We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but had issue with A/C”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #42 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I recently stayed at the Iroquois during a business trip to NYC. The location of the hotel is phenomenal. Its located in Midtown, accessible to all the attractions and wonderful shopping that NYC has to offer. Its part of the Small Luxury Hotel group so that is alwasy reassuring!

The week I was in NYC was one of the hottest times ever. Temps reached over 100 and the heat on the street was unbearable. The first night I checked in, the room was extremely hot and the thermostat was off. I called the front desk and they sent someone up to check it out. All they did was move the thermometer to 50 degrees. This did absolutely nothing. I tossed and turned all night and was only able to sleep for 2 hours due to the intense heat. After several complaints, I was told that someone would be up in my room by 8:30am the next morning to correct the problem. Noone appeared until I had to once again call and complain about the situation. This was after my 5th phone call! I was never offered to switch to another room and no additional amenity was sent for my inconvenience. Although they claim to have "fixed" the issue it was still very warm in the room and somewhat uncomfortable throughout my entire stay.

On a positive note, the bellmen were extremely helpful and the concierge was very knowledgable. Its a great cozy property and once again great location if only they can get their AC on the ball... :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBoateng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,942 - 2,948 of 3,838 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

We will come back, whenever in NY, it was great.
Lars & Sabine
Sweden

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at the Iroquois during the hottest weekend in July. The jar of iced citrus water at the door was the perfect introduction to the guest-focused service that makes this hotel so great. The location of the hotel could not be better, right in the heart of midtown Manhattan.
The staff was very helpful and patiently answered all our questions.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieandMichelleCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I booked the Iroquois as a surprise for my partners 50th birthday.... our first trip to New York.

With the location, service, help from the Iroquois staff family, the fantastic Triomphe restaurant, and the very comfy Lantern's Keep bar/salon the trip was perfect - it was very hard to take ourselves away from such a great Hotel.

Unfortunately time didn't allow a workout in the gym - did manage to visit it briefly on leaving as a way of freshening up before heading for the airport - just another little helpful service that typifies the style of this Hotel. The gym itself was well equipped and would clearly allow you to have a good workout after a days sightseeing.

In planning my partner’s surprises I found an incredible ally in Vanessa the Chief Concierge. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and everything was arranged to suit our plans – right down to somehow arranging a special lightning show during the Birthday dinner – I really believe she can work miracles to help out - Thanks Vanessa!!
Fear not if she’s not around when you need help – the rest of the team will step in to assist.

The Hotels location is superb – with a short walk you can be in Grand Central, or Times Square, Broadway, Empire State Building - so many fantastic attractions in the area. A slightly longer walk will see you in Central Park – plenty to enjoy there too. With subway’s close by there really is nowhere you can’t easily get to.

Needless to say the room had everything Wendy and I needed and the Housekeeping team ensured it was kept clean and fresh for us every day.

After such an enjoyable introduction to New York there can only be one thing to do on future follow up visits – book the Iroquois and have a great visit - Can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_e_r_e_k_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Tried the Iroquois Hotel after deciding that prices at the Waldorf had become too prohibitive and did not regret it. A small, charming, European style boutique hotel with smaller rooms but what it lacks in size, it more than makes up for in decor. Elegant furnishings, a super comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. Great location near Times Square but far enough to be away from noise and crowds and very near Bryant Park and Fifth Avenue. Staff was charming and helpful and they always had cold water available in the lobby which was great for warm days. Lots of fine restaurants nearby like the Daniel Boulod bistro almost next door.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Very little negative to this hotel. Service was good, although could have been better. Room still not serviced by 3pm. No chocolates on pillow every night. However, these are very minor flaws. The overall standard was good. Would I stay here again? Probably not, for no reason other than it did not stand out above others in this category or price range. Staff attentive enough, I just felt that the hotel lacked a personality. In terms of location, it is perfect. Minutes from 5th Ave and Times Square.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kas864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

A great small hotel, just three minutes walk from Times Square and even closer to 5th Avenue. My wife & I stayed four nights and felt almost like part of the hotel's family when we left. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are really comfortable, though not huge. The bathroom was excellent. Next time we visit New York we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

What a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to write it. It is true that we are like a family here, and it is so nice to know you felt the same way. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Take care, Caroline Lakin Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 470 in New York City
3,182 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#68 of 470 in New York City
6,658 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#43 of 470 in New York City
256 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
432 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#14 of 470 in New York City
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £143 - £485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing