We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #41 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Well, it's a new hotel to us. In the theater district, we usually stay at the Cornell Club, but it was full. With help from TripAdvisor, we decided to try the Iroquois for our wedding anniversary (12/18). The room rate was very good but our experience in the past has not been good when the room rate was surprising low. Not this time. The curbside luggage service was very good, the front desk upgraded our room. The room was small (it is NYC) but very comfortable. We asked for a quiet room and got one! The best was the hotel restaurant -- Triomphe. The food was pretty expensive and worth the price: really delicious. The bread pudding was sinfully tasty. The service was very friendly and attentive. A perfect prelude to the show. All in: a terrific stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Gary S,

Thank you for staying with us for your anniversary! I am so glad you were able to dine at our restaurant Triomphe and try our new menu. We hope to see you again soon and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,307 - 2,313 of 3,835 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Perfect small hotel with large hotel amenities, truly home away from home. Staff is extremely friendly and cooperative, concierge willing to go the extra mile to secure the perfect information regarding restaurants and activities, hotel is welcoming and well staffed to meet every need, rooms are quiet and comfortable, had a perfect New York winter weekend experience, thanks to the Iroquois! Looking forward to a Spring visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gerard And Patr... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Gerard And Patr...S,

It's so wonderful that you think of us as your "home away from home". Although we are on the smaller side as far as NYC hotels are concerned we pride ourselves on offering as many amenities as possible and we are so glad you were able to enjoy them. We look forward to your visit this Spring and if you need anything please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I spent 5 days at this hotel between Xmas and New Year Eve with my two sons. The hotel is perfectly located, next to the 5th avenue and two blocks away from Time Square. The staff is very friendly and professional, the rooms are noiseless (which is a luxury in NY) but a bit small; I booked a superior room for the three of us but it was crowed and the beds were too softy, not providing a good sleep.
Otherwise the style is typically New Yorker, beginning of the las century, very charming.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinfounex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Kevinfounex,

That you for your feedback on Tripadvisor! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review and are so glad you enjoyed your time with us here at the Iroquois New York. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just weren't blown away by our stay here. It was my third time to New York and I work in a five star hotel, so our expectations could be set a little higher than most. We were stuck on the 2nd floor staring at a brick wall out our window. The heat wasn't working so we had a heater brought to our room. The people working there are very nice, we just personally wouldn't stay here again. It was a place to sleep, it's clean, good location but that's about it. Not leaving with a "what a great hotel" feeling.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay; Please allow me to personally apologize for the heating issue in your room during your stay, it was brought to my attention that there was an issue with the heating system during your time with us and regretfully some of our guests, such as yourself, were affected. While I’m pleased to know that my staff was able to provide you with a portable heater this issue it is not indicative to the standards of our property.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to New York and provide us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Please contact myself directly we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Warm Regards,
Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great hotel , great location, rear of hotel has an awful view
Water pressure was poor at sometimes but it wasn't a problem, try to get upper floors and towards the front if possible, the front doormen are the best I have had, very polite and helpful, room was very quiet for sleeping

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dgsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Dgsafe,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! Unfortunately, there is not much we can do about the views in the back of the building but I am glad to know that you were able to enjoy a quiets night rest and that our doormen exceeded your expectations. I have passed along your note in regards to the water pressure and look forward to your next visit where we can exceed your expectations on all levels. Wishing you all the best in 2014!

Warm Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great location with warm escape from the crowds. Everything a small luxury hotel should be in a big city like New York. Great restaurant. Private bars. Terrific linens. Excellent concierge. Friendly staff. Very accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Bruce L,

We want to thank you for your excellent review on tripadvisor. We are so pleased you were able to enjoy all aspects of our property throughout your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon! We wish nothing but the best in 2014 and hope the year is already off to a great start!

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Lovely Boutique hotel in midtown central location. Great base location for all the nearby tourist sites and shops. Rooms are rather small but well equipped and lovely bathroom. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeaniek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear jeaniek_11,

Thank you for you kind review! We hope to see you again here soon at the Iroquois New York and if there is anything we can do to make your next trip even better please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 470 in New York City
3,179 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#68 of 470 in New York City
6,655 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 470 in New York City
255 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
431 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#14 of 470 in New York City
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £144 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing