We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #41 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed for 2 nights early May 2012.
The hotel is very well located a few blocks from Times square, though very calm. bathroom clean and well equiped. Staff really nice. Nice bar downstairs, though didn't try the food. The gym is quite small
Would definitely recommend it both for business and leisure trips

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEM110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to New York, I'm pleased that our accommodations suited your needs. With our prime location it is surprisingly quite on our block which is a perk for the traveler who is not use to the city noise. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,740 - 2,746 of 3,834 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

just back after 1 week unforgetable holidays in New York. we stayed at Iroquois hotel. initially trip was planned for last autumn and we paid this hotel via booking.com (it was non refundable deal) but last moment had to cancel our trip. in spite of it they keep almost all amount on our credit and we used it for one week in may (paid just delta between may and october rates). old fashioned nicely decorated hotel is located in the center center of midtown, no needs to use subway to get all places of interest. we used subway just to go to brooklyn and downtown. all the rest is really walking distance. reception and concierge Sergio and Bill are superhelpful!!! the restaurants they recommended were really amazing! clean and quiet room! cosmetique kits from molton brown. complimentory served coffee at morning and fresh lemonade all day long at lobby. definitely will chose this hotel for the next visits and will recommend to all friends. the only moment which seems to be really temporary one is one out of two elevators was out of service. but our last day we saw gigant engine delivery for the second elevator so seems like they will fix it soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PragmaticCinderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

I'm pleased to hear your stay with us was enjoyable as well as convenient for your needs. And you are correct that our second elevator will be up and running soon. I apologize for the inconvenience it caused you during your stay but the outcome of a faster elevator will be well worth the wait. We look forward to seeing you on a future trip!

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Beautiful hotel, delicious food. Car service held up due to incredible traffic, and night bartender with spiked hair was arrogant and in a hurry to go home. However, Lisa, the morning desk clerk, could not have been more helpful. The internet had crashed and she helped me print my boarding pass, and even turned up a hair-tie for my daughter! We received a very nice letter and accommodation about the delay in our car, and we'll definitely go back. We'll just have cocktails somewhere else. Too bad.....

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet off 44th Street!
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank coreen0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your perspective of what you found enjoyable at our property as well as what was lacking. I'm happy to hear we were able to resolve the issues with the car service yet I am disappointed that you were not given the service we strive to provide for our guests at the bar. I hope we can make it up to you in the future!

Thank you again,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My girlfriend and I travel each year to celebrate our birthdays. This was our second time in NY City and our second time at The Iroquois. The central location, just a few block from Time Square, the staff and service at The Iroquois are a “10”! Special thanks to Manager Kelly for accommodating our special needs during our stay and to our Concierge Sergio for all the great recommendations and assistance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

I'm pleased that we could welcome you back on your trip to New York! It's very rewarding to hear your kind compliments of our staff and service. For that we thank you and I'm also very happy to hear I was able to assist in accommodating your needs. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the city.

Thank You,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Fabulous, well located hotel. Very friendly staff, especially the concierge who was a great help in organising a theatre visit for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186478Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Thank you for your review; it is always a pleasure to hear feedback from our guests. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, property, and our staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at the Iroquois Hotel as a result of the hotel we had intended to stay at being booked out for 2 additional days we needed to stay in NY. The location of the hotel was the second most best thing about the hotel, the best was by far the service. The Concierge, Vanessa, was exceptional as was Theodora in the restaurant and the desk staff were also very good. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Unfortunately the hotel suffers from simply being a heritage building and as a result is very gloomy and dark. The bathroom is much smaller than we have ever experienced but that may not be out of the ordinary in New York and only one lift working meant continually having to wait . They have however done their very best under the circumstances to provide good quality linen etc. Our big disappointment was the hotel claimed not to have bed bugs and that is unfortunately not the case as I suffered from multiple bites in bed. Eradication of bed bugs is not easy, almost impossible and pest people just checking each week does nothing to solve the problem and it is rife in New York at even some of the best hotels.

Room Tip: I would think it is important in New York to have a room at the rear and high as noise is a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterLeafMilham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Mr. LeafMilham,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad to know you enjoyed our service during your stay.
That being said, I was shocked to read of your claims of bed bugs at the end of your review. Please know we take these accusations seriously. We perform an extreme and thorough inspection when any possibility of bed bugs is reported to us. This procedure is done in addition to our weekly preventative maintenance. I am confused by your review as nothing was ever reported to us. Had we known about your bites sooner, we would have made the room you stayed in out of order immediately. Fortunately, no guest who has stayed after you has reported anything either. As part of our preventative measures though, we have arranged to have your room examined thoroughly by professionals to insure it is safe for future guests. Again, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, but we kindly ask you to please report matters like these as soon as possible in the future so we may take the proper steps to insure the safety of our guests. -Caroline Lakin, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel is small luxury hotel staffed by the most phenomenal people!!! From the time you to step on to the front door, check in, to time you get to your room the experience is truly outstanding. The conceirge staff, Sergio and Vanessa are incredible. They know you by name, they are warm and professional and cannot do enough for you just so that you can navigate the city well and have the best reservation at the best restaurants. The bell hop team are equally helpful topping off the experience in a memorable way. As it was raining one morning, the bell hop was quick rto offer an umbrella, which shocked me. Ireem at the front desk did everything to accomodate my requests of whuich there were a few of them. She was cordial, helpful and as accomodating as the circumstances would allow. The area is at the center of many poignant and great places in Manhattan. The theatre district was a stones throw away and shoppingall around you, Many convenient but elegant restaurant to dine and enjoy. I would stay here again for all the reasons sited but most importantly becaue of the fine staff

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabre144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your kind compliments of our staff, it is always very rewarding to hear that one’s hard work is noticed and appreciated. While our location is convenient and ideal for many travelers we strive to go above and beyond the many other hotels in the area. Thank you for your recognition and we hope to see you on a future stay.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 470 in New York City
3,177 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 470 in New York City
6,655 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 470 in New York City
255 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
430 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#14 of 470 in New York City
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £144 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing