1,417
209
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Very little negative to this hotel. Service was good, although could have been better. Room still not serviced by 3pm. No chocolates on pillow every night. However, these are very minor flaws. The overall standard was good. Would I stay here again? Probably not, for no reason other than it did not stand out above others in this category or price range. Staff attentive enough, I just felt that the hotel lacked a personality. In terms of location, it is perfect. Minutes from 5th Ave and Times Square.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kas864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

A great small hotel, just three minutes walk from Times Square and even closer to 5th Avenue. My wife & I stayed four nights and felt almost like part of the hotel's family when we left. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are really comfortable, though not huge. The bathroom was excellent. Next time we visit New York we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
What a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to write it. It is true that we are like a family here, and it is so nice to know you felt the same way. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Take care, Caroline Lakin Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hvidovre, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Service is very good. The hotel is very nice. The location is fine and we love it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nepnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
I am so glad to know that you loved your experience here. Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. One of the best compliment we receive is when a guest tells us "we'll see you again." I am glad to know we'll be welcoming you back. Take care, Caroline Lakin Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

The Iroquois is a true gem right next to all the action of time square. We were within walking distance of most of the shows and lots of shopping. Places to eat were plentiful and all that we tried were excellent. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and bathroom was much larger than I expected. Looking forward to staying here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSUFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
We will look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you very much for reflecting on your stay at the Iroquois and sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I am very glad you enjoyed your time with us. -Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

My daughter and I met up with some family for a NY vacation. We stayed 4 nights and the Iroquois experience was fantastic. We were met by a wonderful bellman, John, had smooth and friendly check in and escorted to our exceptionally clean and comfortable room. Both concierges, Vanessa and Alan, were of great help and always friendly and accomodating. Loved the bath products and linens, beds very comfortable, nice to have a DVD player and IPOD dock in the room. Chocolates on the pillow every night a nice touch. This hotel is close to everything yet far enough that it was peaceful and quiet at night. Airconditioning worked great as did Internet access. The Iroquois staff clearly went out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant and comfortable. If I ever get back to New York I will definitely stay here and I will recommend this hotel to all of my friends. Staying at the Iroquois was a fantastic choice and I cannot imagine anyone would be disappointed here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renae2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Thank you so much for this flattering review. I am very proud we made such a great impression during your stay. I will surely pass on the compliments to John, Vanessa, Alan, and the rest of our team. Our goal is for all our guests' stays here to be like yours- the "best ever"! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back hopefully soon! Best, Caroline Lakin- Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Conny and Nancy at the front desk along with the bell staff were extra nice. When we arrived they called within 5 min. to see if there was anything they could get for us. Our room was comfortable, cozy, clean, inviting ...We especially loved the bed. The Frette linens were so comfy! All the things I dream about in Hotel rooms...We even had sunlight !! That is a must for me ! I just loved the service and the little extra amenities: ie, a movie list of DVD's to choose from for free, lemon ice water available all day, nice doormen. We just loved the small warm comfortable feel of this Hotel. I would recommend it anyone !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizhirschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Thank you for this kind review. I will be sure to pass your appreciation on to Conny, Nancy, and our bellmen. I am very proud to know you enjoyed our service so much. We'll look forward to welcoming you back! Take care, Caroline Lakin- Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing