We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Iroquois is a great hotel for the Times Square area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #37 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Iroquois is a great hotel for the Times Square area.”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We normally stay at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Time Square, but this time I wanted to stay in a smaller place with more charm. The Iroquois fit the bill perfectly. We stayed in an executive King room which was quite spacious for a New York room. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for walking to the theater. I would definitely stay here again if I wanted to be near Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjgibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
I'm pleased to hear that you chose our hotel out of the many option in the Time Square area and I'm happy that the accommodations suited your needs. We appreciate your feedback and find such responses as your own to be very rewarding. Thank you! -Kelli Phillips, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,455
    913
    179
    61
    35
See reviews for
876
1,468
218
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nagoya
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The good: This is a very fine hotel for a reasonable price & with a central location about halfway between Grand Central trains & Port Authority buses. If you book early and stay more than 3 nights, you get a good discount. Staff were friendly & tried to please. The bedding is fantastic & the showers are good. Our 9th floor room (901) was quiet, day & night. Free wi-fi was nice, as was the coffee/hot apple cider welcoming guests back in the lobby.
The bad: rooms are small, views are limited. There isn't a fridge but you can request one (same for ice). Breakfast is not included but there are many cheaper alternatives to the dining room all around. The 2 computers in the library are free but one seems half-dead.
Conclusion: We also stayed one block away in the Millennium Broadway for a similar price. Althought the Millennium was flashier looking & had superb 44th floor views of Chrysler bldg & Times Square, the Iroquois had a homely feel that will keep me going back when in town.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevators & 42nd St are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nagoyafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you for your review! We are always pleased to hear our guest’s observations and suggestions. I'm pleased to hear you will be returning to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back! -Kelli Phillips, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Nice and in the perfect location.
I took my mother away to visit NYC for Mothers Day.

Booked a twin room which was a little bit pokey, but apart from that sufficient.
Your right in the centre of everything which is just fantastic and the subway is close too.

I don't really have anything bad to say except the room wasn't particularly capacious.
The staff were fine and the concierges great. Also free Wifi which is very very handy.

Having stayed in other 4 star Hotels i'm not sure whether its really 4 star or more of a 3 star, but that may be just down to my perception about what i would expect for a 4 Star hotel.
Its fine, lovely, good staff, perfect location and very nice.
I wasn't wowed as i would expect from a 4 Star hotel but it was fine apart from that it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalleyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
I'm pleased that you chose to stay with us to celebrate Mother's Day. I hope we can show you one of our larger rooms in the future, as we do have other room categories that are more spacious than our Classic Room with two double beds. Thank you for sharing! -Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Loved The Iroquois. Personal service, luxurious comfort and convenience. Will plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the smaller side. I recommend a two queen bed room for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnoxvilleJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for sharing your experience! -Kelli Phillips, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at the Iroquois for 3 nights and it served our purposes perfectly. It's really close to everything we needed to get to, but really quiet for NYC. Loved the Frette bedding & towels! The room was sort of small, but well appointed. It was pretty warm in the room, but the windows open which helped us cool it down. Careful though, not all of the windows had screens. Didn't have a chance to try the restaurant or bar, but they looked very nice. Another nice feature is a computer with a printer in the small library off the lobby. Very convenient for printing theatre tickets and boarding passes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with the community on Trip Advisor, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we can welcome you back in the future! Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at the Iroquois for 4 nights and truly enjoyed our stay.
Major plusses: outstanding, staff - every shift, every area. We could not have asked for more attentive, professional yet unobstrusive people.
Location is terrific: just off 6th Avenue; near Times Square; just around the corner from the NY Public Library (well worth a visit for its fine exhibits); yet completely quiet.
Room was plenty large; bathroom also had plently of space. Here was the only hiccup: not much storage space in the BR. But the shower is terrific - comfortable with plenty of hot water.
We'd had dinner at the Iroquois a few years ago. We travel to NYC every year or so: we'll return to this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Interior rooms always are best in NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tejo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and almost everything was to your satisfaction. In New York space can be limited however we do have certain rooms with larger closets than others; if that is a request of a guest we will do our best to fulfill that need. We hope to see you again! Warn Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My out-of-town friends loved being so close to Times Square, yet could not believe how quiet it is here. Essentials such as bedding quality, cleanliness, and decor are right on. The Iroquois is now the only place they want to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
I'm so pleased to hear your friends had a pleasant stay at our hotel. As we strive to provide our guests with the best service and the most comfortable stay we can offer, it is certainly rewarding to hear feedback such as this. Thank you again! Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#61 of 466 in New York City
3,195 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 466 in New York City
3,631 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#101 of 466 in New York City
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,987 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 466 in New York City
6,484 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing