We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Noisy New York”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is an old but really nice hotel that has been tastefully updated. The location is superb if you are wanting near Time Square and Broadway. The rates are reasonable for NYC. The bed, bedding and pillows were wonderful. The size of the room was large by New York standards. The decor was very pleasing to the eye. The bathroom was marble and well appointed with high quality toiletries. The front dest staff, which seemed quite young, were all professional, warm and welcoming. They went out of their way to get a room ready for us so that we could check in by 1:30pm (normal check-in is 3:00pm) and drop our luggage in order to make a Broadway show that started at 2:00pm. There is a highly rated french restaurant attached to this hotel but we did not get to use it as they are closed on Sundays. Room service to a limited degree is still available on Sundays. The one and only problem we had with this hotel was the street noise. If you have a room over the street expect to hear EVERYTHING all night long. Trash truck emptying dumpsters at 3:00am, sirens, horns, people yelling, entire conversations like the people talking were right next to you. Something about the buildings along this street traps the noise and sends it upwards. We did not get any sleep as the noise levels were constant all through the night. This wasn't just the usual city noise it was LOUD city noise. I would recommend this hotel as it is quite nice if they can give you a room away from the noise.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book this hotel that you ask for a room that faces away from the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idratherbesailing69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your candid review, I’m pleased to know that you were able to enjoy the accommodations as well as our attentive staff. I apologize for the noise you experienced from the street; while we do have sound proof windows on our street side rooms the noisy city streets certainly put them to the test. Luckily we do offer a variety of room categories which are located off the street for any individuals who prefer such as yourself, it is always our pleasure to accommodate your requests to our best ability.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,368
    889
    175
    59
    32
See reviews for
841
1,427
210
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm City
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We enjoyed a 3 day girls weekend at The Iroquois. The proximity to Broadway show and Times Square as well as the metro is superb. Just off the hub, the hotel is very well appointed and the staff are helpful and welcoming. Free wifi added value,too. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
It is a pleasure to hear we were able to be your home away from home for your girls weekend. Thank you for your complements and we can’t wait to welcome you back!

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Went to NYC with my youngest son. This hotel is fabulously located. Easy to get to Times Square, Rockefeller center, easy access to the subway, and the Empire State Building. Staff was great. Breakfast included and good, but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us here at the Iroquois. I’m pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our central location and thank your for you compliments of our staff; we pride ourselves on our attention, genuine service.

Please come visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Iroquois for Easter. Our luggage was lost at London Heathrow and we arrived at 11pm at the hotel with a warm welcome. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is great. The beds were very comfortable, the room was small but very clean. We'll definitely stay at the iroquois again next time we go to NYC.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a high floor and there was no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York, I’m happy to hear that we were able to make a stressful situation less of a challenge for you by providing you with the service you so deserve.

Please come see us again soon; we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When we travel to New York City we always stay at the Iroquois. On our recent trip we realized some previously purchased theatre tickets were not going to be our cup of tea. When Stub Hub could not help us, the very friendly concierge Bill Heinrichs said he would try to find a buyer. He followed through and quickly found the person who wanted our tickets. He would not accept our offer to share half the proceeds.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review, especially with your mention of Bill, our concierge, we pride ourselves in providing personalized, genuine service and what you’ve described is a prime example of what we strive for, thank you!

Please come see us again soon; we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in June 2014. The hotel location is excellent for tourists being centrally located within walking distance of Times Square, broadway, and Rockefeller Plaza. Rooms are a little small and you're not going to get a great view rooms are very clean and eloquent. I probably would not stay here again but only because we are growing tired of midtown and the congestion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I’m happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We offer a variety of room categories that offer more space and different lay outs to suit your needs if you do choose to return to stay in mid-town again we would love to have you.

Thank you again for your review!

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was my 2nd stay at the Iroquois. This is a little oasis in the big city. It is a small hotel and rooms can be tight, but the space is used well and there is plenty of room for the amount of time you are in your room. The entire staff is friendly and efficient. Location could not be better in Midtown. It is an older hotel, but improvements have been made since my first stay...lighting being one of them. We were on the 12th floor so noise was not a problem. If you want a view this is not the hotel for you. If you want an attentive, wonderful staff then it is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words of our property as especially to our staff. We pride ourselves on our genuine, attentive service so it is a pleasure to hear a review such as yours.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,495 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing