We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Position is Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Position is Everything”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We spent 4 nights at The Iroquois Hotel in New York. On seeing our room we was a little dissapointed, but we now realise New York hotel rooms are quite small compared with other parts of USA. The room was clean and had most things you would need. Bathroom again was small but had all we needed. The hotel did not have many public areas but had a library with internet access. Free coffee in the morning and hot apple cider for later in the day was available in the small foyer. On finding out it was my wifes birthday, just after arrival a birthday card and a plate of choclate covered strawberries arrived at our room ( a nice touch). What makes this hotel special though is its position. It is perfect to walk to a lot of the major tourist spots and close to the subway system for going further afield. Another major plus for this hotel is the friendly and helpful staff especially the concierge for whom nothing seemed to much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for choosing the Iroquois for your wife's birthday celebration! We understand how special these trips can be and do not take it lightly. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to welcome you back for another birthday soon! -Caroline Lakin Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,375
    890
    175
    60
    32
See reviews for
845
1,431
210
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at the Iroquois in New York for two nights in October 2011. The stay started badly as I arrived on a parade day, had some trouble walking to the hotel from the bus drop off at Grand Central due to road closures but finally made it there a little after 2 pm. I was told the room was not ready yet, that check-in was at 3 pm and that I could upgrade and have a room immediately if I wanted. I declined the option to upgrade and opted to wait out the hour till check-in by leaving my luggage with the hotel and going shopping. I returned at 3:30 pm or so, checked into my room, went up to my room and waited for my luggage. It took a while and finally my suitcase was delivered but not my carry-on. It turns out that another departing guest had taken my luggage by mistake through a series of bad luck occurrences - she sent her friend to retrieve her carry-on, her friend did not know what it looked like and did not have a claim slip, chose my carry-on by mistake eventhough it was nothing like her friend's and rushed out with it. I spent an anxious hour or so waiting for the other guest to return from the airport with my carry-on as I was worried about the personal information and contents of my carry-on. In the end everything worked out, the lady returned from JFK having missed her flight but with my carry-on to exchange for her correct one, and nothing was missing from my carry-on. The hotel staff were most apologetic. Front-desk offered a couple of free drinks coupon, the manager responded to an e-mail I sent about the incident and assured me their procedures were being reviewed to prevent another such incident and offered a stay in a suite at their best available price next time. The most touching though was the effort from the bellman who came up to my room subsequently with a plate of chocolates and nuts and a bottle of wine in apology. I declined the wine as I don't drink but accepted the chocolates and nuts as he was insistent that I do so. In summary, I had a problem at the hotel but they managed to respond well to the incident and, lucky for all it happened on check-in rather than check-out when a delay with the carry-on might have had much more serious consequences.

On a side note, I discovered that one of the concierge was someone I knew from my stays at the Casablanca Hotel who previously impressed me with her thoughtful and efficient service, and bright smile and warm greeting each time. It is a credit to the Iroquois that such a wonderful employee moved over from the Casablanca given how fine a hotel the Casablanca is as well.

Aside from the incident, the hotel was fine. The room was large and comfortable, free wi-fi was included, location is excellent just off Times Square and with lots of subway stations near by and many restaurants within close walking distance. DB Bistro Moderne almost next door was surprisingly good and not stuffy notwithstanding its celebrity chef background, and the diner down the street from the Iroquois was excellent value, efficient and convenient for an early 6 am breakfast or a late bite.

My favourite in New York is usually the Casablanca for its unbeatable location, service and value-enhancing inclusions, but the Iroquois also compares well, especially because I managed to book at a fixed prepaid discount rate that was about $100 cheaper per night than comparable hotels at the same time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
298 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The small hotel has not compromised on class. The staff are friendly and very helpful. In the front of the lobby, looking out on 44th street is "the library" - truly a place to sit and read or access the Internet with printer.
You can park yourself at a garage across the street or use the valet service for $10 more. The location is two blocks from Times Square and most theatres. The Algonqin is a few doors away.
The bed was extremely comfortable.
A restaurant is available through the lobby and an intimate bar with approximately a dozen tables for post theatre drinks.
A comfortable place where you can feel safe and secure

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Upon arrival we where warmly greeted by staff, no issue with valet parking and check in was a breeze
The room was smaller than we are used to, however after a few munities we adapted to the extremely clean and comfortable setting. The location is excellent and close to Grand Central and the park.
A return visit is sure to come.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOC00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Although our room was small, it was very clean and very comfy. The staff were very nice, friendly and very helpful. I still remember one of staff members, Alex, he was very helpful. he took the time to explain everything to us. that made me feel very welcome. I am planning to go back there again soon.
the hotel is really in the heart of everything. We were able to walk to most of our activities.
you should visit this hotel. front desk staff like Alex and the door men will make you feel at home and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haiti00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This was my second stay at The Iroquois and, as with my first visit, everything was perfect! I stayed for three nights over the recent Columbus Day weekend.
The location couldn't be better. It's convenient to everything and right off Times Square.
The bed is one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in.
The room and bathroom were spotless! They give you Molton Brown toiletries - shampoo, lotion, etc. - which are an added bonus, because those products are wonderful. And there were nice, comfy bathrobes as well. Also an added bonus: the in-room safe, which was really easy to use.
Every single staff member that I had contact with over those three days couldn't have been nicer. From the desk staff to the bellmen, everyone was super nice and very professional.
The room was small, but they're all small in NYC and I've been in smaller. Plus the room was laid out very well and there was plenty of room in the bathroom.
The only reason I don't stay here more often is that it is often a bit pricey and you can't have more than two people in a room. So if you're going with a family, this would be out unless you book two rooms.
This time, everything was overpriced for Columbus Day weekend and I happened to get a special price through the travel site I booked with and I jumped at it.
I highly recommend The Iroquois.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsfan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Spent three nights at The Iroquois. The stay was great. Our room had NO view, but it was oh so quiet.

Two elevators made getting out easier. The in-room safe was easy to use and made me feel more secure leaving my valuables.

The location was so convenient. Right off Fifth Avenue, near Times Square, walking distance to Central Park. We used the Times Square subway to get around.

The concierge helped our party navigate the city and scored hard-to-get tickets.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzfestsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing