We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, amenities, and service for a very fair price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iroquois New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oostburg, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, amenities, and service for a very fair price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We visit NYC often and have sometimes paid more for much less. The Iroquois is centrally located but at arm's length from the congestion and noise of Times Square. Although the rooms are small (especially if you choose two double beds, as we did), they and the public spaces are beautifully appointed and maintained. The staff is both personable and professional, and the property includes an excellent small restaurant,Triomphe, and a separate bar, Lantern's Keep, with an inventive list of cocktails. We usually are skeptical of hotel restaurants and bars, but we would definitely re-visit both. The price for our five-night stay averaged just over $200 per night, including taxes and fees--a bargain for this level of quality. We have only two small quibbles--a scorching 1600-watt hairdryer with limited settings and mattress covers that don't breathe--but these minor inconveniences would certainly not keeping us from re-visiting.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
I'm pleased to hear that you were able to dine in the restaurant and enjoyed drinks at Lantern's Keep. However I’m especially pleased that you will be staying with us in the future! Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again! Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,325
    868
    168
    57
    31
See reviews for
815
1,402
207
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel is in a great location, the rooms are great the staff are friendly & helpful. If I return to New York I will deffinately be staying here again. Fantastic hotel & great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vbamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for submitting such a kind review to Trip Advisor. We strive to provide our guests with the most attentive service possible, so it is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had the pleasure staying here this past weekend. It was our first time and we were delighted! The moment we walked in we were greeted and felt at home. The staff was friendly and accomodating to our needs. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The accomodations were top notch. The bed was so comfortable! The location is ideal and in walking distance of Time Square, Broadway and much more. Will definitely be returning to The Iroquois. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyFamilyfun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
No need to thank us, thank you for staying with us! I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in the city and we were able to host you at our property. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My daughter and I spent a couple of nights in NYC to see a Broadway show etc. Once again, I decided to stay at the Hotel Iroquois. As always, the accommodations were absolutely wonderful and the staff catered to our every need. The rooms were impeccably clean and the beds were so comfortable. The location is perfect if you only have a couple of days in NYC as the hotel is in close proximity to many of the attractions. I’m looking forward to spending some more time in NYC and I will surely be staying at the Hotel Iroquois.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjkrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for your kind review, it is always a pleasure to hear back from our return guests and I’m happy to hear that we will be seeing you in the future! Until then! Kelli Phillips, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

My mom and I were in NYC for a wedding and had an amazing experience in this beautiful and comfortable hotel with a friendly customer service! The rooms were clean, as a matter of fact we had our rooms cleaned twice a day which was amazing! We had a choice of watching free movies in room from their complimentary movie rental service! Amazing staff, helped us around to get to airport and wedding on time! We were walking distance from time square which was very convenient! I highly recommend this hotel, and will only stay here the next time we visit NYC!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! I’m pleased to know that you had such a pleasant stay and were able to enjoy some of the complementary amenities of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New York City! Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed in this adorable Midtown hotel. From the moment we met our doorman we loved it! Vanessa, was an excellent Concierge! She knows all the best places! Our room was adorable and everything worked in the room. At the end of our trip they brought a vaccum cleaner so my room so that I could use my space, at no extra charge. They treated us like we were the only guests there. All the staff were lovely. It was awesome :)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KessiaReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to make each guest as comfortable as we possibly can and it is very rewarding to hear that you had such a pleasant stay. Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you in the future. Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed here August 2010, it was very warm in the city so the cool lobby and rooms were perfect.
There were 4 of us in 2 rooms, we would have liked 4 seperate beds in one big room or even adjoining rooms but this never seems to be an option in new york.
The rooms were comfortable and I got the best sleep I've EVER had, they use simmons mattresses with egyptian cotton sheets and pillow cases, nice and cool when you got into the sheets but kept you warm, an absolute delight!

New York is famed for it's tiny rooms but high prices but these rooms were't too small.
I had also requested a fridge in each room as I knew we'd want to keep stuff cold whilst there.
Both rooms had a mini fridge and they worked fine and not noisy like some can be.

Our rooms were also pretty quiet, no noisy neighbours luckily.
Service was okay, nothing amazing but we never really asked for anything after the fridges.
Our friends had a problem with their bedroom lock on the door but this was rectified within 30 minutes.

The bar in the hotel (like most) was a little over priced but nice for a treat.

Location was perfect, right in the heart of it all, a couple of doors down from an AMAZING Indian restaurant and 5th Avenue.

There's also a handy deli across the street that serves cold beverages and it's open VERY late so very handy for evening snacks, ice-cream, salad, juice (and in our case chocolate and crisps!)

I would stay in the Iroquois again and have told others to stay there too.

A loyalty card would be a good idea!

Room Tip: watch out for awkward closing doors, it's an old hotel and although the hotel isn't "ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GettingGooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Thank you for your review, we value the feedback of our guests and appreciate the time you took to assist us in bettering our property and service. Seeing your mention of a loyalty program I am happy to inform you that we offer our 'Gold Guest' points program, you can sign up on our website as well as learn about the perks of being a 'Gold Guest.' We hope to see you in the future! Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing