We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 week in April”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #45 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Hotel with an excellent location (very very close to times square). The room (601) was very clean , comfortable and no noisy (I slept well). staff was friendly, mainly Sergio and Anowar. If you need informations, don't hesitate to ask to Sergio the concierge, he will give you plenty informations (maps, reductions for some visit like the empire state building and the Intrepid, supermarket address, etc...). I've very appreciated the fitness room with professional equipments. Don't hesitate, to choose this hotel you will not be disappointed. Another advice is to take comfortable shoes (even running shoes), in Manhattan on the map all seems close but when you walk it's not really the case.

Room Tip: The 601 room was very quiet (not on the street side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobgdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Thank you for your compliments of our staff and property, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay as well as your time in New York City. Your words of advice are certainly true, comfortable shoes are a necessity here! We hope to see you on a future trip.

Thank you again,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,662 - 2,668 of 3,742 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of March 2012. We had booked in for 7 nights and had opted for a deluxe room to get a bit of extra space. Patrick at Reception upgraded us to an executive room, and we were allowed to have it immediately, although it was an hour before official check-in time. We were on the 7th floor, at the back of the hotel. The room was a good size (unlike London) and we unpacked both our cases in to drawers and the closet, with enough room in the closet to store both large suitcases. The bathroom was particularly spacious, with a powerful shower. We liked the free shoeshine service, just like the old days, where you put your shoes out last thing at night, and take them in early next morning, all shined up! As mentioned by others, the hotel is perfectly positioned a couple of blocks from Times Square, with about 100 eating places easily walked to. All the subway stations are easily walked to, and the Empire State building is about 20 mins walk away in one direction, with Central Park an equal distance in the opposite direction. Vanessa at the Concierge Desk could not have been more helpful with directions, suggested walking routes, and advice on places to eat. This would be our first choice of hotels to stay in on return to New York. Don't miss breakfast at the Red Flame Diner, two doors along from the hotel: typical big American breakfasts served with a smile!

Room Tip: Even on the 7th floor at the back, you can hear car horns, but it was background noise and did not p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for your compliments of our hotel and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in New York! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Booked the iroquois after some lengthy research thru Trip Advisor and glad we stayed at this hotel. Location was excellent, 2 mins from Times Square and the staff were exceptionally friendly and informative when needed. I opted to go for a higher standard hotel due to my elderly mother coming with us and that she would be comfortable staying in the hotel if she didn't feel fit enough to walk all day. The rooms were well presented, very comfortable and very clean. We were given 2 rooms at the rear of the hotel - myself and my wife and a twin room for my mother and daughter - these had no view but we weren't in the rooms for long.
Didn't eat in the Hotel Restaurant, although I wish we had instead of the Marriot View in Times Square, worst, most expensive buffet I've ever had in my life. Seriously, it might have a nice view, Star Trek type elevators - 47 floors in seconds, revolving floor area but give this a miss.
Only negative I had was to walk past umpteen bars to go for a birthday drink in the Hotel Bar only to be told I needed to reserve a table in the bar, I didn't understand that one?
I'd recommend this Hotel if your planning to stay and would use it again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in April, I'm pleased to hear that Trip Advisor was able to assist in your decision to stay at our property. I'm disappointed that you did not get to enjoy our cocktail lounge, Lantern's Keep; at times the intimate space does get quite busy. I hope if you stay with us in the future we can assist in making you a reservation. Thank you again!

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Three adult women were traveling to NY to celebrate retirement. We looked and looked for a 4 star hotel in the theater district under $300/nt and, mainly because of Tripadvisor reviews (and price), we chose the Iroquois and we are so happy that we did. We had 3 deluxe queen rooms (corners), and all 3 of us were totally satisfied. The rooms were incredibly quiet (which is unusual for NY), and the bedding and furnishings were plush. The bathroom was large (also unusual for NY), all marble, and beautiful. Amenities included robes, luxury towel, chocolates at night, and the friendliest staff we ever experienced in NY. Without a doubt, all of us said that we would stay at this hotel again. In fact, I am booking this hotel for a return trip to NY in a few months with my husband. The onsite restaurant was nice for a drink (albeit the drinks were expensive), and the restaurant seemed full every night. We never ate there, but we had a wonderful Italian meal about 1/2 block away at Trattoria Dopo Teatro. The location of this hotel, coupled with the friendliness of the staff, the quality of the room and furnishings, the reasonable price, and the location near the theater and fine restaurants make it ideal. As far as location, it is almost next door to the Sofitel and across the street from Hotel Melea on 44th, just off 5th Avenue. We're glad we found this hidden gem.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms have absolutely no view---only an alley, so it's hard to tell if it's rainin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for your compliments of our property and staff, we are very flattered. I am pleased to hear that you are already planning a future trip with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back! Thank you again.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in January - it was quite frankly one of the best decisions I have ever made. The hotel itself is literally a two min walk from times square. The hotel staff were both polite and helpful and we always felt welcome.

The decor was beutiful with hot cider being served in a decanter downstairs at night, with access to newspapers/computers etc... really can't think of much to flaw this hotel.

The room was a good size and the bathroom was always clean.

Even the outside of the hotel was nice, with a polite doorman and easy access to transport/nyc cabs.

All in all, this was the perfect base for us to explore NYC in style and comfort, at a good price too. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us and sharing such kind compliments with the Trip Advisor community! Your words are too kind. I hope we do see you again and if so we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Recently stayed at the Iroquiois for business travel, a total of 3 travelers staying in 3 different rooms for two nights. First impressions, very positive in that the staff was attentive when I arrived by taxi. While my room wasn't ready (I arrived at around 11:30 am), they were willing to take my cell number and call me as soon as it was. Bellman, Concierge, and Check In Agent all were very professional.

Room was on the 12th floor. While the room was a smaller room, it was well appointed. Certainly appreciated the comfortable bedding and extra touches, such as the robes and nightly turndown service with chocolates. Based on Trip Advisor feedback, I signed up for their guest reward program. Enjoyed the box of chocolates and small bottle of wine.

The room was very clean, I did not observe any areas that needed attention from the staff. Speaking of staff, they were all exceptional. The bellman even greeted me by name the second day.

One of the greatest things about this hotel is the location. I was able to walk to almost every sight I wanted to see while in town.

Definitely plan on being back to New York and will stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for your compliments and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! I'm pleased to hear that you signed up for our Gold Guest program and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A very nice hotel with great location. Close to theaters and Times Square and many great restaurants. Bus stop around the corner and close to the subway. Service-oriented staff. The room was not big but quite sufficient. The bed was the best we experienced on a vacation and the bedding was comfortable. The bathroom was very nice with a "mountain" of towels and wonderful products for shower and hair. More time was devoted to cleaning the bathrooms and smaller at turndown. Nice with chocolate on your pillow every night and a card with the next day's weather. Long waiting for the elevator.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelwoman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for your review, I apologize for the long elevator wait during your stay. We look forward to the completion of our elevator renovation so, not only will we have both elevators up and running, but the elevator speed with be greatly increased! Thank you once again, for sharing your experience.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,703 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,075 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,250 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#97 of 469 in New York City
816 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £172 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing